$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
426 reviews
Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the... See full review

  • bvdrummer
  • May 31, 2014
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roswell, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Charm and Comfort

We checked in with "lost" baggage...they were kind enough to be on the look out for it... and when they finally delivered it, kept it safe until we could take it up. The room was great..they upgraded us to a larger room because Orbitz did not offer us the accomodation that fit our number of people when we booked the room. The Jr. Suite was a sitting room/pull out couch with a queen(2 beds)bedroom. The bathroom was the prettiest , cleanest white tile with little pastel flowers...the towels were large and fluffy and the bathrobes were comfy! We liked the old world comfort of the hotel---it was like a "Hotel"...and the staff was very nice;; they gave us directions to a diner for breakfast and to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway entry at the end of the block...subways take dollar bills, Buses take only change...beware!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Jul 18, 2009

Wonderful New York Hotel

there for a brief visit. Hotel is perfect, staff very helpful and accommodating. Quiet. Easy access to public transit. A great restaurant, Eighty-one, is attached, though independent, accessible through the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eighty-one... actually attached rather than in-hotel

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2009

Great Neighborhood Hotel

Great location; Close enough to everything you want to do in New York - but also get to enjoy the great stuff of a great neighborhood - great restaurants and shopping near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Great location

The hotel is located a half block from Central Park, across the street from the Natural History Museum with a subway stop on the corner and the #1 line 3 blocks away. This made it easy to get around. The room we had was small but it was on the top floor with a fantastic view of the Park and the city skyline. The room and hotel were very well appointed and maintained. There are many fine restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood in all price ranges. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Periodic New York visitor
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

Outstanding hotel, reasonable price

Very nice hotel in an excellent location on the Upper West Side, away from the crowds of Midtown, but only a few subway stops or a short bus ride away. Restaurants and shops on Columbus, Amsterdam and Broadway are numerous and uniformly very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Cuban and Dominican food is available at Cafe Con Leche, about two blocks from the hotel. And, of course, Zabar's is only about one block further, on Broadway and 80th.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redding
Oct 12, 2008

Location Location

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Excelsior. It was half a block from Central Park and the subway. It was very easy to reach other destinations on the subway or by taxi. There were dining options nearby (especially Sarabeth's). The staff were cordial and efficient. The room was of adequate size and comfortable. The bedspread was too heavy and could readily be replaced with a lighter but as warm down comforter. All things considered, we had a great 5 day visit to New York and the Excelsior was a major factor in making our visit memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 18, 2008

family friendly

Comfortable hotel on a good location.Restaurants nearby as well as shops.Room with all one would need for a stay of a few days. Internet facilities did not work well. We were particularly pleased with the lady who helped with tickets etc. Other personel certainly ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Nov 8, 2009

Our favorite NY hotel

Because we love Central Park and the UWS, the location is perfect for us. Subway stops and good restaurants are close by, but it's a quiet and classy area. We like to walk, so the location is not too far north for us to walk to the theater, although perhaps not many would want to do that. Our room was not large, but so cozy and comfortable, with a great view of Theodore Roosevelt Park; we loved coming home to it at night. The room and bathroom (great shower, comfortable beds) are beautifully decorated--and spotlessly maintained. The guy at check-in wasn't too friendly, but everyone else was. We visit NYC every year and have stayed in many hotels which were fine, but this was our favorite and we hope to stay there on our next trips to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We love to eat at the Central Park Boathouse. If it's crowded and you can't get into the dining room, order food at the counter in the room to the right of the bar and sit in back of the regular dining room. The roast beef sandwich and fries are very good, and you still get that great view.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2007

Great location

Perfect location, friendly staff, clean, good parking option. We have received great vouchers to see a show. It was wondderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the Museum of Natural History and Central Park

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
May 27, 2011

Great location

First time in New York city and it was a great experience. The Excelsior hotel was very good for us. Location was fantastic; next to Central Park, bus stops and subway. We used public transportation and we felt safe to walk late in the evening to our hotel. There are also good restaurants close by. Hotel staff was also helpful with directions and recommendations. We will use this hotel again and we highly recommend it. Hotel Amenities: we gave "4" stars because the hotel does not have restaurant, nor coffee in the room; it does offer water for a price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron @ 473 Columbus Ave. Great food at a good price; elegant and relaxing.

Back to menu Return to top