$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
265 reviews
Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were... See full review

  • Linda Sasha Mom
  • Sep 15, 2014
Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very... See full review

  • JJ83
  • Aug 22, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Nova Scotia, Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Delighted! ~ Central Park Classic ~ Will Return

Loved this place. Certainly the nicest hotel for mid-$250 range you could find in the heart of Manhattan. It is a classic hotel, with white-tiled bathrooms (immaculate!), plush bedding, and north or south views over the skyline. We were surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which we had for three nights, and were totally delighted with. (The separate sitting room meant that we parents could watch a movie and look at the lights of the city after the kids went to bed.) The hotel faces the American Museum of Natural History, across 81st Street, so it's an ideal spot for a family with kids. You're more or less in Central Park, a short walk to Belvedere Castle, the Boathouse, playgrounds, etc. We found the staff to be extremely nice, and very friendly and helpful. I'm actually a New Yorker, but moved out of the city several years ago . . . I've bounced around various hotels over the years, when visiting family. I also like the Hotel Wales, on the opposite side of the park -- but that one and the Excelsior are the two hotels I'd actually make a point to return to. Note: no pool, no room service -- but with all the zillion cafes and restaurants at your footsteps on Columbus Avenue, who really cares?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Families: The Excelsior is on Central Park, a thirty-seconds' walk from the dinosaur halls of the American Museum of Natural History (and the delights of Cental Park). The subway is also steps from the hotel door. (Not sure why any family would instead choose a Times Square hotel. Having to drag kids thru Times Square is basically a drag.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Nov 8, 2009

Our favorite NY hotel

Because we love Central Park and the UWS, the location is perfect for us. Subway stops and good restaurants are close by, but it's a quiet and classy area. We like to walk, so the location is not too far north for us to walk to the theater, although perhaps not many would want to do that. Our room was not large, but so cozy and comfortable, with a great view of Theodore Roosevelt Park; we loved coming home to it at night. The room and bathroom (great shower, comfortable beds) are beautifully decorated--and spotlessly maintained. The guy at check-in wasn't too friendly, but everyone else was. We visit NYC every year and have stayed in many hotels which were fine, but this was our favorite and we hope to stay there on our next trips to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We love to eat at the Central Park Boathouse. If it's crowded and you can't get into the dining room, order food at the counter in the room to the right of the bar and sit in back of the regular dining room. The roast beef sandwich and fries are very good, and you still get that great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
May 27, 2011

Great location

First time in New York city and it was a great experience. The Excelsior hotel was very good for us. Location was fantastic; next to Central Park, bus stops and subway. We used public transportation and we felt safe to walk late in the evening to our hotel. There are also good restaurants close by. Hotel staff was also helpful with directions and recommendations. We will use this hotel again and we highly recommend it. Hotel Amenities: we gave "4" stars because the hotel does not have restaurant, nor coffee in the room; it does offer water for a price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron @ 473 Columbus Ave. Great food at a good price; elegant and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 9, 2009

Lovely Upper West Side Delight

I was visiting my daughter at College. I was a bit familiar with midtown, but found this hotel and thought I'd try the Upper West Side. What a wonderful experience. I had my 70 y/o Mother with me and she was in heaven. We had a suite for the same price as a room anywhere else. The staff was dear and we loved the area. You could get anywhere because the subway was less than a block away. Natural Histoy museum was a few steps away and we had a great afternoon there listening to my daughter show off all she has been learning in school!! There is an adorable park accross the street and the people we met were the nicest I have ever encountered travelling. The Excelsior is a fantastic option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the fabulous vegan and regular fare at Josie's at Amsterdam and 74th. Great drinks and my sister the food writer loved it. Citron Bistro has awesome Mussels and turf. Subway less than a block away--but you may not want to leave the neighborhood. The hotel's restaraunt Eighty-One was low key and delicious. All whom we met in the area were just the best!Starbucks less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmandaMong
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2014

Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The beds were comfortable and the room was big especially for New York! There were absolutly no interruptions the overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Aug 6, 2008

Good Cost Performance

The Excelsior Hotel was quiet, comfortable and the room seemed much larger than other hotels in NYC. There was adequate space for hanging clothes, extra space for sofar and they provided suitcase stands, iron and etc. The location was very convenient to subway. I would stay here again for my next trip to NYC !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davis 11
Tucson, AZ
Apr 27, 2013

Married couple getaway

Fantastic I would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew going to NYC, perfect location close to subway stops, many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Was our second stay at the Excelsior and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

comfortable shores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JackiK
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 12, 2014

Wonderful central local

From the first step out of the taxi, the staff was cheerful, happy to assist me and courteous without being intrusive. Quick and no hassle check in, room was more than I expected for the value I paid for the room. Well maintained and clean room, housekeeping was spot on during the entire stay. The hotel is a good central location for all the museums, a short walk to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon J.
Baltimore, MD
Aug 10, 2009

New York Excellence

This hotel was excellent. The staff greeted us with ope arms and really took care of us. They had no problem taking pictures of us and everything. The decor of the lobby was gorgeous. The rooms were great as well. The view wasn't too great but they have a city view and a view of Central Park. We were facing apartments and houses in the back. It's a great experience. The rooms were clean and they straightened up the rooms well. Nothing was out of place. The bathrooms were very clean as well. As far as the location, Central Park is right in front of you. None of the cab rides were expensive. It's in a great location near just about everything. There are plenty of restaurants and diners in the area. Rockefeller Plaza wasn't far at all. Central Park Zoo is pretty small but is nearby and is a great quick spot to visit. PLEASE VISIT this spot!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Brooklyn Diner! Service was excellent. Plenty of great places everywhere around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 8, 2008

Old-fashioned & comfortable

Great spot if you have business at the American Museum of Natural History!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search