$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
268 reviews
Great hotel in Manhattan

It is an older hotel but has been well taken care of. Some of the living room furniture looked well... See full review

  • A happy vactioner
  • Oct 15, 2014
Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were... See full review

  • Linda Sasha Mom
  • Sep 15, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Petersburg
Sep 10, 2008

Simple improvement

The inroom safe is on the floor of the closet and very inconvenient. Simply by raising the safe, would solve the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Con Leche is one of our favorite places for breakfast. Great cuban coffee and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville
Oct 21, 2008

Visiting Columbia University

Our family was visiting Columbia University. Despite our unexpected late arrival, the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was nicer than I had hoped and the neighborhood was a perfect place to stay; safe to walk around at night. At the last moment, my daughter was able to join us, and the staff found a room larger.They did this quickly and cheerfully. The Excelsior was also a great buy. Finally,I am overly concerned with cleanliness when stay in a hotel and the Excelsior was immaculate. We will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Excelsior is very close to Central Park. Pack a frisbee in your suitcase !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 12, 2007

Quiet & Classy

The Excelsior is very well-maintained and the staff is excellent -- very friendly and helpful. It's a terrific location. The room I stayed in was rather small, but certainly not cramped. The fitness center is very small. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone above me or next door (except the one evening when teenage girls ran up and down the hall shrieking because Johnny Depp was staying somewhere on our floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, the upper west side. Across the street from the Natural History Museum (Dinosaurs!), and around the corner from the Modern Art Museum. One block from Central Park, and plenty of shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants 1-3 blocks east.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2008

Pleasantly surprised. Excellent

The Excelsior Hotel is particularly convenient for me because I have relatives on the upper west side. But more important, the location, parking facilities, size of room, and wireless Internet service were far better than I would have expected in New York City. For New York it is also relatively quiet and very convenient to get any place in the City or the neighboring states. The in house breakfast was more than ample and a little expensive, but outside the prices were simlar so I guess they were not out of line. The parking at the American Museum of Natural History was a unique attraction and very valuable and a good value for the money in NYC. Next time I come to NYC, I will try to stay there again. The doormen were mostly helpful with regard to local restaurants, etc. I will recommend the Excelsior to all my friends who go to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Museum of Natural History is right across the street and is a must see in New York. The Excelsior is also convenient to cross city buses to the Metropolitan Museum for example or elsewhere on the East Side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norm , Uncle
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Jun 20, 2009

Outstanding Hotel

Perfect Location, Perfect Service, Quiet, and Clean and great price . Highly Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 21, 2009

Great place, great location, great value

Our stay at the Excelsior Hotel was wonderful. The staff is friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The continental breakfast is plentiful and a bargain. The room was clean and spacious. A complimentary copy of The New York Times can be delivered to your room door every weekday morning. The Excelsior is located within a short walking distance of Central Park, the Museum of Natural History, and subway stations. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous shops and services on Columbus Avenue near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 28, 2008

My review of Excelsior Hotel

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. It's located a block away from Central Park, the Museum of Natural History,and a train station in the upper west side. The room was not your typical New York closet. There was an entry room with a roomy desk and sofa, which could be closed off from the sleeping area. The bathroom was spacious, my only complaint being the noisy shower. The air conditioner could have been more powerful and less noisy, and there wasn't much of a view, but for the price and quality of the room, this didn't seem like a big sacrifice. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 16, 2008

Great Hotel in NYC

The Excelsior Hotel on W 81st street close to Central Park is a real find. Located in a great neighborhood in the Upper West Side, it has a lot of wonderful shops and restaurants on Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues--within easy walking distance of the hotel. It is very easy to walk through the park to get to the Metrolpolitan Museaum of Art and other top-notch museums on the East side of the Park-- on Fifth Avenue. The room was fine and the service was excellent. We will stay there whenever we come to New York in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restaurants, Scaletta's and Isabel's, are located less than ten minutes away on 77th Street and Columbus Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cotuit
Aug 22, 2008

Awesome location, very clean!

This hotel was very clean and the location was perfect. They were polishing all the lobby woodwork when we were leaving. The reistration staff was not particularly friendly, but we were just happy to be in New York and forgave his bad mood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

visit Nonna restaurant on 85 and Columbus...amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 9, 2009

Lovely Upper West Side Delight

I was visiting my daughter at College. I was a bit familiar with midtown, but found this hotel and thought I'd try the Upper West Side. What a wonderful experience. I had my 70 y/o Mother with me and she was in heaven. We had a suite for the same price as a room anywhere else. The staff was dear and we loved the area. You could get anywhere because the subway was less than a block away. Natural Histoy museum was a few steps away and we had a great afternoon there listening to my daughter show off all she has been learning in school!! There is an adorable park accross the street and the people we met were the nicest I have ever encountered travelling. The Excelsior is a fantastic option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the fabulous vegan and regular fare at Josie's at Amsterdam and 74th. Great drinks and my sister the food writer loved it. Citron Bistro has awesome Mussels and turf. Subway less than a block away--but you may not want to leave the neighborhood. The hotel's restaraunt Eighty-One was low key and delicious. All whom we met in the area were just the best!Starbucks less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top