$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
276 reviews
amazing

I thoroughly enjoy the fact it was locatedd across the street for the Natural History Museum and... See full review

  • becky tennis
  • Dec 2, 2014
Always a terrific stay

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and come back every chance we get. See full review

  • Happy Bostonian
  • Nov 16, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill
Dec 30, 2008

family friendly

Generally a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it for families with kids due to the location if you can get an affordable rate. We went to NY for Christmas break with our two children. Our 2 double bed room was spacious. It was clean and tidy and the hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel is right across the street from the Museum of Natural History. We had never driven in NY so we decided to drive in instead of taking the train. With validation parking at the Museum parking across the street was less than $30 per 24h and very convienent esp hauling the kids and luggage. The location was fantastic, across from the Museum of Natural history, straight across central from the MET, a short walk from the puppet theater in central park, a block from central park and a play structure area, near food and around the corner from starbucks and a pizza joint. The only nits I have are very minor: 1-There was only two elevators and in the mornings when everyone was going out we had to wait a long time to get on. This was because we were on the 3rd floor so the elevator wouldn't stop at out floor going up just on the way down. So with a stroller and kids by the time it got back to us it was packed full. Most mornings we just walked down the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. Other times it was an issue at all just first thing in the morning. 2-In the room the snacks were in plain view on a tray on top of the mini bar fridge thing. Additionally the snacks were on sensors so if they were knocked over or taken off the sensor you would get charged( not a huge issue to settle with the front desk staff). Now imagine a 3 year old that was hungry while you were in the bathroom. Too easy for the kids to grab and go while you are not looking, esp the M&Ms. Just a nit, quite comical really. 3- the Movie selection was mostly adult movies. After a long day out we wished we could pick out a Cartoon movie and crash but there were no choices for the kids at all. I would have been nice to have some children movies on the menu. 4- The restraunt linked to the hotel was $$$$. Not an issue since you just walk out the door and a block over you can get pizza and 2 blocks over is Amsterdam with other restraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 20, 2009

it was lovely! We were delighted

I'm not sure what the original room would have been because we were given a complimentary upgrade to the most elegant NYC room we'd ever seen--two huge rooms! Large living room with hide-a-bed and huge bed room. The bed was not the best we'd ever slept on but it was certainly good enough and the location, mostly the charm of an older but perfectly kept up and immaculate hotel with a nice enough restaurant (the breakfast is overpriced but there are so many others near by that it matters not at all) were just too wonderful to be true in NYC for such a reasonable price. It was wonderful!! one of the highlights of our son's wedding weekend! Incredibly comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

really neither short nor long, just a walk in NYC--marvelous restaurants of all sorts. some fabulous breakfast places, tiny bakery/cafe that was wonderful, on Amsterdam between 81st and 103rd. there are others closer too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quakertown,Pa
Apr 22, 2009

great service and location!

We were there for a reunion with my oldest daughter that has been overseas for 1 yr. I chose this hotel because it was near her and the location was great! I will definitly stay there again. The staff was very accomodating and even upgraded us to a suite for the same price and it was very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street fron the natural museum of history and across central park (short walk) to the Met. museum of art and easy access to subway and buses to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb03
Business
Lake Monticello, VA
Feb 9, 2010

Might be the best value in Manhattan

It would be hard to find a more charming hotel at the price of the Excelsior. The staff is helpful and courteous. Our room was larger than we'd had elsewhere in the city at this price, well appointed and spotless. A great location -- near Central Park, so it's a short walk to the East Side. For meals, the hotel serves continental breakfast in a lovely setting, the elegant Cafe 81 is next door, and there different types of restaurants within easy reach. Nearby bus and subway lines get you around the city with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can walk to the Metropolitan Musuem of Art, Guggenheim and Museum of Natural History. It's a short bus ride down Columbus Ave. to Lincoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark561
Business
Florida
Jul 30, 2014

Business trip

As expected which is all I need or wanted. Well located, clean and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ83
Business
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Aug 22, 2014

Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very clean and accommodating hotel. I would stay here again on my next trip or visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JackiK
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 12, 2014

Wonderful central local

From the first step out of the taxi, the staff was cheerful, happy to assist me and courteous without being intrusive. Quick and no hassle check in, room was more than I expected for the value I paid for the room. Well maintained and clean room, housekeeping was spot on during the entire stay. The hotel is a good central location for all the museums, a short walk to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Sasha Mom
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Sep 15, 2014

Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were able to take the subway that is just down on the corner for the entire week. For the price I might have expected complimentary coffee in the morning or water. But you have to pay for everything. Maybe all the hotels in Manhattan are like that. I don't really know. I found the staff very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and very comfortable, plus we had a great view of Central Park. I probably would stay there again since I now know how to use the MTA subway system to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would buy a 7-day unlimited MetroCard for the subway. It was $31 and it saved us a lot of money and time not having to pay each time we used the subway. It takes you all over to see so many of the attractions in NYC. Many people use the subway, so you don't have to worry about anything too much while using it. Of course, you need to watch your purse or wallet while traveling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A happy vactioner
Business
Denver Colorado
Oct 15, 2014

Great hotel in Manhattan

It is an older hotel but has been well taken care of. Some of the living room furniture looked well used but it was very comfortable, great staff, very clean and a fantastic location. The bed was as comfortable as my own. They even upgraded our room for free (we didn't have to ask either). It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 56
Business
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2014

Great location. Big room for Manhattan

Fantastic. Great location. Huge room. Very quiet. And what a location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top