$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Nova Scotia, Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Delighted! ~ Central Park Classic ~ Will Return

Loved this place. Certainly the nicest hotel for mid-$250 range you could find in the heart of Manhattan. It is a classic hotel, with white-tiled bathrooms (immaculate!), plush bedding, and north or south views over the skyline. We were surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which we had for three nights, and were totally delighted with. (The separate sitting room meant that we parents could watch a movie and look at the lights of the city after the kids went to bed.) The hotel faces the American Museum of Natural History, across 81st Street, so it's an ideal spot for a family with kids. You're more or less in Central Park, a short walk to Belvedere Castle, the Boathouse, playgrounds, etc. We found the staff to be extremely nice, and very friendly and helpful. I'm actually a New Yorker, but moved out of the city several years ago . . . I've bounced around various hotels over the years, when visiting family. I also like the Hotel Wales, on the opposite side of the park -- but that one and the Excelsior are the two hotels I'd actually make a point to return to. Note: no pool, no room service -- but with all the zillion cafes and restaurants at your footsteps on Columbus Avenue, who really cares?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Families: The Excelsior is on Central Park, a thirty-seconds' walk from the dinosaur halls of the American Museum of Natural History (and the delights of Cental Park). The subway is also steps from the hotel door. (Not sure why any family would instead choose a Times Square hotel. Having to drag kids thru Times Square is basically a drag.)

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy M 87
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 27, 2014

Weekend Trip

Friendly staff and located in a good location. The bell boy provide great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rexpert
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect central location

We were treated so nicely by the staff when we arrived early. We rested at the second floor lobby which is like a family room with adult furnishings and a Lego table with chairs that our grandson really enjoyed. Our rooms while small were clean and comfortable . Bathrooms are decoratively tiled and immaculate . We had a great NYC visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel US
Business
Princeton no
Mar 24, 2014

Ordinary hotel in New York City

I chose this hotel primarily for the location as it is close to the Places in NYC that we planned to visit. This hotel did not have the amenities that are ordinari Ly provided by an average three star chain hotel ( no refrigerator, no coffee maker etc.) This hotel provided a breakfast ($17) per person . A breakfast of this average quality is provided free at a comparable chain hotel. This is not a problem though as there are great places to eat nearby. The room was comfortable, but not exactly clean. The window seals were dusty and there was a lot of dust under the table. The heating control did not work well, we had to turn the heat on and off as the room would get very warm very quickly. The good thing was that we were able to open the windows. TV channels were very limited as well which compares poorly to a typical three-start chain hotel, but this is not important. For people who are points or miles conscious: this hotel does not provide points or miles. Overall, I do not look forward to returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5piesfamily
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 19, 2014

Nice quiet area.

It seems no NYC hotel offered coffee in thier lobby. Typical city surroundings. Next to Central Park. 30 minute walk to the MET. 2 miles to theatre district and within ai ute to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The place that does not take reservations sometimes is the best place to eat. Eat where the locals eat. It's NY.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GaryBee
Business
Water Mill, NY
Mar 7, 2014

You get what you pay for...

I'd like to give this hotel a good review, but feel really bad that I honestly can't. I'm in Manhattan often and have stayed in every descent hotel on the upper West Side. I did get a good deal on the hotel, but in this case you truly get what you pay for. I wouldn't have felt so bad about my stay, but it was very cold outside and the room wasn't properly heated, and the management made the excuse that the system was in a cooling down cycle. There really isn't anywhere within walking distance to have breakfast except the hotel buffet. The buffet wasn't expensive but wasn't worth eating because the eggs, bacon, etc. was at best barely warm, not hot. The room had been updated but the bathroom needed an update. While taking a shower the water didn't drain. I don't think that I would ever stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in town to visit The Museum of Natural History, this hotel is right across the street, also the hotel is a short walk from the NY Historical Society.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amy health coach
Business
atlanta
Mar 4, 2014

attended conference

good location. checked in early and they upgraded double room to junior suite. Just there to sleep. zdid not check out gym, restaurant etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charju2283
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 25, 2014

Birthday Weekend

Checked and was upgraded for free to a suite for my birthday...Staff was friendly and courteous, room was amazing!!!! the restaurant and bar in the lobby were incredible....First time in New York and definitely a wonderful experience, will stay here again if in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Steps away from central Park

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephenSS
Business
Pittsburgh
Feb 18, 2014

Perfect spot

Right next to the park, museums and subway. Quiet and serene compared to Times Square tourist trap. Hotel overall was good, but needs in room Coffee service. Lot's to do nearby for eating and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue frequent NYC visitor
Business
Amherst, New York
Feb 10, 2014

Great hotel and very professional

Was able to check in our room early and it was a beautiful room and extremely comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

AG Kitchen. Best table side guacamole.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USAWCOACH
Business
New Park, PA
Feb 3, 2014

NYC Business Overnight

It was a great location and a good night; I wish the room wifi was free, but otherwise I have no complaints. The morning desk staff had outstanding customer service: they anticipated my questions and were proactive. The evening staff was courteous and helpful, but lacked that extra touch of great service the morning staff had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top