$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buckingham
Business
Charlottesville, VA
May 13, 2013

Great location for us

We thoroughly enjoyed the Excelsior. Nice views from our window, great location to shows, Lincoln Center and Central Park. Scrumptous breakfast--the best! I have one little suggestion: a coffee maker in the room would have been nice. Will return! Thanks. NBG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davis 11
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 27, 2013

Married couple getaway

Fantastic I would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew going to NYC, perfect location close to subway stops, many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Was our second stay at the Excelsior and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

comfortable shores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtPol
Business
UK
Apr 23, 2013

City Break

Hotel is ideally placed for access to subway to/from JFK , downtown Manhattan and 2 mins to Central Park. Close to excellent selection of restaurants and Natural History Museum. Staff were very helpful and room was pleasant. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seattleite
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 21, 2013

Explored the city

We enjoyed the hotel. It had great restaurants we walked to, subway line and Central park at end of block. It was in a quieter neighborhood away from the crazy continual sounds of the city. It could have been better if there was a small refrigerator & coffee in the room. I would definiately, stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarabeth Restaurant had yummy breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Business
Nova Scotia, Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Delighted! ~ Central Park Classic ~ Will Return

Loved this place. Certainly the nicest hotel for mid-$250 range you could find in the heart of Manhattan. It is a classic hotel, with white-tiled bathrooms (immaculate!), plush bedding, and north or south views over the skyline. We were surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which we had for three nights, and were totally delighted with. (The separate sitting room meant that we parents could watch a movie and look at the lights of the city after the kids went to bed.) The hotel faces the American Museum of Natural History, across 81st Street, so it's an ideal spot for a family with kids. You're more or less in Central Park, a short walk to Belvedere Castle, the Boathouse, playgrounds, etc. We found the staff to be extremely nice, and very friendly and helpful. I'm actually a New Yorker, but moved out of the city several years ago . . . I've bounced around various hotels over the years, when visiting family. I also like the Hotel Wales, on the opposite side of the park -- but that one and the Excelsior are the two hotels I'd actually make a point to return to. Note: no pool, no room service -- but with all the zillion cafes and restaurants at your footsteps on Columbus Avenue, who really cares?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Families: The Excelsior is on Central Park, a thirty-seconds' walk from the dinosaur halls of the American Museum of Natural History (and the delights of Cental Park). The subway is also steps from the hotel door. (Not sure why any family would instead choose a Times Square hotel. Having to drag kids thru Times Square is basically a drag.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thutchinson
Business
Burnsville, Minnesota
Mar 26, 2013

Too hot to handle

The location of this hotel was great. We had easy access to the subway and had no problem finding a cab for other trips. There was something wrong with the temperature control in our room. Upon arriving and finding the room to be hot, we turned the thermostat to cool and set it at 60 degrees. Initially, cool air started to kick out of the system, but within 10 minutes, it flipped over to hot air and immediately heated the room up to miserable temperatures. We ended up sleeping with the windows open both nights. The temperature outside was in the high 20s, which made the room almost comfortable enough to sleep in. Almost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC2013
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Great Location

Great location near Central Park , Science museum and subway stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upstate Bill
Business
Upstate NY
Jan 3, 2013

Good hotel, excellent value

We return to the Excelsior each year for our annual holiday visit to NYC. It's a great location in a nice residential district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway station is just down the street so access to the rest of the city is easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vespidae
Business
Cape Cod
Dec 11, 2012

Nice hotel with too much heat.

This old hotel has been nicely renovated and updated. Aging double-glazed windows were hard to move and sticky. Climate control within the room was difficult, so room remained overly warm. Corridors were overheated. One elevator failed during our stay. Lobby was lively with the busy restaurant. Breakfast room was spacious, nicely furnished and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
Business
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top