Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
426 reviews
Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the... See full review

  • bvdrummer
  • May 31, 2014
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redi
Boston
Apr 10, 2012

OK

Faces the Museum of Natural History (though our room faced a brick wall). Lots of dark wood in lobby and elevator. Room was dated. Floors creaked loudly. Mattresses were soggy. No hot water first morning. Three-legged table with glasses on it toppled over when brushed - whose great idea was that? But room was clean, quiet and spacious (2 full beds), bathroom was brightly tiled, towels were plush and new. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Chick
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 3, 2012

loved this hotel

wonderful location; nice room with excellent lighting (often found lighting to be poor in many other hotels so I wanted to comment on the excellent lighting); only negative were the towels in the bathroom which had a very rough texture --- I really did not like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Josie's

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miamisgypsy
Miami, Fl.
Apr 3, 2012

Mediocre at Best

Unfortunately I had high expectations for this hotel. Considering its on the upper west side, and that I was paying good money I wasn't the least bit impressed. There were no amenities whatsoever. Not a even a coffee pot in the room, much less room service. The people at the front desk weren't professional nor was the cleaning service up to par. Needless to say I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and wish I would've stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindas
Chico, CA
Apr 2, 2012

Perfect location

This hotel was great, the only disappointment was not being able to use the "library with the chess board" in the photo as it was also the breakfast room and was closed at 11:00 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop for Crosstown bus right across the street, and the Starbucks was across the corner street.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephenscott22
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Perfect Location!

This hotel is in the perfect area. What I loved is that it was outside all of the tourist stuff. The hotel is on a block with only apartment buildings (nice ones). The area was very much a neighborhood with lots of people walking dogs, which I love. I ended up eating a lot of my meals in the area at really great local restaurants (some really great vegetarian places are very close by). There's also a subway stop on the block and the C train basically gets you almost anywhere you want to go with little to no train changes. It was pretty much a 20 minutes ride to almost anywhere I wanted to go. I went all over the city and had quite a few events to attend and I loved where I stayed. It was also super quiet. Room was nice and clean. Staff was average. They did their job. Not super friendly, but hey it's New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are vegetarian check out Mana and Cafe Blossom. Fred's was also fantastic for brunch!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XwordMan
Washington, DC
Mar 19, 2012

Great NYC weekend

The hotel is half a block from a subway stop. And it is right by Central Park and an area loaded with restaurants, etc. The room was not huge, but it was bigger than some NYC hotels we've stayed at, and it was big enough. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was very clean, and the bathroom was nice. What's not to like (although Internet was $10 for 24 hrs.)? I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a place on the Upper West Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam Ave., west of where the hotel is. Lots to chose from.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC frequent traveler
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great value

Excellent location near park and museum. Very good price. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Floor
London, UK
Jan 13, 2012

Don't expect warmth at this hotel!

On arrival we were greeted by a sour faced receptionist (always a giveaway) and sent up to our room. It was not what we had requested and paid for. After a brief argument on the telephone, she had no option but to give us a room with a double bed. The first night was very cold with no heating. When i enquired, i was told that the boiler had broken but had now been repaired. We then experienced periods of no heating for days. Apparently there is a system that only allows you to have heating for 20mins max. When we asked about the heating the staff were extremly rude except for one gentleman who tried to help us. A very high price to pay for a hotel with no heating!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dobocek
San Francisco, CA
Jan 9, 2012

Terrific Place to stay

We go to NY every year and have been staying at the Excelsion for the past several years. The location is beautiful - across from the Museum of Natural History and a block to Central Park - and the neighbourhood is friendly with terrific restaurants, stores, markets. Best of all the hotel is close to 2 subway lines [8th ave, 7th ave] which enable you to get to midtown in 10 minutes without having to put up with the midtown chaos 24/7. I find that the perfect combination. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many terrific eating establishments within walking distance including cafes breakfast places and terrific ethnic food places [including American food places].

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingHatter
Orlando, FL
Dec 18, 2011

Upper West Side Charm

The Excelsior Hotel is located on W. 81st Street; directly across the street from the Hayden Planetrium (which is a part of the American Museum of National History) and is one-half block from Central Park. Both bus and subway transportation are conveniently located from mere steps to a few short blocks away and provide access to near everywhere in Manhattan. The area is filled with shops, boutiques, and wonderful restaurants of nearly every type of cuisine imaginable. Two of the most enjoyable restaurants are the Ocean Grill for seafood and Bellini for Italian fare. The Magnolia Bakery is within walking distance should one desire specialty cupcakes; and even closer to the hotel is Lalo's which offers an immense selection of desserts. Lalo's was featured in the movie "You've Got Mail." There are two coffee shops within a half block (Starbuck's, and World Coffee which I highly recommend as World is less expensive than Starbuck's and has sandwiches, salads, breakfast items, and pastries on the menu; not to mention the delicious coffee. Andy's deli is a half block away and is handy for freshly made sandwiches, and for purchasing snacks, soda's, and other food items to have on hand in the hotel room. The hotel was recently refurbished, so the decor looks fresh and new. The rooms are tastefully appointed and include comfortable pillow top beds and fluffy pillows. Bath towels and toiletries are plentiful and hot water flowed instantly from the shower and sink. The room has good thermostatic controls and there was always such a blast of hot air that I turned the heat off many times as the room was comfortable even in the middle of December. The staff could not have been more helpful. All of my requests were responded to immediately including sending maintainence to unstop a clogged toilet. A member of my family decided to stay with me at the hotel, so I inquired about upgrading my twin room to accommodate an additional person. They offered me a suite at no extra charge. The suite was wonderful and included spa robes. I was never charged for the few pages that I printed from the guest computer either. Check out was a breeze and my bill was correct. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I would not stay anywhere else. For those looking for ambiance and charm and a quieter setting than Mid-town Manhattan, this is the place to stay. The only drawbacks of the hotel is that the ice machines are located on the 1st, 3rd and 11th floors only, and the vending machines are only on the 1st floor next to the ice machine. The businness center for guests to access the computer is one computer in the area the size of a closet but the internet was fast. The hotel has a restaurant which offers Spanish cusine that is supposed to be quite good but in the mornings, a continental breakfast is offered for the price of $17.00. However, it is not an issue with the other eateries so close to the hotel. There are no mini refrigerators in the rooms (not even in the suite) but guests can request one for a cost of $10.00 per day or there-a-bouts. However, the wonderful staff and service, the comfortable and newly decorated rooms, and the convenient location are well worth over-looking a few minor details. The Excelsior is a rare find in Manhattan and I look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top