$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
243 reviews
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
The best "3 star" hotel you'll ever find

The staff were great. The room was CLEAN. And pretty spacious compared to what I've heard about... See full review

  • adoramiranda
  • Feb 14, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space.
Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Excelsior Deluxe guest accommodation includes One Queen Bed, Two Double Beds or One King Bed with French Doors separating a seating parlor. This beautifully stylish decorated room has it all, flat screen T.V. in room movies, bath robe, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and bathroom amenities including hair dryer, This luxurious room is spaciously designed with approximately 470 square feet of living space. This room is perfect for the savvy business traveler or families needing the extra room at added value

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Jackonville, Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Great experience, great location

This is a very nice hotel in a great location, across the street from the Museum of Natural History. NIce quiet neighborhood, but only 1/2 block from the subway station. Many restaurants of all types and varieties just steps away. It has a great neighborhood feel, and perfect for walking and exploring. Central Park is 1 block away. A great little wine shop and a Starbucks within steps. My room had a separate sitting room as well, with a couch, desk and second TV. Very, very comfortable and friendly. I will certainly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great little family-owned restaurants in the neighborhood. Very friendly and comfortable neighborhood.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Juan P.R.
Aug 1, 2011

My New York vacations

The hotel have a privilege location. It's a pity that the people at the counter is not very friendly. The maintenance of the room is 6 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Museum of Natural History the first day of your visit. It will save you time later and you can come back for gift shopping.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Boston
Jul 20, 2011

NYC

Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rooftop bar 230 5th, Hurricane Club, Anja bar, Rose Earyth and Space Museum, Museum of Natural History, Central Park.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
rochester, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Great location

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The beds were comfortable and the room was large. We loved being so close to friends and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Carpinteria
Jul 19, 2011

Mom's on the loose

This was my first trip to NYC. I knew I wanted something centrally located in the heart of NYC and this was definitely it. The American Museum of History and a nice park was located right across the street and Central Park was a hop and a skip away. The subway was easy to get to and the Excelsior Hotel allowed us to check in 3 hours early which was awesome. The room was a bit small but we spent minimal time in it. It was clean and in the heart of NYC. We had two twins and would have needed more space with little ones. We did as much as we could in 4 days and were amazed by the amazing nightlife, culture, food, drinks,entertainment and of course shops that the city has to offer. We truly were able to take a trip to China Town/ Little Italy, Chelsea, see a broadway show, visit museums, Empire State Building, eat at all hours of the day/night, take a ferry boat and not drive once. My favorite thing was a free Shakespeare Production in Central Park which was amazing. This takes place every year for two months (June/July) at Central Park. All you need to do is wait in line and make sure you are there early with a great book and snacks. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, New York
Jun 24, 2011

A very good stay!

A great upper west side location----an older hotel that is well maintained---with a first rate professional staff. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Harried Mom
Boston,MA
Jun 12, 2011

Great location

Our family had never been to NYC and we only stayed for an overnight to see our son perform in a show. We chose the Excelsior based on reviews and its location. Right off we had a bellman help us with luggage and an easy, efficient checkin. The front desk staff were very friendly. I was surprised at the size of our room - far more spacious than I anticipated. You walked in to a small living room with pull out love seat, a desk and chair, table and TV and decent sized closet that had plenty of hangers, 2 robes to use, and the promised umbrella (good thing because it was raining too!). There was also an airconditioner in the small window for this area. The bedroom was separated from the living area by french doors. We had 2 full size beds, 2 chairs, a good sized bureau, another TV and an airconditioner for this side as well. The bathroom was adequately sized with cleverly placed shelving and bars to hold all the essentials for myself, my husband and our 2 young children. Most important for me in a hotel bathroom - there was great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. We did not check out the 2nd floor entertainment area or have the hotel breakfast as we were on a tight schedule, so I can't comment on those. We parked across the street at the Natural History Museum for a decent price - make sure to get validation at the hotel. On Sunday morning, we were pleasantly surprised to see a Farmer's market going on down Columbus Ave, which was a fun way to walk around and get breakfast before having to leave. We will definitely come again and hope to check out the museum next time as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
May 27, 2011

Great location

First time in New York city and it was a great experience. The Excelsior hotel was very good for us. Location was fantastic; next to Central Park, bus stops and subway. We used public transportation and we felt safe to walk late in the evening to our hotel. There are also good restaurants close by. Hotel staff was also helpful with directions and recommendations. We will use this hotel again and we highly recommend it. Hotel Amenities: we gave "4" stars because the hotel does not have restaurant, nor coffee in the room; it does offer water for a price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron @ 473 Columbus Ave. Great food at a good price; elegant and relaxing.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Columbia Travelers
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 27, 2011

great location

rooms small but well kept. Desk staff definitely not warm and fuzzy - rather cold and aloof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good boutique cafes nearby.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, Md
Mar 25, 2011

Stay at the Excelsior

Agian another successful stay. really enjoyed it at the hotel always clean and suits my purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top