$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian WDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 18, 2014

Wonder Hotel

The Excelsior is a perfect location from which to explore NY. Great location, nice neighborhood, easy access to transportation. Room size is great (especially for a hotel in NY). I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTWSF
Family
San Francisco
Jun 13, 2014

Perfect Upper West Side Hotel

We enjoyed our stay at the Excelsior Hotel on Manhattan's Upper West Side. The staff was friendly, efficient, and very helpful. The location for our family was perfect: close to Central Park, near subway lines and taxis, and within walking distance to restaurants and museums. The hotel is not fancy, but clean, comfortable, and quiet. Very safe location, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered Cafe Storico at the NY Historical Museum two blocks from the hotel. We had a delicious lunch there after touring a photo exhibit at the museum. Cafe Storico is a hidden gem! Its sleek and modern decor, friendly wait staff, and fantastic dishes make it a perfect lunch spot. Highly recommended.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bvdrummer
Couples
Irvine, California
May 31, 2014

Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the neighborhood felt safe. The hotel is very close to a subway station for the B & C trains which was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phillytwins
Family
philadelphia
May 27, 2014

Central Park, Museums, Best of Upper West Side

We've stayed here three times- family of 4- and the staff is always great. The hotel is very clean, quiet, and in an excellent location for kid or adult activities. There is a discount on parking if you park at the museum across the street. Rooms are small, but I doubt you're going to New York to hang out in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lenny's has good sandwiches and salads just up Columbus about 2 blocks. Amsterdam Ave 2 blocks West has tons of great restaurants.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellers not
Couples
Nova Scotia
May 26, 2014

Couples adventure

My wife and I rarely travel, so our trip to New York was an adventure. Our son met us and showed us around. The hotel met our expectations - cleanliness, room size, view. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

97th and Amsterdam. Fabulous food and prices.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky Pamela
Couples
Grand Rapids, Michigan
May 26, 2014

Good location, etc.

The location to subway stops, restaurants, museums, and Central Park is great. The room was spacious for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff were a little indifferent personally, but did their jobs. Probably not so great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Dave58
Family
Columbus Ohio
May 17, 2014

Just Okay.

I am not one of those who needs alot but paying $250 a night with no free Wi-Fi, ice machine 15 floors away,no free coffee ect. Location and neighbor hood was nice, good subway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snomaker
Family
Potsdam, NY
May 9, 2014

Upper West Side is Peaceful

This was our first visit to Manhattan and I wanted my family to be safe and comfortable. We chose the Excelsior because of its location right next to the American Museum of Natural History. It was the right choice. The room was not large but it was charming and comfortable. The staff were exceptional. The doorman went out of his way to help me find street parking and saved me over $100 in parking fees. We did not try their restaurant but it was clearly very popular! The location was ideal with access to museums, restaurants, coffee shops, weekend farmer's market, Central Park, subway and much more. I would gladly stay there anytime. With an online discount we received the price was very affordable for Manhattan. My family loved it and want to return there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a farmer's market outside the American Museum of Natural History on Sunday's. Exceptional quality natural foods at a great price.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary visitor
Family
NJ
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location for Museum visit

Great deal with parking validation too! perfect walkable location to Museum of Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

have parking pass validated at front desk if visiting museum

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chop suey
Family
birmingham, england
Apr 22, 2014

family holiday

Excellent, well positioned hotel near to central park and other historic places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top