$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
LGBT
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

LGBT

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaineyJ
Couples
Omaha, Nebraska
Sep 1, 2014

Smiles are needed at the front desk

We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. The room was kept very clean. The front desk was a problem 75% of the time. I asked to get a receipt printed that I needed for our shuttle service and I was given minimal help in large part because they had no idea about how to use their computers. I asked for directions and it was like I was really stupid asking my questions. One of the front desk people were nice and helpful , but the rest just plain sucked. If it weren't for the front desk, I would stay there again if I got an upgrade to a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Often in NY
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2014

Good location, solid hotel

The Excelsior is located right off central park, right near the Museum of Natural History. While I was at the hotel for business, most of the visitors were foreign and in town for sight seeing. Friendly staff, clean room and a very reasonable price made this a good pick. Second stay and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Single
NYC
Aug 23, 2014

Great location

There is some construction in the area. But very nice place for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ83
Family
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Aug 22, 2014

Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very clean and accommodating hotel. I would stay here again on my next trip or visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JackiK
Single
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 12, 2014

Wonderful central local

From the first step out of the taxi, the staff was cheerful, happy to assist me and courteous without being intrusive. Quick and no hassle check in, room was more than I expected for the value I paid for the room. Well maintained and clean room, housekeeping was spot on during the entire stay. The hotel is a good central location for all the museums, a short walk to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debsidee
Family
Yorkshire, Englane
Aug 3, 2014

Good sized family room in older style hotel

Old style hotel near central park. Our original room was very small (we are a family of four) and there were some faults including doors, the safe not working and workmen walking on scaffolding outside the window. After discussion with receptionist we were moved to a great room - very spacious. Good room cleaning service and staff were friendly and efficient. As other reviews have said would have been great to have had tea/coffee facilities and wifi in rooms but overall very good due to superb location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right out of the hotel and right again onto Columbus Avenue. Lots of great restaurants and delis

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark561
Business
Florida
Jul 30, 2014

Business trip

As expected which is all I need or wanted. Well located, clean and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gabrielle's Mom
Family
Wisconsin
Jul 15, 2014

Nice Manhattan hotel

Location great--near Central Park, easy walk to restaurants in nice neighborhood. Under construction (updating) so some noise but that was OK. Carpeting near 2 chairs and chairs seats were damp and remained damp the entire time so with bare feet you were aware of the damp carpet. Staff was excellent--friendly and helpful and courteous. I would have liked a coffee maker and coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice restaurants with eating outside in nice neighborhood easy walk from hotel,

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
only UWS
Couples
Israel
Jun 29, 2014

lovely three night stay

staff was wonderful. room small but not surprising. lovely and comfortable lobby, breakfast room and room. no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy travelers WPB
Couples
West Pal Beach, Florida
Jun 19, 2014

Great value at great location

Got there very early after disembarking from cruise and our room was not ready as expected. We were going to leave our bags and explore New York but they gave us a mini-suite that was ready. Staff was very nice. The hotel is older and you can see it in the rugs and lack of amenities, but the location is great. Subway a block away, Central Park a block away and a large selection of restaurants within a two to five blocks away. With a good price our stay was very reasonable and a great value. Wished it had free wifi in room. A coffee maker and small refrigerator in room would have enhanced the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices very close by and very safe to walk at night since it is within a residential area.

Back to menu Return to top