$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycauthor
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Lovely getaway

Great hotel. Only drawbacks: no room service, no morning coffee, very long wait for elevators at checkout time. Still a good buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowbird travelers
Business
Kasota, MN
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas bonus

The rate we received was very good for NYC. However, when we booked the room it indicated that a free breakfast was to be included but none was. The staff we asked about the free breakfast didn't have any idea that one was to be included and we did not get one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nycauthor
Business
NYC
Dec 24, 2013

Excellent stay

Beautiful location. Very comfortable accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine Miss
Business
Kennebunkport Maine
Nov 22, 2013

Great location

Great location. Cheap with the amenities such as having to pay extra for morning coffee, ridiculous price for WiFi. Front desk staff surly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of delicious eateries within walking distance. Great breakfast value alternatives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annasan
Business
London UK
Oct 31, 2013

Trip of a Lifetime

Lovely, comfortable hotel with excellent, helpful staff. The maid service was particularly good & room staff friendly. While the breakfast at $17 dollars may seem expensive, because of what is available it is excellent value for money when compared with other eating places in the area. The location is perfect with the subway a few minutes walk away and 5/7 minutes walk to Central park. The one downside, in my opinion is the lack of free wifi, in rooms. I really think that the management should look at changing this asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Houls
Business
Santa Rosa Beach, Fl
Oct 30, 2013

Upper West Side

Upgraded to a beautiful suite. Nice business center with complimentary boarding pass printing. Pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kahea
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 8, 2013

Best Upper Westside Hotel for the $$

I love the Excelsior Hotel! I have stayed here before and plan to again. The location is central and perfect for my business on the Upper Westside. Hotel is clean and staff very helpful. I even got a room upgrade. Bathroom a little small but rest of room spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christoph review
Business
New Mexico
Sep 10, 2013

Great Location

The room was small but with great view. It had an sold old school decor, but well maintained, and very functional.Personal, friendly and competent staff. Personal service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

American museum of Natural history, across the street. Metropolitan, Guggenheim, Whitney and Frick Museum a fun walk across Central Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommomgolf
Business
Midland, MI
May 23, 2013

Excelsior Hotel, NYC

Nice place. Our room with one queen was small, but nice, comfortable feel. On the 3rd floor we heard noise from outside - barking dog, people talking loudly, but it was fine at night. Clean, nice bathroom with a fan and good quality soaps. The room was cleaned daily, to our satisfaction and the staff was friendly. The entrance & lobby have a more European feel - old, cozy. Great location - down the street from Central Park and across the street from Natural History Museum. I'd stay there again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go right out of the hotel to the corner of Columbus. Turn right on Columbus and walk for 7 or 8 blocks to find all kinds of bistro-style restaurants. Great Italian places, Organic & Vegan, Parisian bakeries with beautiful breakfast pastries and coffee.. Joe's coffee was very good, plus a couple of Starbucks along the way. If you like to do yoga, the studio on 85th, just off Columbus was outstanding (Upper West Side Yoga, I think was the name)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wis visitor
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2013

nice place to stay

good location-reasonable size rooms-quiet-near central park and the B/C subway lines. very good value for NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top