$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Sasha Mom
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Sep 15, 2014

Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were able to take the subway that is just down on the corner for the entire week. For the price I might have expected complimentary coffee in the morning or water. But you have to pay for everything. Maybe all the hotels in Manhattan are like that. I don't really know. I found the staff very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and very comfortable, plus we had a great view of Central Park. I probably would stay there again since I now know how to use the MTA subway system to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would buy a 7-day unlimited MetroCard for the subway. It was $31 and it saved us a lot of money and time not having to pay each time we used the subway. It takes you all over to see so many of the attractions in NYC. Many people use the subway, so you don't have to worry about anything too much while using it. Of course, you need to watch your purse or wallet while traveling.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wild West Road Warrior
Business
SF Bay Area
Sep 9, 2014

Overall Great with a few exceptions

I wanted to stay some place quiet away from the noise of the city, next to a peaceful area of Central Park. This met all expectations in that sense! Not only that, it's within walking distance to many cafe's and shops. I give the hotel an A+ on this. I have a very bad back and if sleep on a bad mattress, I will pay for it the next day. The mattress was great! This is a big plus for back sufferers. The towels were thick and luxurious. The only downside of the hotel were 2 things; 1) No complimentary wifi. It's $10 a day and you needed to have a Ethernet chord. Very out dated! And I hate when hotels nickle and dime customers with a lot of extra fees. If I'm already paying over $250 a night for a 3 star hotel, the wifi should be included IMO. I had to go down stairs in the lobby to get wifi for work and only a few small locations in the lobby had decent wifi. 2) The hotel flooring in the hallways as you're going to your rooms, creaks so loud you can hear people walking back and forth while you are in your room resting. When your neighbor shuts their door, it's so loud it would wake up Lazarus from the dead! Those are the only things the hotel needs to improve on IMO. The staff were nice and I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlft
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 3, 2014

Staff was not friendly

Overall, the hotel was fine for a night trip. The staff at the front desk were not friendly in person and if you called from your room.. just a warning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
khot
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 2, 2014

Great Upper West side boutique

Although not in the heart of the tourist zones of NYC, we enjoyed the location thoroughly. It is 1/2 block from Central Park, close to the Metropolitan Museum and there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance. Rooms were clean. The only downside is there are only twin separate beds if you need separate sleeping arrangements. The beds were a little on the hard side as were the pillows. Although not huge, our room was very adequate for the price and NYC standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaineyJ
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Sep 1, 2014

Smiles are needed at the front desk

We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. The room was kept very clean. The front desk was a problem 75% of the time. I asked to get a receipt printed that I needed for our shuttle service and I was given minimal help in large part because they had no idea about how to use their computers. I asked for directions and it was like I was really stupid asking my questions. One of the front desk people were nice and helpful , but the rest just plain sucked. If it weren't for the front desk, I would stay there again if I got an upgrade to a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Often in NY
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2014

Good location, solid hotel

The Excelsior is located right off central park, right near the Museum of Natural History. While I was at the hotel for business, most of the visitors were foreign and in town for sight seeing. Friendly staff, clean room and a very reasonable price made this a good pick. Second stay and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AD MONEY
Business
NYC
Aug 23, 2014

Great location

There is some construction in the area. But very nice place for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ83
Business
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Aug 22, 2014

Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very clean and accommodating hotel. I would stay here again on my next trip or visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JackiK
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 12, 2014

Wonderful central local

From the first step out of the taxi, the staff was cheerful, happy to assist me and courteous without being intrusive. Quick and no hassle check in, room was more than I expected for the value I paid for the room. Well maintained and clean room, housekeeping was spot on during the entire stay. The hotel is a good central location for all the museums, a short walk to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I highly reccomend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debsidee
Business
Yorkshire, Englane
Aug 3, 2014

Good sized family room in older style hotel

Old style hotel near central park. Our original room was very small (we are a family of four) and there were some faults including doors, the safe not working and workmen walking on scaffolding outside the window. After discussion with receptionist we were moved to a great room - very spacious. Good room cleaning service and staff were friendly and efficient. As other reviews have said would have been great to have had tea/coffee facilities and wifi in rooms but overall very good due to superb location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right out of the hotel and right again onto Columbus Avenue. Lots of great restaurants and delis

Back to menu Return to top