$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
284 reviews
Lincoln Center trip

A comfortable, affordable hotel on the upper West side. Good for ticket holders to events at... See full review

  • Teresa K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
one night

We love this place!! will recommend right across from park.....Love NYC!!!! See full review

  • Bay Area traveler 1
  • Jan 18, 2015
Located on the trendy west side between Central Park West and Columbus Avenue, The Excelsior Hotel is less than a block away from Central Park and The American Museum of Natural History. This totally refurbished hotel is only moments away from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Lincoln Center, Columbia University, Madison Avenue shops and fabulous boutiques and unlimited cafes. 10 minutes away from Times Square by taxi or subway. ***Please note: WiFi is available in designated areas of the hotel lobby and 2nd floor of the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (284)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy travelers WPB
Business
West Pal Beach, Florida
Jun 19, 2014

Great value at great location

Got there very early after disembarking from cruise and our room was not ready as expected. We were going to leave our bags and explore New York but they gave us a mini-suite that was ready. Staff was very nice. The hotel is older and you can see it in the rugs and lack of amenities, but the location is great. Subway a block away, Central Park a block away and a large selection of restaurants within a two to five blocks away. With a good price our stay was very reasonable and a great value. Wished it had free wifi in room. A coffee maker and small refrigerator in room would have enhanced the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices very close by and very safe to walk at night since it is within a residential area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian WDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 18, 2014

Wonder Hotel

The Excelsior is a perfect location from which to explore NY. Great location, nice neighborhood, easy access to transportation. Room size is great (especially for a hotel in NY). I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTWSF
Business
San Francisco
Jun 13, 2014

Perfect Upper West Side Hotel

We enjoyed our stay at the Excelsior Hotel on Manhattan's Upper West Side. The staff was friendly, efficient, and very helpful. The location for our family was perfect: close to Central Park, near subway lines and taxis, and within walking distance to restaurants and museums. The hotel is not fancy, but clean, comfortable, and quiet. Very safe location, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered Cafe Storico at the NY Historical Museum two blocks from the hotel. We had a delicious lunch there after touring a photo exhibit at the museum. Cafe Storico is a hidden gem! Its sleek and modern decor, friendly wait staff, and fantastic dishes make it a perfect lunch spot. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bvdrummer
Business
Irvine, California
May 31, 2014

Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the neighborhood felt safe. The hotel is very close to a subway station for the B & C trains which was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phillytwins
Business
philadelphia
May 27, 2014

Central Park, Museums, Best of Upper West Side

We've stayed here three times- family of 4- and the staff is always great. The hotel is very clean, quiet, and in an excellent location for kid or adult activities. There is a discount on parking if you park at the museum across the street. Rooms are small, but I doubt you're going to New York to hang out in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lenny's has good sandwiches and salads just up Columbus about 2 blocks. Amsterdam Ave 2 blocks West has tons of great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellers not
Business
Nova Scotia
May 26, 2014

Couples adventure

My wife and I rarely travel, so our trip to New York was an adventure. Our son met us and showed us around. The hotel met our expectations - cleanliness, room size, view. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

97th and Amsterdam. Fabulous food and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky Pamela
Business
Grand Rapids, Michigan
May 26, 2014

Good location, etc.

The location to subway stops, restaurants, museums, and Central Park is great. The room was spacious for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff were a little indifferent personally, but did their jobs. Probably not so great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Dave58
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 17, 2014

Just Okay.

I am not one of those who needs alot but paying $250 a night with no free Wi-Fi, ice machine 15 floors away,no free coffee ect. Location and neighbor hood was nice, good subway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snomaker
Business
Potsdam, NY
May 9, 2014

Upper West Side is Peaceful

This was our first visit to Manhattan and I wanted my family to be safe and comfortable. We chose the Excelsior because of its location right next to the American Museum of Natural History. It was the right choice. The room was not large but it was charming and comfortable. The staff were exceptional. The doorman went out of his way to help me find street parking and saved me over $100 in parking fees. We did not try their restaurant but it was clearly very popular! The location was ideal with access to museums, restaurants, coffee shops, weekend farmer's market, Central Park, subway and much more. I would gladly stay there anytime. With an online discount we received the price was very affordable for Manhattan. My family loved it and want to return there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a farmer's market outside the American Museum of Natural History on Sunday's. Exceptional quality natural foods at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary visitor
Business
NJ
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location for Museum visit

Great deal with parking validation too! perfect walkable location to Museum of Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

have parking pass validated at front desk if visiting museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top