$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
LGBT
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

LGBT

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alissa T.
Friends
N/A
May 3, 2015

Awesome NYC hotel

Great area close to natural history museum and central park. Short walk to subway. Safe area, nice clean hotel. Close to a few bars and restaurants. Great for families and safe for single women. Great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marci B.
Business
Tupper Lake
May 1, 2015

Business Trip

Beds were very comfy. Hotel was very conveniently located near where my meeting was held. I stay there at least once or twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeCo72
Family
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Great location with room for improvement

Given that we were in New York with our kids to see the American Museum of Natural History, this hotel's location cannot be beat. The room was small but I'm sure that's the norm in NYC. The lobby area was lovely as was their in house bar/restaurant. Unfortunately, the heating system was very loud early each morning and woke me up before 6 AM. When I mentioned it to the evening concierge, he really didn't seem to care much and said it was an old heating system. The second morning, I thought turning off the heat would do the trick. Unfortunately, it didn't so I came down to the front desk at the crack of dawn. The morning concierge was fantastic and told me that mine was a common complaint. He gave me a voucher for their free breakfast buffet. My kids loved serving themselves & though the food was just okay, I appreciated the gesture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SaM
Friends
PLANO
Apr 22, 2015

Nice rooms , free breakfast

The only thing that really disappointed me was that the bellboy acted friendly and accommodating but refused to hail a cab for us when just few hours earlier we saw them assist a Caucasian couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat1
Couples
Dallas
Apr 13, 2015

Perfect Location for Museums

I have stayed at the Excelsior several times previously, but this trip was purely for playing tourist. This is an older hotel, without a lot of fancy dining or amenities, but in compensation I found it is perfectly situated for museums--a ten-minute walk across the park to the Metropolitan or the Frick, directly across the street from the American Museum of Natural History and the New York Historical Society, and 3 minutes from a main subway line. There are lots of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood, and of course Central Park less than a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corey F.
Family
Chicago
Apr 6, 2015

Location

Good location and value for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Katie
Family
BEL AIR
Mar 24, 2015

Wedding Weekend

After reading reviews I was quite worried about the condition of the hotel. It was very nice and large. I would have given it a 5 but we did have 2 issues. The heat made lots of noise and my daughter had a hard time sleeping. There were literally 2 outlets that worked so we had a hard time charging phones and using hair dryers. Otherwise it was great. Mark was very helpful with our luggage and our parking. It was in a great area with great restaurants too. We had a great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAMMAG
Couples
N/A
Mar 22, 2015

Perfect stay n NYC

This hotel is an easy walk to subway system and healthy walk to Times Square and Theater District. We got upgraded and so the size of the room was not an issue. Plus, when in NYC, who spends a ton of time in the room anyway?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat1
Single
Dallas
Feb 18, 2015

Location Plus

I chose the Excelsior for its location near Central Park and across the street from the Museum of Natural History, and that was a great choice--supplemented by many good restaurants nearby. The two plusses were room comfort (it's not a new hotel so my expectations were modest, and exceeded) and a very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelley W.
Couples
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Excelsior Hotel...

Hotel was nice and comfortable but kind of pricey. Do not think it's right for a hotel to charge for Wifi for your room if it's free in the lobby. Loved the robes, but the heater was very noisy and a little startling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top