$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stephen l.
Business
Costa Mesa
Dec 23, 2014

last minute trip

I had to stay an extra night in nyc and the hotel I was staying, ink48, which I love was booked out. So I went online and grabbed a random hotel room. and I would never stay at this hotel again. not my style, rooms were small. not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park is close to the hotel, just a few blocks

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
becky tennis
Business
orange county
Dec 2, 2014

amazing

I thoroughly enjoy the fact it was locatedd across the street for the Natural History Museum and central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural history museum

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maruli
Business
Florida Keys
Nov 30, 2014

Thanksgiving in NYC

Stayed over Thanksgiving week we had a suite and a queen room. The suite was perfect for my son wife and two small children. The queen room facing the museum offered great city views and perfect to look down and the the Macy's balloons getting ready for the thanksgiving parade! I will definitively stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Library Master
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2014

Stayed for Thanksgiving

If you want to see the Thanksgiving parade, this hotel is at a great location. O-- cancelled our reservation, which I found out when checking in. But, they accommodated our stay somehow. I am not sure if it is because of that or all the other rooms look similar, but the room was OK (not very clean, not very fancy...). A coffee shop is near the hotel, so no coffee at all at the hotel did not bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hersheyswt
Business
Chandler, AZ
Nov 21, 2014

Great Location, Enjoyed Our Stay

We were thrilled to find that the Excelsior was just steps from Central Park, and my husband and I enjoyed a beautiful starlight walk in the park at night. We were even more thrilled to find out that some of the best 4-star restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner were literally around the corner, a 5 minute walk away. We enjoyed great coffee at some local shops, hopped on the subway whenever we needed to go downtown, and enjoyed the location. The rooms were comfortable and we enjoyed the rooms, but I don't remember them being over the top or anything. We slept well in the rooms, and they were of reasonable size, not a tiny box, like other New York hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Bostonian
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 16, 2014

Always a terrific stay

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and come back every chance we get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 56
Business
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2014

Great location. Big room for Manhattan

Fantastic. Great location. Huge room. Very quiet. And what a location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara Traveler
Business
Buffalo, New York
Oct 22, 2014

old school charming and friendly

Love this place. I travel to NYC frequently as my daughter attends college there. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I do not think I will stay anywhere else. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Steps from Central Park, Museum of Natural History and numerous restaurants and shops while being in a residential area free from the chaos in many parts of Manhattan yet a few minute subway or taxi ride from Times Square. I hope this hotel maintains its charming old school feel and never undergoes a modern sterile remodel like so many hotels that I used to like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

look for free street parking but make sure you check the signs twice

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A happy vactioner
Business
Denver Colorado
Oct 15, 2014

Great hotel in Manhattan

It is an older hotel but has been well taken care of. Some of the living room furniture looked well used but it was very comfortable, great staff, very clean and a fantastic location. The bed was as comfortable as my own. They even upgraded our room for free (we didn't have to ask either). It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Werewoof
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 13, 2014

Great location...but...

Services limited needs more amenities. Bathroom shower head loose and came out like out of a garden hose. Toilet bowl VERY low and let me say...a challenge to use without getting my "personal bits" wet...ugh!!! Staff good. again, GREAT LOCATION across from Roosevelt Park, Museum of Natural History, blk from Cental park, close to great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Through Central Park to Metropolitan Museum and museum row.

Back to menu Return to top