$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
becky tennis
Business
orange county
Dec 2, 2014

amazing

I thoroughly enjoy the fact it was locatedd across the street for the Natural History Museum and central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural history museum

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maruli
Business
Florida Keys
Nov 30, 2014

Thanksgiving in NYC

Stayed over Thanksgiving week we had a suite and a queen room. The suite was perfect for my son wife and two small children. The queen room facing the museum offered great city views and perfect to look down and the the Macy's balloons getting ready for the thanksgiving parade! I will definitively stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Library Master
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2014

Stayed for Thanksgiving

If you want to see the Thanksgiving parade, this hotel is at a great location. O-- cancelled our reservation, which I found out when checking in. But, they accommodated our stay somehow. I am not sure if it is because of that or all the other rooms look similar, but the room was OK (not very clean, not very fancy...). A coffee shop is near the hotel, so no coffee at all at the hotel did not bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hersheyswt
Business
Chandler, AZ
Nov 21, 2014

Great Location, Enjoyed Our Stay

We were thrilled to find that the Excelsior was just steps from Central Park, and my husband and I enjoyed a beautiful starlight walk in the park at night. We were even more thrilled to find out that some of the best 4-star restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner were literally around the corner, a 5 minute walk away. We enjoyed great coffee at some local shops, hopped on the subway whenever we needed to go downtown, and enjoyed the location. The rooms were comfortable and we enjoyed the rooms, but I don't remember them being over the top or anything. We slept well in the rooms, and they were of reasonable size, not a tiny box, like other New York hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Bostonian
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 16, 2014

Always a terrific stay

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and come back every chance we get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 56
Business
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2014

Great location. Big room for Manhattan

Fantastic. Great location. Huge room. Very quiet. And what a location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara Traveler
Business
Buffalo, New York
Oct 22, 2014

old school charming and friendly

Love this place. I travel to NYC frequently as my daughter attends college there. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I do not think I will stay anywhere else. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Steps from Central Park, Museum of Natural History and numerous restaurants and shops while being in a residential area free from the chaos in many parts of Manhattan yet a few minute subway or taxi ride from Times Square. I hope this hotel maintains its charming old school feel and never undergoes a modern sterile remodel like so many hotels that I used to like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

look for free street parking but make sure you check the signs twice

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A happy vactioner
Business
Denver Colorado
Oct 15, 2014

Great hotel in Manhattan

It is an older hotel but has been well taken care of. Some of the living room furniture looked well used but it was very comfortable, great staff, very clean and a fantastic location. The bed was as comfortable as my own. They even upgraded our room for free (we didn't have to ask either). It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Werewoof
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 13, 2014

Great location...but...

Services limited needs more amenities. Bathroom shower head loose and came out like out of a garden hose. Toilet bowl VERY low and let me say...a challenge to use without getting my "personal bits" wet...ugh!!! Staff good. again, GREAT LOCATION across from Roosevelt Park, Museum of Natural History, blk from Cental park, close to great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Through Central Park to Metropolitan Museum and museum row.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Sasha Mom
Business
Elk Grove, CA
Sep 15, 2014

Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were able to take the subway that is just down on the corner for the entire week. For the price I might have expected complimentary coffee in the morning or water. But you have to pay for everything. Maybe all the hotels in Manhattan are like that. I don't really know. I found the staff very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and very comfortable, plus we had a great view of Central Park. I probably would stay there again since I now know how to use the MTA subway system to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would buy a 7-day unlimited MetroCard for the subway. It was $31 and it saved us a lot of money and time not having to pay each time we used the subway. It takes you all over to see so many of the attractions in NYC. Many people use the subway, so you don't have to worry about anything too much while using it. Of course, you need to watch your purse or wallet while traveling.

Back to menu Return to top