$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
amazing

I thoroughly enjoy the fact it was locatedd across the street for the Natural History Museum and... See full review

  • becky tennis
  • Dec 2, 2014
Always a terrific stay

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and come back every chance we get. See full review

  • Happy Bostonian
  • Nov 16, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon,New York
Apr 26, 2009

Excelsior Hotel

Great location and quiet room. All but one staff member friendly and accomodating. If you like staying away from other hotels in nice area near park this is great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 23, 2009

Nice stay

I will definitely stay here again.  The only issues, albeit minor: I can only assume that our wonderful rate is the reason why the front desk staff didn't choose to smile at us or to say a kind word what-so-ever. Or he had just eaten a sour lemon.  Our door made a horrible scrapping sound when opened and it was quite obvious by the scratches on the marble door jam that this was an old problem, but the cheap room didn't qualify for a fix.  So, if you end up in room 715, use a plastic shopping bag under the door and you won't wake you friend and neighbors up when you go get your Starbucks. The ac/heater was difficult to get to work right because of the stripped controls. But, when it worked it was a good unit. On a high note, I have never seen a cleaner bathroom in a hotel. But you have to use weights to hold the shower curtain in place or you will get water all over the floor. The beds and pillows and quiet were enough to entice me back. 

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 22, 2009

Convenient, clean, fair price (for NYC)

Good small hotel in a convenient location near Central Park and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roswell, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Charm and Comfort

We checked in with "lost" baggage...they were kind enough to be on the look out for it... and when they finally delivered it, kept it safe until we could take it up. The room was great..they upgraded us to a larger room because Orbitz did not offer us the accomodation that fit our number of people when we booked the room. The Jr. Suite was a sitting room/pull out couch with a queen(2 beds)bedroom. The bathroom was the prettiest , cleanest white tile with little pastel flowers...the towels were large and fluffy and the bathrobes were comfy! We liked the old world comfort of the hotel---it was like a "Hotel"...and the staff was very nice;; they gave us directions to a diner for breakfast and to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway entry at the end of the block...subways take dollar bills, Buses take only change...beware!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 22, 2009

No Customer Service at the Excelsior

The hotel was Ok, great location. The staff was not helpful and sometimes very rude. The air conditioner leaked and the rug was wet. The wallpaper was peeling. They didn't have a shower cap or conditioner for your hair. There were no screens on the windows, so being on the 13th floor isn't something you would want to do with small children. Book on the internet through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to the airport , it's faster and about the same cost as the shuttle service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quakertown,Pa
Apr 22, 2009

great service and location!

We were there for a reunion with my oldest daughter that has been overseas for 1 yr. I chose this hotel because it was near her and the location was great! I will definitly stay there again. The staff was very accomodating and even upgraded us to a suite for the same price and it was very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street fron the natural museum of history and across central park (short walk) to the Met. museum of art and easy access to subway and buses to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Apr 22, 2009

Perfect location; reasonable price

We have stayed here before, and found the small hotel perfect for our needs....close to Central park, subway, very good restaurants, and I felt safe. A subway ride from mid-town, but not in the midst of the noise....nice city view. We would go to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful eateries of various types not far from hotel with reasonable prices....we felt like we lived in New York!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resi
Business
Wilton, CT
Mar 3, 2009

Great family hotel

This hotel is gorgeous. The rooms were very nice, clean. The staff was very nice. The location is awesome. The breakfast was delicious our kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural history is right across the street :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Better then expected

The room was very spacious and appeared to have been recently remodeled. Location was great; across from the Natural History Museum, a ? block from Central Park, a ? block to subways going downtown Manhattan. Could not have been better. Enjoyed my stay and would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill
Dec 30, 2008

family friendly

Generally a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it for families with kids due to the location if you can get an affordable rate. We went to NY for Christmas break with our two children. Our 2 double bed room was spacious. It was clean and tidy and the hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel is right across the street from the Museum of Natural History. We had never driven in NY so we decided to drive in instead of taking the train. With validation parking at the Museum parking across the street was less than $30 per 24h and very convienent esp hauling the kids and luggage. The location was fantastic, across from the Museum of Natural history, straight across central from the MET, a short walk from the puppet theater in central park, a block from central park and a play structure area, near food and around the corner from starbucks and a pizza joint. The only nits I have are very minor: 1-There was only two elevators and in the mornings when everyone was going out we had to wait a long time to get on. This was because we were on the 3rd floor so the elevator wouldn't stop at out floor going up just on the way down. So with a stroller and kids by the time it got back to us it was packed full. Most mornings we just walked down the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. Other times it was an issue at all just first thing in the morning. 2-In the room the snacks were in plain view on a tray on top of the mini bar fridge thing. Additionally the snacks were on sensors so if they were knocked over or taken off the sensor you would get charged( not a huge issue to settle with the front desk staff). Now imagine a 3 year old that was hungry while you were in the bathroom. Too easy for the kids to grab and go while you are not looking, esp the M&Ms. Just a nit, quite comical really. 3- the Movie selection was mostly adult movies. After a long day out we wished we could pick out a Cartoon movie and crash but there were no choices for the kids at all. I would have been nice to have some children movies on the menu. 4- The restraunt linked to the hotel was $$$$. Not an issue since you just walk out the door and a block over you can get pizza and 2 blocks over is Amsterdam with other restraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top