Excelsior Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$139
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016

Excelsior

Would recommend Tue, Sep 7, 2010
Very nice hotel but room was tiny. Parking poor if no spots available on the street.

| Maryland Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

awsome!

Would recommend Mon, Aug 23, 2010
The location for a first time visitor to manhattan was perfect. I had my wife and kids with me so we ended up about 2 miles away from time square.. Far enough yet so close. I would do it again in a heart beat......Thank you[...]

| los angeles ca Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

A great experience

Would recommend Sun, Aug 22, 2010
We arrived early. The room (upgraded) was ready. The space was great. Shower was wonderful (good water pressure). Everything was clean. There was no view in our room, but I can go out to see the sights. The staff were great. The breakfast on the 2nd floor was lovely. They have a really helpful guide in the room to local places plus all the big attractions.

Attractions

The MOMA and Natural History Musem are really close.

| Philadelphia Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Loved it.

Would recommend Mon, Jul 19, 2010
Really enjoyed this hotel. Across the street from the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park. Perfect location for our family of 6. The rooms were nice sized, had nice details (like pretty tiles in the bathroom) and were well maintained. We got side by side rooms without having to ask. Lobby was really lovely. Concierge was very helpful storing bags and offering transportation advice. Breakfast was very pricey - so we ate elsewhere. Wish we had more time to explore Central Park and the upper west side where the hotel was. Easy to get around the city from this location. Easy access to the subway and easy taxi ride to the theatre district.

Dining

Plenty of dining options nearby.

| Annapolis, MD Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very relaxing and convenient

Would recommend Sat, Jul 17, 2010
I went to NYC a year ago and stayed somewhere in lower Manhattan, that location is super-convenient but you can hear plenty of noises at night, I never had a good night's sleep during that trip, and this made me fear trips to NYC. So this time I read the reviews and chose Excelsior Hotel. I'm really happy about the decision. We stayed on the 15th floor (they have 16), and the windows face the small park across the street. You can still hear some faint distant noises at night (like a bus driving by), but definitely not loud enough to be disturbing. I had wonderful nights of sleep this time and really enjoyed my NYC trip, I'd definitely come back just for this reason. The location is convenient as well, the subway is just around the corner.

| San Francisco Bay Area, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

What a great place to stay

Would recommend Fri, Jul 9, 2010
We were just in town for our daughter's performance at The Apollo ( she won). The hotel was everything we could of wanted. When we arrived there was a mix up about our reservation but the staff quickly went to work at accommodating our family. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite. The location of this hotel was so close to many shops and restaurants. The subway is near by too! The staff was very helpful from the front desk to the doormen and bellhops. I would definitely stay here again, great for families.

Dining

Check out the Shake Shack. Great food but there may be a line.

| Prince George's County, MD Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excelsior review

Would recommend Wed, Mar 31, 2010
Overall, good experience and we would go back due to the location and room size. Staff not very helpful and were often rude (I am from NYC, so know when this is over the line). When checking in, we were upgraded to a larger room at the expense of being on a floor under construction. We then had to argue to get a regular room on a floor that was finished (only 3 floors were not being redone). By being persistent we were able to get what we wanted.

| NC Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hotel needs new staff!

Would not recommend Fri, Mar 19, 2010
I had booked a room with double beds, but was given a single queen. When I went back down to the front desk, they reluctantly gave me a 2 double bed room. They were unfriendly and rude. The front desk staff needs to be trained for customer service. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The only complaint is that its noisy, we could hear the guy above us and the children beside us! Also the toilet kept on running. Despite the noise, it was the customer service that was a turn off.

| Toronto, On Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Gave away room ordered

Would not recommend Mon, Mar 8, 2010
room provided was not as ordered by our reservation. We were to have been provided a deluxe double with 2 double beds and instead was given a small room with vey sparse furniture ( a side chair served as a nightstand) and only one double bed. We checked in early AM and came back for the key in the evening. We were told hotel was sold out and this was all that was left for us. Hotel clerk said that when we book through [...] that we take our chances on what is left over.

| Chicago, Il Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great hotel, great location

Would recommend Wed, Feb 17, 2010
This was a great hotel! The rooms were spacious, the beds were big, and the hotel was very tidy. Loved the location too - Upper West Side is a great neighborhood for shopping and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Dining

The City Grill is DELICIOUS, especially for brunch.

| Washington, D.C. Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5