$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Suisun City, CA
Sep 12, 2009

One of Manhattan's Best

The hotel was close to Central Park and had easy access to the subway. We enjoyed walking across the street to the Museum of Natural History. There are several nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Across from the Museum of Natural History is a bus stop for a sightseeing tour which was a great way to see all of Manhattan. We had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around the area! You will find some wonderful restaurants of all kinds, such as Japanese, Mexican, Italian and American. Every day was a new adventure in dining and we enjoyed the scenery along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 9, 2009

Surprise birthday trip for my husband

The staff was helpful, hotel was quiet, great location with plenty of eateries close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, VA
Aug 27, 2009

This is a good, decent sized hotel.

The hotel is situated directly across the from the Museum of Natural History and you can use their parking. Be sure to get it validated by the hotel. The hotel suited our needs which was a place to lay our heads. We hardly stayed in our room because we were having lots of fun in Manhattan which was a quick subway ride. The subway is nearby. Very convenient. The tour bus was nearby too. Breakfast and lunch was all within 1 block. There is no kitchen in the hotel. I got this hotel for the low price and away from all the city noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling girlz
Business
Nanoose Bay British Columbia
Aug 19, 2009

Marvelous location for a Family

We were upgraded to a suite for our family of 4 which proved to make the stay in this hotel even better. The hotel is located across from the park that surrounds the Museum of Natural History so this was a wonderful view to take in every day. Left one-half block away is Central Park with a playground at its entrance as well as an easy walk to the MET and the rest of Museum row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To Starbucks for a variety of coffees to begin our day.Columbus street had some lovely lunch and dinner places not too much for breakfast though except for weekend brunches. Amsterdam street should be explored although we didn't do that regretfully.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling girlz
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 19, 2009

Great for all age ranges!

We were upgraded to a 1-bedroom suite which was very helpful with two children and two adults! This is a very kid-friendly neighbourhood; close to Central Park (lots of play areas) and across the street from the Museum of Natural History; subway station is a block away and we walked through the park -- played in Belvadere Castle -- to get to The Met Museum of Art. Never did find a good cheap breakfast place close by; this hotel would be perfect if it had a good, cheap breakfast. Cab rides are under well under $10 from Times Square/MoMA/5th Ave shopping and Lincoln Center is a long but doable walk away. We were walking in this neighbourhood quite late at night and felt very safe. Room was great; quiet with windows closed and air-conditioning worked like a dream (and was programmable!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Aug 10, 2009

excelsior hotel

quite neighborhood, near the B

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon J.
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 10, 2009

New York Excellence

This hotel was excellent. The staff greeted us with ope arms and really took care of us. They had no problem taking pictures of us and everything. The decor of the lobby was gorgeous. The rooms were great as well. The view wasn't too great but they have a city view and a view of Central Park. We were facing apartments and houses in the back. It's a great experience. The rooms were clean and they straightened up the rooms well. Nothing was out of place. The bathrooms were very clean as well. As far as the location, Central Park is right in front of you. None of the cab rides were expensive. It's in a great location near just about everything. There are plenty of restaurants and diners in the area. Rockefeller Plaza wasn't far at all. Central Park Zoo is pretty small but is nearby and is a great quick spot to visit. PLEASE VISIT this spot!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Brooklyn Diner! Service was excellent. Plenty of great places everywhere around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Aug 5, 2009

First Trip to NYC!

Hotel is in a great location between Central Park West and Columbus. Cental Park was just a block away and is a beautiful park...better than a botanical garden and great waling paths! Location is a wonderful upper westside neighborhood with great restaurants and brownstones. We had a queen bed with an extra sitting area including a pull out couch so was a much bigger space than expected. Bath was small but very clean and quaint with all tile walls and nice touches amd great water pressure in the shower! Room did not have a view but after sightseeing all day did not matter! Staff was efficient but not that friendly...did not make you feel welcome or give you any details about the hotel or the neighborhood. Loved NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Patsi's for pizza, Isabella's for a great dinner, and the Shake Shack for awesome burgers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanne from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Excelsior Hotel and Area

I booked this hotel based solely on the previous reviews I had read and was not disappointed. A friend and I stayed here not really being familiar with the location and were pleasantly surprised to find it was located directly across the street from the Museum of Natural Science and close to Central Park. The room was small with two twin beds but was clean as was the bathroom. We were only there for one night but found the staff that we interacted with to be polite and helpful. We ate breakfast at EJs as another reviewer had recommended and were not disappointed! Would also recommend eating at Sarabeth's and Nonna's in the neighborhood. Overall we had a great time in NY and would recommend the Excelsior Hotel. We would stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were able to park for about 24 hours in the Museum of Natural History's underground parking garage for about $26 - you need to show your parking stub at the time of checkout to get a sticker but it saved us about $12! Well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trangers
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 30, 2009

family trip

Safe and clean enough. Noisy AC and broken elevator. OK with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top