$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanne from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Excelsior Hotel and Area

I booked this hotel based solely on the previous reviews I had read and was not disappointed. A friend and I stayed here not really being familiar with the location and were pleasantly surprised to find it was located directly across the street from the Museum of Natural Science and close to Central Park. The room was small with two twin beds but was clean as was the bathroom. We were only there for one night but found the staff that we interacted with to be polite and helpful. We ate breakfast at EJs as another reviewer had recommended and were not disappointed! Would also recommend eating at Sarabeth's and Nonna's in the neighborhood. Overall we had a great time in NY and would recommend the Excelsior Hotel. We would stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were able to park for about 24 hours in the Museum of Natural History's underground parking garage for about $26 - you need to show your parking stub at the time of checkout to get a sticker but it saved us about $12! Well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trangers
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 30, 2009

family trip

Safe and clean enough. Noisy AC and broken elevator. OK with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Pat
Business
Cumberland, R.I.
Jul 28, 2009

Great location away from the rush

Went for the New York City Triathlon and chose the hotel sight unseen. Original room had a problem with air conditioner. We were 4 people in the room and it was very uncomfortable. Took very long to finally move us to a room which out of the blue showed up. This was the only problem at this hotel. Rooms are very spacious and very clean. Doorman was very helpful with directions and suggestions on where to eat. I would stay here again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EJ's for breakfast was amazing. Lenny's for lunch was just wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 28, 2009

Excellent Service and Great Hotel

It was great. The doorman helped me find a spot so I did not pay for parking and the hotel let me check in an hour early to get ready for a wedding. The rooms were clean and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Grill is amazing. Just two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 25, 2009

Excellent location, clean, quiet

We had fast check in and check out, very clean rooms, safe location near subways, UWS restaurants and Central Park. Our room was on the 12th floor facing Margaret Mead Park behind The Natural History Museum, which had a nice view of the city. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in NYC. We had a twin room, which was small but still bigger than many others I've had in NYC. My only small problem was that the young hotel clerks did not know a lot about how the subway schedule or about NYC in general; otherwise, they were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2009

Great Neighborhood Hotel

Great location; Close enough to everything you want to do in New York - but also get to enjoy the great stuff of a great neighborhood - great restaurants and shopping near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte ,NC
Jul 22, 2009

Great Location! Great Price!

Great area!! Easy access to everything! Take a left out of the hotel and subway is on the corner. Restaurant in Hotel was great.We took a cruise with Harbor Cruise Line out of Battery Park $39 for 5 of us, great view of Skyline and Statue of Liberty.Hotel upgraded our room for us no additional charge. Room was very clean, beds very comfy,bathroom very clean & towels soft.I am very picky about where I stay (It MUST be clean).I was very much satisfied with our stay at this Hotel and would definitely stay again ; )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time nyc hotel stay
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 20, 2009

great location

Pleasant staff at front desk and beautiful lobby. They upgraded us to a suite from 2 doubles. Only regret was for the third person in our group who had to sleep on the uncomfortable sofa bed. Room was very clean. The shower pressure was amazing although the shower curtains flew around. Could not ask for a better location. Lots of restaurants and shops around and our room overlooked the park. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of high end markets around to make a nice picnic basket and just sit in central park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luving NYC
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 19, 2009

Best Value in the city!

Staff was professional and accommodating. Rooms are not fancy - 19 inch TV, limited channels - but nice, clean room and very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Jul 18, 2009

Wonderful New York Hotel

there for a brief visit. Hotel is perfect, staff very helpful and accommodating. Quiet. Easy access to public transit. A great restaurant, Eighty-one, is attached, though independent, accessible through the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eighty-one... actually attached rather than in-hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top