$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Periodic New York visitor
Business
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

Outstanding hotel, reasonable price

Very nice hotel in an excellent location on the Upper West Side, away from the crowds of Midtown, but only a few subway stops or a short bus ride away. Restaurants and shops on Columbus, Amsterdam and Broadway are numerous and uniformly very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Cuban and Dominican food is available at Cafe Con Leche, about two blocks from the hotel. And, of course, Zabar's is only about one block further, on Broadway and 80th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AUNT NANCY & MAMA JUNE
Business
TEXAS
Nov 21, 2009

A NICE QUIET PLACE TO STAY

THE EXCELSIOR IS IN A NICE NEIGHBORHOOD LOCATION AND IS QUIET AND RESTFUL. THE SUBWAY IS RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER OR YOU CAN CATCH THE BUS JUST DOWN THE BLOCK. THE VIEW OF THE PARK WAS LOVELY. THE STAFF WERE ALL BUSINESS AND DID NOT LAUGH AND JOKE LIKE WE DID BUT WE WERE NOT OFFENDED BY THAT - WE JUST THOUGHT IT ODD THAT THEY DIDN'T RESPOND TO ANYTHING FUNNY. THERE IS A RESTAURANT IN THE HOTEL BUT WE LIKED TO GO DOWNTOWN TO MINGLE WITH THE NEW YORK CROWDS. WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH THE HOTEL AND WOULD GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 9, 2009

Lovely Upper West Side Delight

I was visiting my daughter at College. I was a bit familiar with midtown, but found this hotel and thought I'd try the Upper West Side. What a wonderful experience. I had my 70 y/o Mother with me and she was in heaven. We had a suite for the same price as a room anywhere else. The staff was dear and we loved the area. You could get anywhere because the subway was less than a block away. Natural Histoy museum was a few steps away and we had a great afternoon there listening to my daughter show off all she has been learning in school!! There is an adorable park accross the street and the people we met were the nicest I have ever encountered travelling. The Excelsior is a fantastic option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the fabulous vegan and regular fare at Josie's at Amsterdam and 74th. Great drinks and my sister the food writer loved it. Citron Bistro has awesome Mussels and turf. Subway less than a block away--but you may not want to leave the neighborhood. The hotel's restaraunt Eighty-One was low key and delicious. All whom we met in the area were just the best!Starbucks less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Bait and Switch

I don't know what the bell-hop was for, between two people we had 4 suitcases all the bell-hop did was put our luggage on a luggage dolly inside the hotel and left, we had to take the rest to our room. When my husband and I got to our room there were 2 double beds instead of the queen bed I thought I was paying for. When I called the front desk she said when reserving a room from anywhere but at the hotel the bed type is merely just a suggestion and that all the other queen beds were taken. The heater worked too well in our room, in that it would not shut off and was incredibly loud. Also the cable was spliced between hotel rooms so most channels were very fuzzy that is if they came in at all. The second day we stayed there my husband took a very cold shower because they seemed to have run out of hot water that morning. The hotel was the worst part of the trip thankfully we spent little time there. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was within walking distance of everything without having to be in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Nov 8, 2009

Our favorite NY hotel

Because we love Central Park and the UWS, the location is perfect for us. Subway stops and good restaurants are close by, but it's a quiet and classy area. We like to walk, so the location is not too far north for us to walk to the theater, although perhaps not many would want to do that. Our room was not large, but so cozy and comfortable, with a great view of Theodore Roosevelt Park; we loved coming home to it at night. The room and bathroom (great shower, comfortable beds) are beautifully decorated--and spotlessly maintained. The guy at check-in wasn't too friendly, but everyone else was. We visit NYC every year and have stayed in many hotels which were fine, but this was our favorite and we hope to stay there on our next trips to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We love to eat at the Central Park Boathouse. If it's crowded and you can't get into the dining room, order food at the counter in the room to the right of the bar and sit in back of the regular dining room. The roast beef sandwich and fries are very good, and you still get that great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Nov 2, 2009

Great location

Really would have liked down pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel breakfast too expensive for a mere Continental Breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Oct 3, 2009

Beautiful hotel but not so friendly

Beautiful room, clean & comfortable. Across from small park and Museum of Nat History. Close to many museums & Central park. Nice neighborhood. Metro access was ok. Staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all. I expected better staff because of the location and appearance of the hotel. Got a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fandmom
Business
Edmond, OK
Sep 28, 2009

Would stay here again in a NY minute!

From the moment we arrived late Friday night and were upgraded to a suite (sweet!), I knew that the Excelsior was a hotel treasure. The staff recommendations for breakfasts and dinner very good. I even forgot my iPhone cord at the hotel and they're shipping it to me! The location is excellent. Quiet, but so close to everything. I'd stay here again - anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College BFF
Business
Arlington VA/Jupiter FL
Sep 22, 2009

Unbeatable price, location, service

Great location for seeing the Upper West side and for enjoying/exploring Central Park. Very convenient to public transportation and easy walk to Columbus Circle and Times Square. great neighborhood restaurants and incredibly quiet at night, very different from Hell's Kitchen/Broadway/Mid town hotels. Room was exquisitely outfitted, service was exception. Will definitely stay here again on future visits and will recommend to friends/family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 20, 2009

it was lovely! We were delighted

I'm not sure what the original room would have been because we were given a complimentary upgrade to the most elegant NYC room we'd ever seen--two huge rooms! Large living room with hide-a-bed and huge bed room. The bed was not the best we'd ever slept on but it was certainly good enough and the location, mostly the charm of an older but perfectly kept up and immaculate hotel with a nice enough restaurant (the breakfast is overpriced but there are so many others near by that it matters not at all) were just too wonderful to be true in NYC for such a reasonable price. It was wonderful!! one of the highlights of our son's wedding weekend! Incredibly comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

really neither short nor long, just a walk in NYC--marvelous restaurants of all sorts. some fabulous breakfast places, tiny bakery/cafe that was wonderful, on Amsterdam between 81st and 103rd. there are others closer too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top