$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb03
Business
Lake Monticello, VA
Feb 9, 2010

Might be the best value in Manhattan

It would be hard to find a more charming hotel at the price of the Excelsior. The staff is helpful and courteous. Our room was larger than we'd had elsewhere in the city at this price, well appointed and spotless. A great location -- near Central Park, so it's a short walk to the East Side. For meals, the hotel serves continental breakfast in a lovely setting, the elegant Cafe 81 is next door, and there different types of restaurants within easy reach. Nearby bus and subway lines get you around the city with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can walk to the Metropolitan Musuem of Art, Guggenheim and Museum of Natural History. It's a short bus ride down Columbus Ave. to Lincoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jan 27, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

It was very clean and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasant walk to good quality restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 11, 2010

Great location!

We were in NYC to take in several museum exhibits. All we had to do to get to the MET was walk across Central Park. The AMNH was a block away. The 81st street subway stop was one block away. For our objectives, this was a great location. The restaurant in the hotel is very good (excellent service and food -- a bit pricey , however) , but, within a few blocks on both Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues there are plenty of other good places. We breakfasted at Sarabeth's. We dined at Kefi. Good spots. Our room, obviously in keeping with our bargain price was small but fine. It was clean, the bed excellent. The bathroom was attractive (nice tiles) and clean. The one aspect of the room that might concern some is the heat control. The room was warm and when we cooled it , the heat pump would eventually recycle to warm again. Now, one wouldn't want the room to cool too much since only one thin blanket was provided. For us the room was warm enough that no extra blankets were needed, and not so warm that we were uncomfortable. We loved the view of the NYC skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We joined friends in the East Village for dinner at a Brazilian restaurant, Esperanto. We loved the food. From the Excelsior all we had to do was walk one block to the 81st St subway station, take the A line to 14th street, the L to 1st Ave. and walk about 5 blocks. It was worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bethesda md
Jan 4, 2010

our stay at the excelsior

The street noise was pretty bad, especially the night of Jan. 1st when it sounded like a bus depot around midnight for over an hour. The shower was low quality. The location is the best thing about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fernandina Beach, FL
Jan 3, 2010

New Years

The location was nice. The staff at the Hotel were very unfriendly. We had to change rooms four times because they messed they room up each time and didnt take the time to listen to our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jan 2, 2010

Good location, only acceptable otherwise

The Pros? This hotel is in a great location, and that is the best thing that can be said about it. It's close to a subway stop, right across the street from the American Museum of Natural History, and less than a block from Central Park. The Cons? When we arrived, it was apparent that someone had taken a smoke break in our bathroom. Housekeeping did immediately change the stinky towels, but the smell never completely went away. The windows were so flimsy we could see the mini-blinds moving when the wind blew! The bathroom was tiny. The breakfast was $12, even if all you ate was a bowl of cereal. Still $12. The temperature was hard to regulate - it was either too hot or too cold. You had to pay extra for your internet connection. There are better choices in the neighborhood- The Beacon or the Lucerne, if you can get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't care for crowds or horribly congested traffic, don't go the last week in December for New Years! Too many people!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
salt lake city, UT
Dec 30, 2009

nice hotel, convient, helpful bellmen

very polite desk staff, very helpful doormen, great location,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Dec 29, 2009

won't go there again

The two concierges were very friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 11, 2009

Great location, good value when I booked

Excellent location for museums and restaurants; close to several different subway lines. I was given a complimentary room upgrade to a junior suite, without asking and at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Museum of Natural History is right across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marina del Rey, California
Dec 5, 2009

First Class Everything!

Better than expected facilities. Central Park West; across from The Museum of Natural History. Very safe neighborhood. Friendly Staff. Very clean. The room was very large for a New York Hotel room. Highly recommended. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top