$278 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
LGBT
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

LGBT

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harried Mom
Family
Boston,MA
Jun 12, 2011

Great location

Our family had never been to NYC and we only stayed for an overnight to see our son perform in a show. We chose the Excelsior based on reviews and its location. Right off we had a bellman help us with luggage and an easy, efficient checkin. The front desk staff were very friendly. I was surprised at the size of our room - far more spacious than I anticipated. You walked in to a small living room with pull out love seat, a desk and chair, table and TV and decent sized closet that had plenty of hangers, 2 robes to use, and the promised umbrella (good thing because it was raining too!). There was also an airconditioner in the small window for this area. The bedroom was separated from the living area by french doors. We had 2 full size beds, 2 chairs, a good sized bureau, another TV and an airconditioner for this side as well. The bathroom was adequately sized with cleverly placed shelving and bars to hold all the essentials for myself, my husband and our 2 young children. Most important for me in a hotel bathroom - there was great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. We did not check out the 2nd floor entertainment area or have the hotel breakfast as we were on a tight schedule, so I can't comment on those. We parked across the street at the Natural History Museum for a decent price - make sure to get validation at the hotel. On Sunday morning, we were pleasantly surprised to see a Farmer's market going on down Columbus Ave, which was a fun way to walk around and get breakfast before having to leave. We will definitely come again and hope to check out the museum next time as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Santa Clara, CA
May 27, 2011

Great location

First time in New York city and it was a great experience. The Excelsior hotel was very good for us. Location was fantastic; next to Central Park, bus stops and subway. We used public transportation and we felt safe to walk late in the evening to our hotel. There are also good restaurants close by. Hotel staff was also helpful with directions and recommendations. We will use this hotel again and we highly recommend it. Hotel Amenities: we gave "4" stars because the hotel does not have restaurant, nor coffee in the room; it does offer water for a price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron @ 473 Columbus Ave. Great food at a good price; elegant and relaxing.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Columbia Travelers
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 27, 2011

great location

rooms small but well kept. Desk staff definitely not warm and fuzzy - rather cold and aloof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good boutique cafes nearby.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, Md
Mar 25, 2011

Stay at the Excelsior

Agian another successful stay. really enjoyed it at the hotel always clean and suits my purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady visitor
Single
Texas
Mar 24, 2011

Nice stay

Best hotel I have stayed in NY so far on a private trip. Nicely decorated and very clean. Well located near the metro Line B and not far from Line 1 stop on 79th. Easy to walk across Central Park to go to the Metropolitan Museum, the Neue Gallery and the Guggenheim. Many restaurants at walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice small Sushi restaurant at the corner on Colombus going North

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Decatur, IL
Mar 22, 2011

Great location, great weekend

Terrific location...Central Park & Natural History Museum a half-clock walk, shops & bistros start a half block west. Rooms are nice size for older NYC hotel. Maintenance responded immediately to minor complaint of loose showerhead. Our only wish is for in-room coffeepots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great breakfast, skip the hotel. Walk east a block to Amsterdam and north a few door to EJ's.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Miami, Fl
Mar 21, 2011

Nice Hotel Mean Service

The hotel was nice well decorated and decent sized, considering it is a NYC hotel. The price was right for what you get, but the service was terrible. I did not think hospitality would be of importance to me, but every single person was rude! No one was willing to help even when we asked for help it would not get done. ***Please Note: Do not leave chocolate in your room, housekeepers will eat it!!!! Bad Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pa.
Mar 16, 2011

Opera trip

One of four trips to the Met Opera. Room and hallways recently refurbrished. Room was small but well layed out and very clean.Location i is convenient for getting a cab and nice to walk around. One of the two hotels we stay at, never disappoints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia Loves to Travel
Friends
Long Island, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Best Hotel Experience Ever!

Besides being an avid traveller, I worked at a 5 star hotel when I was younger. My stay at the Excelsior Hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel was immaculate. The room was a piece of art and warm at the same time. The front staff and the bell staff gave 5 star treatment to us that even impressed ME! (I expect the highest customer service.) I have travelled all over the world as well as my sister and we both agreed that the Excelsior Hotel was the best hotel experience we ever had! We agreed that the next birthday bash we will stay in the city again at the Excelsior Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Feb 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay

I grew up in this neighborhood and have never understood what it was to stay in a hotel in my neighborhood. I felt as if I was at home again. very clean room great feel and the staff were great. Will always look for this stay the rate was fantastic also. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top