$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 7, 2010

Excelsior

Very nice hotel but room was tiny. Parking poor if no spots available on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ardee dad
Business
los angeles ca
Aug 23, 2010

awsome!

The location for a first time visitor to manhattan was perfect. I had my wife and kids with me so we ended up about 2 miles away from time square.. Far enough yet so close. I would do it again in a heart beat......Thank you[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 22, 2010

A great experience

We arrived early. The room (upgraded) was ready. The space was great. Shower was wonderful (good water pressure). Everything was clean. There was no view in our room, but I can go out to see the sights. The staff were great. The breakfast on the 2nd floor was lovely. They have a really helpful guide in the room to local places plus all the big attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The MOMA and Natural History Musem are really close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jul 19, 2010

Loved it.

Really enjoyed this hotel. Across the street from the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park. Perfect location for our family of 6. The rooms were nice sized, had nice details (like pretty tiles in the bathroom) and were well maintained. We got side by side rooms without having to ask. Lobby was really lovely. Concierge was very helpful storing bags and offering transportation advice. Breakfast was very pricey - so we ate elsewhere. Wish we had more time to explore Central Park and the upper west side where the hotel was. Easy to get around the city from this location. Easy access to the subway and easy taxi ride to the theatre district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of dining options nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Jul 17, 2010

Very relaxing and convenient

I went to NYC a year ago and stayed somewhere in lower Manhattan, that location is super-convenient but you can hear plenty of noises at night, I never had a good night's sleep during that trip, and this made me fear trips to NYC. So this time I read the reviews and chose Excelsior Hotel. I'm really happy about the decision. We stayed on the 15th floor (they have 16), and the windows face the small park across the street. You can still hear some faint distant noises at night (like a bus driving by), but definitely not loud enough to be disturbing. I had wonderful nights of sleep this time and really enjoyed my NYC trip, I'd definitely come back just for this reason. The location is convenient as well, the subway is just around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love NYC
Business
Prince George's County, MD
Jul 9, 2010

What a great place to stay

We were just in town for our daughter's performance at The Apollo ( she won). The hotel was everything we could of wanted. When we arrived there was a mix up about our reservation but the staff quickly went to work at accommodating our family. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite. The location of this hotel was so close to many shops and restaurants. The subway is near by too! The staff was very helpful from the front desk to the doormen and bellhops. I would definitely stay here again, great for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Shake Shack. Great food but there may be a line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCF
Business
NC
Mar 31, 2010

Excelsior review

Overall, good experience and we would go back due to the location and room size. Staff not very helpful and were often rude (I am from NYC, so know when this is over the line). When checking in, we were upgraded to a larger room at the expense of being on a floor under construction. We then had to argue to get a regular room on a floor that was finished (only 3 floors were not being redone). By being persistent we were able to get what we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, On
Mar 19, 2010

Hotel needs new staff!

I had booked a room with double beds, but was given a single queen. When I went back down to the front desk, they reluctantly gave me a 2 double bed room. They were unfriendly and rude. The front desk staff needs to be trained for customer service. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The only complaint is that its noisy, we could hear the guy above us and the children beside us! Also the toilet kept on running. Despite the noise, it was the customer service that was a turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JIR
Business
Chicago, Il
Mar 8, 2010

Gave away room ordered

room provided was not as ordered by our reservation. We were to have been provided a deluxe double with 2 double beds and instead was given a small room with vey sparse furniture ( a side chair served as a nightstand) and only one double bed. We checked in early AM and came back for the key in the evening. We were told hotel was sold out and this was all that was left for us. Hotel clerk said that when we book through [...] that we take our chances on what is left over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Feb 17, 2010

Great hotel, great location

This was a great hotel! The rooms were spacious, the beds were big, and the hotel was very tidy. Loved the location too - Upper West Side is a great neighborhood for shopping and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Grill is DELICIOUS, especially for brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top