$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 5, 2010

nice room, bad service

I went there with my mom. The room was nice and the location was great. They have some snobby staff that made me and mom very upset. They weren't really helpful. The price doesn't match with their service but only for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toledo ohio
Nov 5, 2010

Clean...great location..NO BEDBUGS

Went with grown daughter, had room with twin beds, room was extremely small, but exceptionally clean with no sign of bedbugs. Location right next to Museum of Natural History, prime location. Staff friendly and helpful and I had requested late check-in and it was no problem. Would definitely stay here again. The only complaint is that the room was extremely warm and I had no control over temperature as there was no individual thermostat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideally located..short walk to everything..lots of action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 5, 2010

nice room, bad service

I went there with my mom. The room was nice and the location was great. They have some snobby staff that made me and mom very upset. They weren't really helpful. The price doesn't match with their service but only for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Oct 24, 2010

Nice boutique hoter

The Hotel was conveniently located near Central Park and many very nice restaurants. The hotel had been remodeled and the room was comfortable and stylish. The staff was friendly and helpful especially with the restaurant recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scaletta's Italian Restaurant. A short walk from the Excelsior. I loved it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Oct 11, 2010

Good

Yeah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 25, 2010

Beautiful neighborhood!

Front desk service was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Citron is right around the corner. Wonderful service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
City n Country
Business
Myrtle beach, SC
Sep 25, 2010

one night stay

We really enjoyed our stay even if it was for only 1 nite, wish we could've stayed longer! we recieved an upgrade without even asking! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Look forward to going back and staying longer! THANK YOU!!! Only down side was Obama was in NYC and had the traffic and streets blocked off, but we managed! I wish next time he'd check with us!! LOL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the subway! there is an app for your cell phone "Hop Stop" give you great directions and it's a cool expierience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 7, 2010

Excelsior

Very nice hotel but room was tiny. Parking poor if no spots available on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ardee dad
Business
los angeles ca
Aug 23, 2010

awsome!

The location for a first time visitor to manhattan was perfect. I had my wife and kids with me so we ended up about 2 miles away from time square.. Far enough yet so close. I would do it again in a heart beat......Thank you[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 22, 2010

A great experience

We arrived early. The room (upgraded) was ready. The space was great. Shower was wonderful (good water pressure). Everything was clean. There was no view in our room, but I can go out to see the sights. The staff were great. The breakfast on the 2nd floor was lovely. They have a really helpful guide in the room to local places plus all the big attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The MOMA and Natural History Musem are really close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top