$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingHatter
Family
Orlando, FL
Dec 18, 2011

Upper West Side Charm

The Excelsior Hotel is located on W. 81st Street; directly across the street from the Hayden Planetrium (which is a part of the American Museum of National History) and is one-half block from Central Park. Both bus and subway transportation are conveniently located from mere steps to a few short blocks away and provide access to near everywhere in Manhattan. The area is filled with shops, boutiques, and wonderful restaurants of nearly every type of cuisine imaginable. Two of the most enjoyable restaurants are the Ocean Grill for seafood and Bellini for Italian fare. The Magnolia Bakery is within walking distance should one desire specialty cupcakes; and even closer to the hotel is Lalo's which offers an immense selection of desserts. Lalo's was featured in the movie "You've Got Mail." There are two coffee shops within a half block (Starbuck's, and World Coffee which I highly recommend as World is less expensive than Starbuck's and has sandwiches, salads, breakfast items, and pastries on the menu; not to mention the delicious coffee. Andy's deli is a half block away and is handy for freshly made sandwiches, and for purchasing snacks, soda's, and other food items to have on hand in the hotel room. The hotel was recently refurbished, so the decor looks fresh and new. The rooms are tastefully appointed and include comfortable pillow top beds and fluffy pillows. Bath towels and toiletries are plentiful and hot water flowed instantly from the shower and sink. The room has good thermostatic controls and there was always such a blast of hot air that I turned the heat off many times as the room was comfortable even in the middle of December. The staff could not have been more helpful. All of my requests were responded to immediately including sending maintainence to unstop a clogged toilet. A member of my family decided to stay with me at the hotel, so I inquired about upgrading my twin room to accommodate an additional person. They offered me a suite at no extra charge. The suite was wonderful and included spa robes. I was never charged for the few pages that I printed from the guest computer either. Check out was a breeze and my bill was correct. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I would not stay anywhere else. For those looking for ambiance and charm and a quieter setting than Mid-town Manhattan, this is the place to stay. The only drawbacks of the hotel is that the ice machines are located on the 1st, 3rd and 11th floors only, and the vending machines are only on the 1st floor next to the ice machine. The businness center for guests to access the computer is one computer in the area the size of a closet but the internet was fast. The hotel has a restaurant which offers Spanish cusine that is supposed to be quite good but in the mornings, a continental breakfast is offered for the price of $17.00. However, it is not an issue with the other eateries so close to the hotel. There are no mini refrigerators in the rooms (not even in the suite) but guests can request one for a cost of $10.00 per day or there-a-bouts. However, the wonderful staff and service, the comfortable and newly decorated rooms, and the convenient location are well worth over-looking a few minor details. The Excelsior is a rare find in Manhattan and I look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken W.
Couples
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Weekend in NYC

Clean, neat, tastefully decorated room. Old hotel, but with nicely redone modern decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimBob
Family
San Diego, CA
Sep 6, 2011

Excelsior Hotel on 81st

My daughter and I spent four nights at the Excelsior Hotel on 81st in New York. The staff was cordial, but not overwhelmingly so. The bar, which is run by an independent organization, was outstanding! The bartenders were friendly, talkative, and provided great service and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are restaurants, coffee houses and a farmer's market (on Sunday) within just a couple of blocks.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Jackonville, Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Great experience, great location

This is a very nice hotel in a great location, across the street from the Museum of Natural History. NIce quiet neighborhood, but only 1/2 block from the subway station. Many restaurants of all types and varieties just steps away. It has a great neighborhood feel, and perfect for walking and exploring. Central Park is 1 block away. A great little wine shop and a Starbucks within steps. My room had a separate sitting room as well, with a couch, desk and second TV. Very, very comfortable and friendly. I will certainly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great little family-owned restaurants in the neighborhood. Very friendly and comfortable neighborhood.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Juan P.R.
Aug 1, 2011

My New York vacations

The hotel have a privilege location. It's a pity that the people at the counter is not very friendly. The maintenance of the room is 6 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Museum of Natural History the first day of your visit. It will save you time later and you can come back for gift shopping.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
rochester, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Great location

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The beds were comfortable and the room was large. We loved being so close to friends and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston
Jul 20, 2011

NYC

Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rooftop bar 230 5th, Hurricane Club, Anja bar, Rose Earyth and Space Museum, Museum of Natural History, Central Park.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Carpinteria
Jul 19, 2011

Mom's on the loose

This was my first trip to NYC. I knew I wanted something centrally located in the heart of NYC and this was definitely it. The American Museum of History and a nice park was located right across the street and Central Park was a hop and a skip away. The subway was easy to get to and the Excelsior Hotel allowed us to check in 3 hours early which was awesome. The room was a bit small but we spent minimal time in it. It was clean and in the heart of NYC. We had two twins and would have needed more space with little ones. We did as much as we could in 4 days and were amazed by the amazing nightlife, culture, food, drinks,entertainment and of course shops that the city has to offer. We truly were able to take a trip to China Town/ Little Italy, Chelsea, see a broadway show, visit museums, Empire State Building, eat at all hours of the day/night, take a ferry boat and not drive once. My favorite thing was a free Shakespeare Production in Central Park which was amazing. This takes place every year for two months (June/July) at Central Park. All you need to do is wait in line and make sure you are there early with a great book and snacks. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, New York
Jun 24, 2011

A very good stay!

A great upper west side location----an older hotel that is well maintained---with a first rate professional staff. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harried Mom
Family
Boston,MA
Jun 12, 2011

Great location

Our family had never been to NYC and we only stayed for an overnight to see our son perform in a show. We chose the Excelsior based on reviews and its location. Right off we had a bellman help us with luggage and an easy, efficient checkin. The front desk staff were very friendly. I was surprised at the size of our room - far more spacious than I anticipated. You walked in to a small living room with pull out love seat, a desk and chair, table and TV and decent sized closet that had plenty of hangers, 2 robes to use, and the promised umbrella (good thing because it was raining too!). There was also an airconditioner in the small window for this area. The bedroom was separated from the living area by french doors. We had 2 full size beds, 2 chairs, a good sized bureau, another TV and an airconditioner for this side as well. The bathroom was adequately sized with cleverly placed shelving and bars to hold all the essentials for myself, my husband and our 2 young children. Most important for me in a hotel bathroom - there was great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. We did not check out the 2nd floor entertainment area or have the hotel breakfast as we were on a tight schedule, so I can't comment on those. We parked across the street at the Natural History Museum for a decent price - make sure to get validation at the hotel. On Sunday morning, we were pleasantly surprised to see a Farmer's market going on down Columbus Ave, which was a fun way to walk around and get breakfast before having to leave. We will definitely come again and hope to check out the museum next time as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top