$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
265 reviews
Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were... See full review

  • Linda Sasha Mom
  • Sep 15, 2014
Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very... See full review

  • JJ83
  • Aug 22, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 11, 2009

Great location, good value when I booked

Excellent location for museums and restaurants; close to several different subway lines. I was given a complimentary room upgrade to a junior suite, without asking and at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Museum of Natural History is right across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marina del Rey, California
Dec 5, 2009

First Class Everything!

Better than expected facilities. Central Park West; across from The Museum of Natural History. Very safe neighborhood. Friendly Staff. Very clean. The room was very large for a New York Hotel room. Highly recommended. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Periodic New York visitor
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

Outstanding hotel, reasonable price

Very nice hotel in an excellent location on the Upper West Side, away from the crowds of Midtown, but only a few subway stops or a short bus ride away. Restaurants and shops on Columbus, Amsterdam and Broadway are numerous and uniformly very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Cuban and Dominican food is available at Cafe Con Leche, about two blocks from the hotel. And, of course, Zabar's is only about one block further, on Broadway and 80th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AUNT NANCY & MAMA JUNE
TEXAS
Nov 21, 2009

A NICE QUIET PLACE TO STAY

THE EXCELSIOR IS IN A NICE NEIGHBORHOOD LOCATION AND IS QUIET AND RESTFUL. THE SUBWAY IS RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER OR YOU CAN CATCH THE BUS JUST DOWN THE BLOCK. THE VIEW OF THE PARK WAS LOVELY. THE STAFF WERE ALL BUSINESS AND DID NOT LAUGH AND JOKE LIKE WE DID BUT WE WERE NOT OFFENDED BY THAT - WE JUST THOUGHT IT ODD THAT THEY DIDN'T RESPOND TO ANYTHING FUNNY. THERE IS A RESTAURANT IN THE HOTEL BUT WE LIKED TO GO DOWNTOWN TO MINGLE WITH THE NEW YORK CROWDS. WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH THE HOTEL AND WOULD GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 9, 2009

Lovely Upper West Side Delight

I was visiting my daughter at College. I was a bit familiar with midtown, but found this hotel and thought I'd try the Upper West Side. What a wonderful experience. I had my 70 y/o Mother with me and she was in heaven. We had a suite for the same price as a room anywhere else. The staff was dear and we loved the area. You could get anywhere because the subway was less than a block away. Natural Histoy museum was a few steps away and we had a great afternoon there listening to my daughter show off all she has been learning in school!! There is an adorable park accross the street and the people we met were the nicest I have ever encountered travelling. The Excelsior is a fantastic option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the fabulous vegan and regular fare at Josie's at Amsterdam and 74th. Great drinks and my sister the food writer loved it. Citron Bistro has awesome Mussels and turf. Subway less than a block away--but you may not want to leave the neighborhood. The hotel's restaraunt Eighty-One was low key and delicious. All whom we met in the area were just the best!Starbucks less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Bait and Switch

I don't know what the bell-hop was for, between two people we had 4 suitcases all the bell-hop did was put our luggage on a luggage dolly inside the hotel and left, we had to take the rest to our room. When my husband and I got to our room there were 2 double beds instead of the queen bed I thought I was paying for. When I called the front desk she said when reserving a room from anywhere but at the hotel the bed type is merely just a suggestion and that all the other queen beds were taken. The heater worked too well in our room, in that it would not shut off and was incredibly loud. Also the cable was spliced between hotel rooms so most channels were very fuzzy that is if they came in at all. The second day we stayed there my husband took a very cold shower because they seemed to have run out of hot water that morning. The hotel was the worst part of the trip thankfully we spent little time there. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was within walking distance of everything without having to be in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Nov 8, 2009

Our favorite NY hotel

Because we love Central Park and the UWS, the location is perfect for us. Subway stops and good restaurants are close by, but it's a quiet and classy area. We like to walk, so the location is not too far north for us to walk to the theater, although perhaps not many would want to do that. Our room was not large, but so cozy and comfortable, with a great view of Theodore Roosevelt Park; we loved coming home to it at night. The room and bathroom (great shower, comfortable beds) are beautifully decorated--and spotlessly maintained. The guy at check-in wasn't too friendly, but everyone else was. We visit NYC every year and have stayed in many hotels which were fine, but this was our favorite and we hope to stay there on our next trips to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We love to eat at the Central Park Boathouse. If it's crowded and you can't get into the dining room, order food at the counter in the room to the right of the bar and sit in back of the regular dining room. The roast beef sandwich and fries are very good, and you still get that great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Nov 2, 2009

Great location

Really would have liked down pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel breakfast too expensive for a mere Continental Breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Oct 3, 2009

Beautiful hotel but not so friendly

Beautiful room, clean & comfortable. Across from small park and Museum of Nat History. Close to many museums & Central park. Nice neighborhood. Metro access was ok. Staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all. I expected better staff because of the location and appearance of the hotel. Got a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fandmom
Edmond, OK
Sep 28, 2009

Would stay here again in a NY minute!

From the moment we arrived late Friday night and were upgraded to a suite (sweet!), I knew that the Excelsior was a hotel treasure. The staff recommendations for breakfasts and dinner very good. I even forgot my iPhone cord at the hotel and they're shipping it to me! The location is excellent. Quiet, but so close to everything. I'd stay here again - anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search