$208 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Feb 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay

I grew up in this neighborhood and have never understood what it was to stay in a hotel in my neighborhood. I felt as if I was at home again. very clean room great feel and the staff were great. Will always look for this stay the rate was fantastic also. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marion, S. C.
Feb 16, 2011

Valentine's Trip

My wife and I spent several days around Valentine's day this year at the Excelsior Hotel. We had wanted to stay somewhere on the Upper West side of NYC for some time and we were completely satisfied with the Excelsior Hotel's accomodations, service from the Staff, and convenient location. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian restaurant was a wonderful experience. This family style restaurant is all about good food and fun. They do not accept reservations on the weekend. If you plan on going, please be hungry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Feb 14, 2011

Lovely hotel opposite Natl Hist Museum

I had a fabulous large queen-sized room with "living area," plus little balcony. Lots of light, quiet room. Nicely appointed, great location, one block from CPW and C train. Lots of restaurants nearby on Columbus and Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 14, 2011

a good choice

upper west side location is a bit out of the way for the business traveler but the neighbothood is nice. room was clean and the continental breakfast is nice. staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Jake
Business
Olive Branch, MS
Dec 20, 2010

New York

The hotel is in the Upper West Side of Manhattan right across the street from Central Park on W 81st Street and Columbus. The neighborhood had great shopping and restaurants all around. Only a 10-15 cab ride to Midtown/Times Square. Staff was friendly, courteous, and probably has the best concierge in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Nice Hotel

Nice Hotel and close to the subway and many places to eat. The West Side is the best place to stay in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VisitingFriends
Business
Woodside, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Good family location, good value

Clean, well-run, convenient and good value. This is not the Pierre, but it's not four figures a night either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't forget some of the Museums are open late (9pm) on Fridays (Metropolitan, Pierpont Morgan Library, etc.), and cocktails/evening viewing is a lovely way to start the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Dec 11, 2010

Great location Fine Hotel(some oddities)

Fine hotel, great spot, but there were a few oddities. They serve breakfast but no room service. The guy manning the breakfast station was wearing a t-shirt and did not look like he was affiliated with any hotel, much less that one. Great location and the room and cable were fine though. One final shout out to the guy who manned the front desk all weekend (Lynn, was his name), try not to be a jerk you're whole life. Get out of the service industry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History is across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 5, 2010

nice room, bad service

I went there with my mom. The room was nice and the location was great. They have some snobby staff that made me and mom very upset. They weren't really helpful. The price doesn't match with their service but only for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toledo ohio
Nov 5, 2010

Clean...great location..NO BEDBUGS

Went with grown daughter, had room with twin beds, room was extremely small, but exceptionally clean with no sign of bedbugs. Location right next to Museum of Natural History, prime location. Staff friendly and helpful and I had requested late check-in and it was no problem. Would definitely stay here again. The only complaint is that the room was extremely warm and I had no control over temperature as there was no individual thermostat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideally located..short walk to everything..lots of action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top