$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
amazing

I thoroughly enjoy the fact it was locatedd across the street for the Natural History Museum and... See full review

  • becky tennis
  • Dec 2, 2014
Always a terrific stay

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and come back every chance we get. See full review

  • Happy Bostonian
  • Nov 16, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
City n Country
Business
Myrtle beach, SC
Sep 25, 2010

one night stay

We really enjoyed our stay even if it was for only 1 nite, wish we could've stayed longer! we recieved an upgrade without even asking! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Look forward to going back and staying longer! THANK YOU!!! Only down side was Obama was in NYC and had the traffic and streets blocked off, but we managed! I wish next time he'd check with us!! LOL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the subway! there is an app for your cell phone "Hop Stop" give you great directions and it's a cool expierience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 7, 2010

Excelsior

Very nice hotel but room was tiny. Parking poor if no spots available on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ardee dad
Business
los angeles ca
Aug 23, 2010

awsome!

The location for a first time visitor to manhattan was perfect. I had my wife and kids with me so we ended up about 2 miles away from time square.. Far enough yet so close. I would do it again in a heart beat......Thank you[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 22, 2010

A great experience

We arrived early. The room (upgraded) was ready. The space was great. Shower was wonderful (good water pressure). Everything was clean. There was no view in our room, but I can go out to see the sights. The staff were great. The breakfast on the 2nd floor was lovely. They have a really helpful guide in the room to local places plus all the big attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The MOMA and Natural History Musem are really close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jul 19, 2010

Loved it.

Really enjoyed this hotel. Across the street from the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park. Perfect location for our family of 6. The rooms were nice sized, had nice details (like pretty tiles in the bathroom) and were well maintained. We got side by side rooms without having to ask. Lobby was really lovely. Concierge was very helpful storing bags and offering transportation advice. Breakfast was very pricey - so we ate elsewhere. Wish we had more time to explore Central Park and the upper west side where the hotel was. Easy to get around the city from this location. Easy access to the subway and easy taxi ride to the theatre district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of dining options nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Jul 17, 2010

Very relaxing and convenient

I went to NYC a year ago and stayed somewhere in lower Manhattan, that location is super-convenient but you can hear plenty of noises at night, I never had a good night's sleep during that trip, and this made me fear trips to NYC. So this time I read the reviews and chose Excelsior Hotel. I'm really happy about the decision. We stayed on the 15th floor (they have 16), and the windows face the small park across the street. You can still hear some faint distant noises at night (like a bus driving by), but definitely not loud enough to be disturbing. I had wonderful nights of sleep this time and really enjoyed my NYC trip, I'd definitely come back just for this reason. The location is convenient as well, the subway is just around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love NYC
Business
Prince George's County, MD
Jul 9, 2010

What a great place to stay

We were just in town for our daughter's performance at The Apollo ( she won). The hotel was everything we could of wanted. When we arrived there was a mix up about our reservation but the staff quickly went to work at accommodating our family. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite. The location of this hotel was so close to many shops and restaurants. The subway is near by too! The staff was very helpful from the front desk to the doormen and bellhops. I would definitely stay here again, great for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Shake Shack. Great food but there may be a line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCF
Business
NC
Mar 31, 2010

Excelsior review

Overall, good experience and we would go back due to the location and room size. Staff not very helpful and were often rude (I am from NYC, so know when this is over the line). When checking in, we were upgraded to a larger room at the expense of being on a floor under construction. We then had to argue to get a regular room on a floor that was finished (only 3 floors were not being redone). By being persistent we were able to get what we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, On
Mar 19, 2010

Hotel needs new staff!

I had booked a room with double beds, but was given a single queen. When I went back down to the front desk, they reluctantly gave me a 2 double bed room. They were unfriendly and rude. The front desk staff needs to be trained for customer service. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The only complaint is that its noisy, we could hear the guy above us and the children beside us! Also the toilet kept on running. Despite the noise, it was the customer service that was a turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JIR
Business
Chicago, Il
Mar 8, 2010

Gave away room ordered

room provided was not as ordered by our reservation. We were to have been provided a deluxe double with 2 double beds and instead was given a small room with vey sparse furniture ( a side chair served as a nightstand) and only one double bed. We checked in early AM and came back for the key in the evening. We were told hotel was sold out and this was all that was left for us. Hotel clerk said that when we book through [...] that we take our chances on what is left over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top