$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wills from Long Island
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 13, 2012

Business and Pleasure

While I only took this room so I would not have to stand in traffic from Long Island while I did several days of work in NYC, I took my wife so that she could enjoy the museums; MOMA, Natural History etc. and nights dining out. I was pleasantly surprised by a gracious staff, a nice clean modern spacious room, and a hotel Latin bar mixing great Mojitos and great Latin food. As far as access to Central Park, Museum of Metro Art, Museum of Natural History, you can't stay at a better place. It is located a half block from Central Park; across the street north of the Museum of Natural History, and directly across Central Park from Metropolitan Art Museum. The upper west side has a great array of restaurants and sidewalk cafe's. Better than staying in busy midtown and downtown. A short walk to Riverside Park on the Hudson for an evening walk. Stay here, you won't regret it for the money, which was not expensive for a Manhattan Hotel. I definately would return. For those driving, park across the street at the underground parking at the Natural History Museum, your parking is validated for half-price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking in the underground garage at the Museum of Natural History is easy, uncrowded, stress-free and super convienant. You self-park and have access to your car 6 AM to 1100 PM.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPBs Mom
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jul 8, 2012

Fantastic Location

The hotel is located in between Central Park West and Columbus ave. Lots of restaurants, shops, pharmacies and grocers. Central to all the activities we were wanting to do including museums, Central Park and a cab ride to Time Square. Great hotel for the location but there were no amenities. Breakfast was available for a fee as well as the refrigerator we needed in our room for insulin. Coffee in the room would have been nice. The front desk staff kept conversation to a minimum if they spoke at all. i would recommend the hotel for location and cleanliness but for the price it should have more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisCarlos
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Jun 22, 2012

25th anniversary couldn't have been nicer

We had one night in the Excelsior for a fun overnight in NYC to celebrate our anniversary and it couldn't have been cleaner and nicer. We were upgraded to a king suite from a classic queen and it made our stay very special. The only thing I would have preferred was a free breakfast or at least a discounted one. The breakfast listed for $17/person not including coffee. If it were $10-$12 including coffee, it would have made the morning perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindle
Business
Fircrest, WA
May 24, 2012

Great location to Central Park!

My mother, daughter (3year old) and I enjoyed this hotel greatly! The staff were friendly and helpful in navigating in the Big City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AstroKen
Business
Marshall, NC
May 24, 2012

Location was exemplary for my work trip.

The staff was very helpful since my flight arrived late at night and not all the train lines and subway lines were running. So, I had a very late check in. I was working at the American Museum of Natural History the following day and the location was perfect...out the door and across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food choices just west of the hotel.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
highschool friends
Business
north carolina
May 20, 2012

Loved the Excelsior

Having stayed previous visits at small apartment rentals, I was a bit nervous the Excelsior rooms would be too small and noise from the street and hallways would be a bother. Not so! My friend and I stayed 6 nights on the 15th floor in a room on the back side. There was some day time street noise even on the 15th floor and I suspect rooms facing 81 Street would be quite noisy. The room had two comfortable double beds (no bedbugs), a small closet with plenty of hangers and a surprisingly big well stocked bathroom. We never heard noise from the adjoining rooms or the hallway. The location on the C line and crosstown bus is ideal for getting to both the theatre district and museum mile. Highly recommend the Excelsior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WICmom
Business
Florida
May 16, 2012

graduation trip

Good location , near subway stops. One of few hotels wit 2 beds in a room. Clean, nice exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ilowe
Business
Ohio
May 7, 2012

Perfect to Explore Manhattan

The accommodations and location are perfect for exploring the city! The staff was helpful, and the free upgrade to a suite made our stay even better. While a view of the Hayden Planetarium would have been nice, the suite more than made up for the lack of view. This hotel has a fantastic modern with art deco ambiance, and is the perfect location for seeing and doing Manhattan! Just steps away from Central Park and the subway, it is nestled in a very nice, upscale residential neighborhood with good local eateries. Great place to come back to after a long day of battling the crowds! Loved that it was not in a tourist area, and got to feel like a local (almost)! Bathrooms are clean and nice, but sized for what you would expect in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
island view
Business
connecticut
Apr 23, 2012

very friendly and polite hotel employees//wonderful hotel

Rooms very comfortable...nice sitting room with French doors...comfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Roast Restaurant excellent food....good prices

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gordon m
Business
FL
Apr 16, 2012

So Much Noise

Couldn't sleep. Between the ice machine in the hallway & what sounded like the HVAC system, there was constant noise. Really, non-stop! Also you can't get heat unless the temp drops below 60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top