$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC2013
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Great Location

Great location near Central Park , Science museum and subway stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
island view
Business
connecticut
Apr 23, 2012

very friendly and polite hotel employees//wonderful hotel

Rooms very comfortable...nice sitting room with French doors...comfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Roast Restaurant excellent food....good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gordon m
Business
FL
Apr 16, 2012

So Much Noise

Couldn't sleep. Between the ice machine in the hallway & what sounded like the HVAC system, there was constant noise. Really, non-stop! Also you can't get heat unless the temp drops below 60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
West Philly Family
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Clean room, great location

Room was small, but in excellent shape, and the location--right across from the Amercian Natural History Museum and Central Park--can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get gourmet groceries at Zabar's--2 blocks to the west of the hotel--and have a picnic in the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redi
Business
Boston
Apr 10, 2012

OK

Faces the Museum of Natural History (though our room faced a brick wall). Lots of dark wood in lobby and elevator. Room was dated. Floors creaked loudly. Mattresses were soggy. No hot water first morning. Three-legged table with glasses on it toppled over when brushed - whose great idea was that? But room was clean, quiet and spacious (2 full beds), bathroom was brightly tiled, towels were plush and new. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Chick
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 3, 2012

loved this hotel

wonderful location; nice room with excellent lighting (often found lighting to be poor in many other hotels so I wanted to comment on the excellent lighting); only negative were the towels in the bathroom which had a very rough texture --- I really did not like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Josie's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miamisgypsy
Business
Miami, Fl.
Apr 3, 2012

Mediocre at Best

Unfortunately I had high expectations for this hotel. Considering its on the upper west side, and that I was paying good money I wasn't the least bit impressed. There were no amenities whatsoever. Not a even a coffee pot in the room, much less room service. The people at the front desk weren't professional nor was the cleaning service up to par. Needless to say I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and wish I would've stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindas
Business
Chico, CA
Apr 2, 2012

Perfect location

This hotel was great, the only disappointment was not being able to use the "library with the chess board" in the photo as it was also the breakfast room and was closed at 11:00 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop for Crosstown bus right across the street, and the Starbucks was across the corner street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephenscott22
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Perfect Location!

This hotel is in the perfect area. What I loved is that it was outside all of the tourist stuff. The hotel is on a block with only apartment buildings (nice ones). The area was very much a neighborhood with lots of people walking dogs, which I love. I ended up eating a lot of my meals in the area at really great local restaurants (some really great vegetarian places are very close by). There's also a subway stop on the block and the C train basically gets you almost anywhere you want to go with little to no train changes. It was pretty much a 20 minutes ride to almost anywhere I wanted to go. I went all over the city and had quite a few events to attend and I loved where I stayed. It was also super quiet. Room was nice and clean. Staff was average. They did their job. Not super friendly, but hey it's New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are vegetarian check out Mana and Cafe Blossom. Fred's was also fantastic for brunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XwordMan
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 19, 2012

Great NYC weekend

The hotel is half a block from a subway stop. And it is right by Central Park and an area loaded with restaurants, etc. The room was not huge, but it was bigger than some NYC hotels we've stayed at, and it was big enough. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was very clean, and the bathroom was nice. What's not to like (although Internet was $10 for 24 hrs.)? I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a place on the Upper West Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam Ave., west of where the hotel is. Lots to chose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC frequent traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great value

Excellent location near park and museum. Very good price. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top