$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sistermagic
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 11, 2012

Great Location and Comfort

Perfectly located for visiting Museum of Natural History or the Metropolitan (easy crosstown bus). Also near many restaurants. Room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Hotel now has a restaurant on the ground floor and offers breakfast (not free) so you don't need to go out if you don't want to. We were visiting family and this is a nice residential area. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kefi - a Greek restaurant

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art fanatic
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 21, 2012

Nice quiet location

It was convenient location to go many museums due to near bus stop & subway. And, It was close to many restaurant & food market. It was quiet near Central Park & Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus & subway

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M's fan
Business
seattle
Oct 1, 2012

4 nights in nyc

We have stayed here in the past and # 1 consideration is the location. the rooms can be cozy but always clean and working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Always ask for assisstance from anyone on the street they are always friendly and helpful

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
Business
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shim
Business
Ithaca, NY, USA
Sep 8, 2012

good value, if only they did not ask $3.50 for 30min wifi

Stayed one night. Got an upgrade to a small suite, which is very big for a couple. Great location, convenient to the subway and some excellent eateries on Upper West Side. They should offer free wifi — for such a fancy hotel, it's a shame to stoop to charging by the hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A Shake Shack and an excellent deli (Barney Greengrass) are both only a short walk away.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalifornian
Business
Pleasanton
Aug 9, 2012

Exceeded expectations

Great location adjacent Cental Park, Museum and train. Staff extremely helpful. Room was clean. Zero issues, 100% recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockeydad900
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 30, 2012

Great NY location

The Excelsior is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. It has a restaurant and a nice fitness center. it is on 81st street in Manhattan, right across from the Museum of Natural History and the Rose Planetarium. It is steps from Columbus Avenue one way and half a block to Central Park West (and a subway stop) the other. It does not have much in the way of business services but is perfect for a personal visit or vacation travel to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geat Dad
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 26, 2012

Great choice for vacation.

The hotel was clean, the rooms are comfortable, ande the staff very kind. We have a very good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BuckDA
Business
Wadsworth, Ohio
Jul 23, 2012

Excelsior Hotel Great!!

This is the second time I have stayed at the Excelsior, and it is always the best. On this visit, I have two rooms, same floor. The location is fantastic, away from all of the noise of downtown, and close to many inexpensive delis and fine places to dine. Also, the subway is right on the corner. Service is also great, as they kindly printed off my boarding passes for the flight home, and gave us numerous directions to various things. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top