$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommomgolf
Family
Midland, MI
May 23, 2013

Excelsior Hotel, NYC

Nice place. Our room with one queen was small, but nice, comfortable feel. On the 3rd floor we heard noise from outside - barking dog, people talking loudly, but it was fine at night. Clean, nice bathroom with a fan and good quality soaps. The room was cleaned daily, to our satisfaction and the staff was friendly. The entrance & lobby have a more European feel - old, cozy. Great location - down the street from Central Park and across the street from Natural History Museum. I'd stay there again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go right out of the hotel to the corner of Columbus. Turn right on Columbus and walk for 7 or 8 blocks to find all kinds of bistro-style restaurants. Great Italian places, Organic & Vegan, Parisian bakeries with beautiful breakfast pastries and coffee.. Joe's coffee was very good, plus a couple of Starbucks along the way. If you like to do yoga, the studio on 85th, just off Columbus was outstanding (Upper West Side Yoga, I think was the name)

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wis visitor
Family
wisconsin
May 13, 2013

nice place to stay

good location-reasonable size rooms-quiet-near central park and the B/C subway lines. very good value for NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davis 11
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Apr 27, 2013

Married couple getaway

Fantastic I would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew going to NYC, perfect location close to subway stops, many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Was our second stay at the Excelsior and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

comfortable shores

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtPol
Couples
UK
Apr 23, 2013

City Break

Hotel is ideally placed for access to subway to/from JFK , downtown Manhattan and 2 mins to Central Park. Close to excellent selection of restaurants and Natural History Museum. Staff were very helpful and room was pleasant. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Family
Nova Scotia, Canada
Apr 7, 2013

Delighted! ~ Central Park Classic ~ Will Return

Loved this place. Certainly the nicest hotel for mid-$250 range you could find in the heart of Manhattan. It is a classic hotel, with white-tiled bathrooms (immaculate!), plush bedding, and north or south views over the skyline. We were surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which we had for three nights, and were totally delighted with. (The separate sitting room meant that we parents could watch a movie and look at the lights of the city after the kids went to bed.) The hotel faces the American Museum of Natural History, across 81st Street, so it's an ideal spot for a family with kids. You're more or less in Central Park, a short walk to Belvedere Castle, the Boathouse, playgrounds, etc. We found the staff to be extremely nice, and very friendly and helpful. I'm actually a New Yorker, but moved out of the city several years ago . . . I've bounced around various hotels over the years, when visiting family. I also like the Hotel Wales, on the opposite side of the park -- but that one and the Excelsior are the two hotels I'd actually make a point to return to. Note: no pool, no room service -- but with all the zillion cafes and restaurants at your footsteps on Columbus Avenue, who really cares?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Families: The Excelsior is on Central Park, a thirty-seconds' walk from the dinosaur halls of the American Museum of Natural History (and the delights of Cental Park). The subway is also steps from the hotel door. (Not sure why any family would instead choose a Times Square hotel. Having to drag kids thru Times Square is basically a drag.)

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thutchinson
Business
Burnsville, Minnesota
Mar 26, 2013

Too hot to handle

The location of this hotel was great. We had easy access to the subway and had no problem finding a cab for other trips. There was something wrong with the temperature control in our room. Upon arriving and finding the room to be hot, we turned the thermostat to cool and set it at 60 degrees. Initially, cool air started to kick out of the system, but within 10 minutes, it flipped over to hot air and immediately heated the room up to miserable temperatures. We ended up sleeping with the windows open both nights. The temperature outside was in the high 20s, which made the room almost comfortable enough to sleep in. Almost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC2013
Family
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Great Location

Great location near Central Park , Science museum and subway stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upstate Bill
Couples
Upstate NY
Jan 3, 2013

Good hotel, excellent value

We return to the Excelsior each year for our annual holiday visit to NYC. It's a great location in a nice residential district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway station is just down the street so access to the rest of the city is easy.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vespidae
Cape Cod
Dec 11, 2012

Nice hotel with too much heat.

This old hotel has been nicely renovated and updated. Aging double-glazed windows were hard to move and sticky. Climate control within the room was difficult, so room remained overly warm. Corridors were overheated. One elevator failed during our stay. Lobby was lively with the busy restaurant. Breakfast room was spacious, nicely furnished and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
Couples
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Back to menu Return to top