$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
426 reviews
Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the... See full review

  • bvdrummer
  • May 31, 2014
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 21, 2008

great location

This was a very good New York experience. Great location. Will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Houls
Santa Rosa Beach, Fl
Oct 30, 2013

Upper West Side

Upgraded to a beautiful suite. Nice business center with complimentary boarding pass printing. Pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2008

Pleasantly surprised. Excellent

The Excelsior Hotel is particularly convenient for me because I have relatives on the upper west side. But more important, the location, parking facilities, size of room, and wireless Internet service were far better than I would have expected in New York City. For New York it is also relatively quiet and very convenient to get any place in the City or the neighboring states. The in house breakfast was more than ample and a little expensive, but outside the prices were simlar so I guess they were not out of line. The parking at the American Museum of Natural History was a unique attraction and very valuable and a good value for the money in NYC. Next time I come to NYC, I will try to stay there again. The doormen were mostly helpful with regard to local restaurants, etc. I will recommend the Excelsior to all my friends who go to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Museum of Natural History is right across the street and is a must see in New York. The Excelsior is also convenient to cross city buses to the Metropolitan Museum for example or elsewhere on the East Side.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, FL
Jun 10, 2009

Unbeatable NYC hotel

We paid for a room with 2 double beds are were kindly upgraded to a suite. We were also permitted an early check in. The room was lovely and spotless. The beds were pillow-top. Adjustable A/C worked fine. We found the breakfast most enjoyable and worth the price. We walked across the street to the Museum of Natural History, walked a few blocks to the Manhattan Diner at 78th and Bway for excellent dinner and walked across the street into the park for a pedicab tour of Central Park. Great location and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a pedicab tour of Central Park instead of a horse carriage. Pedicabs take you directly to each site of interest, allow you to walk around each for 5 mins. and will take your group pictures. Compare prices, negotiate and seek the cyclist who will truly act as a tour guide. We loved it.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marion, S. C.
Feb 16, 2011

Valentine's Trip

My wife and I spent several days around Valentine's day this year at the Excelsior Hotel. We had wanted to stay somewhere on the Upper West side of NYC for some time and we were completely satisfied with the Excelsior Hotel's accomodations, service from the Staff, and convenient location. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian restaurant was a wonderful experience. This family style restaurant is all about good food and fun. They do not accept reservations on the weekend. If you plan on going, please be hungry!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon J.
Baltimore, MD
Aug 10, 2009

New York Excellence

This hotel was excellent. The staff greeted us with ope arms and really took care of us. They had no problem taking pictures of us and everything. The decor of the lobby was gorgeous. The rooms were great as well. The view wasn't too great but they have a city view and a view of Central Park. We were facing apartments and houses in the back. It's a great experience. The rooms were clean and they straightened up the rooms well. Nothing was out of place. The bathrooms were very clean as well. As far as the location, Central Park is right in front of you. None of the cab rides were expensive. It's in a great location near just about everything. There are plenty of restaurants and diners in the area. Rockefeller Plaza wasn't far at all. Central Park Zoo is pretty small but is nearby and is a great quick spot to visit. PLEASE VISIT this spot!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Brooklyn Diner! Service was excellent. Plenty of great places everywhere around the hotel

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill
Dec 30, 2008

family friendly

Generally a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it for families with kids due to the location if you can get an affordable rate. We went to NY for Christmas break with our two children. Our 2 double bed room was spacious. It was clean and tidy and the hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel is right across the street from the Museum of Natural History. We had never driven in NY so we decided to drive in instead of taking the train. With validation parking at the Museum parking across the street was less than $30 per 24h and very convienent esp hauling the kids and luggage. The location was fantastic, across from the Museum of Natural history, straight across central from the MET, a short walk from the puppet theater in central park, a block from central park and a play structure area, near food and around the corner from starbucks and a pizza joint. The only nits I have are very minor: 1-There was only two elevators and in the mornings when everyone was going out we had to wait a long time to get on. This was because we were on the 3rd floor so the elevator wouldn't stop at out floor going up just on the way down. So with a stroller and kids by the time it got back to us it was packed full. Most mornings we just walked down the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. Other times it was an issue at all just first thing in the morning. 2-In the room the snacks were in plain view on a tray on top of the mini bar fridge thing. Additionally the snacks were on sensors so if they were knocked over or taken off the sensor you would get charged( not a huge issue to settle with the front desk staff). Now imagine a 3 year old that was hungry while you were in the bathroom. Too easy for the kids to grab and go while you are not looking, esp the M&Ms. Just a nit, quite comical really. 3- the Movie selection was mostly adult movies. After a long day out we wished we could pick out a Cartoon movie and crash but there were no choices for the kids at all. I would have been nice to have some children movies on the menu. 4- The restraunt linked to the hotel was $$$$. Not an issue since you just walk out the door and a block over you can get pizza and 2 blocks over is Amsterdam with other restraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 28, 2008

My review of Excelsior Hotel

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. It's located a block away from Central Park, the Museum of Natural History,and a train station in the upper west side. The room was not your typical New York closet. There was an entry room with a roomy desk and sofa, which could be closed off from the sleeping area. The bathroom was spacious, my only complaint being the noisy shower. The air conditioner could have been more powerful and less noisy, and there wasn't much of a view, but for the price and quality of the room, this didn't seem like a big sacrifice. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lewistown
Oct 26, 2008

Great Tourist Location

Rooms are small but clean and quiet. Staff very helpful. Great location for a New York visit. Accross from Museum of Nat. History and Central Park; subway and bus stops on corne; lots of neighborhood restaurants; coffee shops and a deli on every corner. This was our first visit to New York and we were very pleased with the Excelsior

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park, Museum of Natural History, Met Museum of Art

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 11, 2008

Perfect Stay ... Lucked Out!

Very nice check-in person upgraded us to a suite ... which was gorgeous! Perfect location, close to dining, bars, subway, museum. Comfy beds. Lovely bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top