$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mass
Jun 16, 2009

was great

The hotel was great. The room was a double bed large and roomy, very clean. The beds were comfy the view from my room was great. The hotel was also right by Central Park..walk across the park and your right on 5th ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Their are plenty of restaruants right next to the hotel. The hotel also offered food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, New York
Jun 24, 2011

A very good stay!

A great upper west side location----an older hotel that is well maintained---with a first rate professional staff. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon,New York
Apr 26, 2009

Excelsior Hotel

Great location and quiet room. All but one staff member friendly and accomodating. If you like staying away from other hotels in nice area near park this is great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 22, 2009

Convenient, clean, fair price (for NYC)

Good small hotel in a convenient location near Central Park and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time nyc hotel stay
Business
las vegas, nv
Jul 20, 2009

great location

Pleasant staff at front desk and beautiful lobby. They upgraded us to a suite from 2 doubles. Only regret was for the third person in our group who had to sleep on the uncomfortable sofa bed. Room was very clean. The shower pressure was amazing although the shower curtains flew around. Could not ask for a better location. Lots of restaurants and shops around and our room overlooked the park. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of high end markets around to make a nice picnic basket and just sit in central park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love NYC
Business
Prince George's County, MD
Jul 9, 2010

What a great place to stay

We were just in town for our daughter's performance at The Apollo ( she won). The hotel was everything we could of wanted. When we arrived there was a mix up about our reservation but the staff quickly went to work at accommodating our family. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite. The location of this hotel was so close to many shops and restaurants. The subway is near by too! The staff was very helpful from the front desk to the doormen and bellhops. I would definitely stay here again, great for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Shake Shack. Great food but there may be a line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a value conscious traveler
Business
Boston, MA
May 10, 2009

Pleased with this choice

Not glitzy, but a positive lodging experience. Our room was larger than expected, the neighborhood is safe, close to museums and pleasant walking. The bathroom was modern and the amenities more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Gret Location

The location of this hotel was quiet and safe. Public transportation is close and the neighborhood was very easy to walk around. The hotel is clean and generally comfortable. While fairly efficient the staff could certainly be more friendly and helpful without the attitude. All in all I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum on Natural History is a cross the street and the subway which is on the next corner can take everywhere you'd ever want to go in one of America's greatest cities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, Md
Mar 25, 2011

Stay at the Excelsior

Agian another successful stay. really enjoyed it at the hotel always clean and suits my purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bexley
Jun 11, 2008

Good location

For the price its a good choice. I really like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right accross from the Museum of Natural History - great location. Easy cross town bus and subway access as well and easy to walk to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top