$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
425 reviews
Nice Hotel

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a cozy, comfortable hotel and the... See full review

  • bvdrummer
  • May 31, 2014
Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The... See full review

  • AmandaMong
  • Apr 8, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (425)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 425
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JIR
Chicago, Il
Mar 8, 2010

Gave away room ordered

room provided was not as ordered by our reservation. We were to have been provided a deluxe double with 2 double beds and instead was given a small room with vey sparse furniture ( a side chair served as a nightstand) and only one double bed. We checked in early AM and came back for the key in the evening. We were told hotel was sold out and this was all that was left for us. Hotel clerk said that when we book through [...] that we take our chances on what is left over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JIR
Chicago, Il
Mar 8, 2010

Gave away room ordered

room provided was not as ordered by our reservation. We were to have been provided a deluxe double with 2 double beds and instead was given a small room with vey sparse furniture ( a side chair served as a nightstand) and only one double bed. We checked in early AM and came back for the key in the evening. We were told hotel was sold out and this was all that was left for us. Hotel clerk said that when we book through [...] that we take our chances on what is left over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Floor
London, UK
Jan 13, 2012

Don't expect warmth at this hotel!

On arrival we were greeted by a sour faced receptionist (always a giveaway) and sent up to our room. It was not what we had requested and paid for. After a brief argument on the telephone, she had no option but to give us a room with a double bed. The first night was very cold with no heating. When i enquired, i was told that the boiler had broken but had now been repaired. We then experienced periods of no heating for days. Apparently there is a system that only allows you to have heating for 20mins max. When we asked about the heating the staff were extremly rude except for one gentleman who tried to help us. A very high price to pay for a hotel with no heating!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Bait and Switch

I don't know what the bell-hop was for, between two people we had 4 suitcases all the bell-hop did was put our luggage on a luggage dolly inside the hotel and left, we had to take the rest to our room. When my husband and I got to our room there were 2 double beds instead of the queen bed I thought I was paying for. When I called the front desk she said when reserving a room from anywhere but at the hotel the bed type is merely just a suggestion and that all the other queen beds were taken. The heater worked too well in our room, in that it would not shut off and was incredibly loud. Also the cable was spliced between hotel rooms so most channels were very fuzzy that is if they came in at all. The second day we stayed there my husband took a very cold shower because they seemed to have run out of hot water that morning. The hotel was the worst part of the trip thankfully we spent little time there. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was within walking distance of everything without having to be in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Bait and Switch

I don't know what the bell-hop was for, between two people we had 4 suitcases all the bell-hop did was put our luggage on a luggage dolly inside the hotel and left, we had to take the rest to our room. When my husband and I got to our room there were 2 double beds instead of the queen bed I thought I was paying for. When I called the front desk she said when reserving a room from anywhere but at the hotel the bed type is merely just a suggestion and that all the other queen beds were taken. The heater worked too well in our room, in that it would not shut off and was incredibly loud. Also the cable was spliced between hotel rooms so most channels were very fuzzy that is if they came in at all. The second day we stayed there my husband took a very cold shower because they seemed to have run out of hot water that morning. The hotel was the worst part of the trip thankfully we spent little time there. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was within walking distance of everything without having to be in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gordon m
FL
Apr 16, 2012

So Much Noise

Couldn't sleep. Between the ice machine in the hallway & what sounded like the HVAC system, there was constant noise. Really, non-stop! Also you can't get heat unless the temp drops below 60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fernandina Beach, FL
Jan 3, 2010

New Years

The location was nice. The staff at the Hotel were very unfriendly. We had to change rooms four times because they messed they room up each time and didnt take the time to listen to our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo
May 8, 2009

Your Auntie invites you to stay

The rooms are clean, but everything is really basic. It's a place to stay in a great location. And be sure to eat at the restaurant in the lobby of the hotel called "81", it's amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel ("81") is amazingly good.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo
May 8, 2009

Your Auntie invites you to stay

The rooms are clean, but everything is really basic. It's a place to stay in a great location. And be sure to eat at the restaurant in the lobby of the hotel called "81", it's amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel ("81") is amazingly good.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jan 11, 2010

Great location!

We were in NYC to take in several museum exhibits. All we had to do to get to the MET was walk across Central Park. The AMNH was a block away. The 81st street subway stop was one block away. For our objectives, this was a great location. The restaurant in the hotel is very good (excellent service and food -- a bit pricey , however) , but, within a few blocks on both Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues there are plenty of other good places. We breakfasted at Sarabeth's. We dined at Kefi. Good spots. Our room, obviously in keeping with our bargain price was small but fine. It was clean, the bed excellent. The bathroom was attractive (nice tiles) and clean. The one aspect of the room that might concern some is the heat control. The room was warm and when we cooled it , the heat pump would eventually recycle to warm again. Now, one wouldn't want the room to cool too much since only one thin blanket was provided. For us the room was warm enough that no extra blankets were needed, and not so warm that we were uncomfortable. We loved the view of the NYC skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We joined friends in the East Village for dinner at a Brazilian restaurant, Esperanto. We loved the food. From the Excelsior all we had to do was walk one block to the 81st St subway station, take the A line to 14th street, the L to 1st Ave. and walk about 5 blocks. It was worth it!

Back to menu Return to top