$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gabrielle's Mom
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 15, 2014

Nice Manhattan hotel

Location great--near Central Park, easy walk to restaurants in nice neighborhood. Under construction (updating) so some noise but that was OK. Carpeting near 2 chairs and chairs seats were damp and remained damp the entire time so with bare feet you were aware of the damp carpet. Staff was excellent--friendly and helpful and courteous. I would have liked a coffee maker and coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice restaurants with eating outside in nice neighborhood easy walk from hotel,

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Often in NY
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2014

Good location, solid hotel

The Excelsior is located right off central park, right near the Museum of Natural History. While I was at the hotel for business, most of the visitors were foreign and in town for sight seeing. Friendly staff, clean room and a very reasonable price made this a good pick. Second stay and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaineyJ
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Sep 1, 2014

Smiles are needed at the front desk

We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. The room was kept very clean. The front desk was a problem 75% of the time. I asked to get a receipt printed that I needed for our shuttle service and I was given minimal help in large part because they had no idea about how to use their computers. I asked for directions and it was like I was really stupid asking my questions. One of the front desk people were nice and helpful , but the rest just plain sucked. If it weren't for the front desk, I would stay there again if I got an upgrade to a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Werewoof
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 13, 2014

Great location...but...

Services limited needs more amenities. Bathroom shower head loose and came out like out of a garden hose. Toilet bowl VERY low and let me say...a challenge to use without getting my "personal bits" wet...ugh!!! Staff good. again, GREAT LOCATION across from Roosevelt Park, Museum of Natural History, blk from Cental park, close to great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Through Central Park to Metropolitan Museum and museum row.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Library Master
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2014

Stayed for Thanksgiving

If you want to see the Thanksgiving parade, this hotel is at a great location. O-- cancelled our reservation, which I found out when checking in. But, they accommodated our stay somehow. I am not sure if it is because of that or all the other rooms look similar, but the room was OK (not very clean, not very fancy...). A coffee shop is near the hotel, so no coffee at all at the hotel did not bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
korkyjoe
Business
uk
Jan 3, 2015

great location

Noisy due to location and poor double glazing. Room faced 81st street. Heating non existent at night due to noisy fans consequently making room very cold. Duvet and blanket very thin useless really! Rest of room facilities good and comfortable. Staff good at check in but pretty poor after that seemed disinterested and at times rude. Location is excellent head towards Amsterdam for plenty of decent bars and eateries. 79th street subway within a pleasent 10min walk much better service than the B line that serves the Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

St James. Gate bar 81st and Amsterdam best Guinness had during trip. Hotel recommended purely for location.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corey F.
Business
Chicago
Apr 6, 2015

Location

Good location and value for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ASTR
Business
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Great but not what expected

The hotel looks nice. It was clean. It was in construction but i didn't had problem with that. I was expecting more about the room. They gave me a small room. Otherwise the staff helped me with the subway and were nice. Also I found bottles of water in the room but they had price. It was for purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jessica j.
Business
N/A
Jul 22, 2015

Great area, ok hotel

Overall the hotel was really nice. The staff wasn't as generous as I felt they could have been. The room was clean but small. I had the 1 queen room. The hotel was in a really good location. The subway connection was nearby and easy access to taxi and buses

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eve B.
Business
N/A
Jul 17, 2015

Small Improvements needed

This is a unique and lovely hotel, with a great view of the Natural History Museum Park (and of dogs gamboling in its doggy park). But the staff were consistently rude and unhelpful--except for the chamber maid, who thought I should use the public toilet on the 2nd floor instead of the one in my room (which I happened to return to for that purpose while she was cleaning) because I might not be able to contain myself while the elevator came and delivered me to the 8th floor. I think she meant well. The front desk treats guests like a nuisance, flick off inquiries impatiently, and grudgingly do only the parts of the job they can't escape (check in/check out). There is quite a good restaurant and bar immediately accessible from the lobby, which is nice but it doesn't connect to the hotel except physically, so one can't put bills incurred there on one's room tab and there is no room service. The location is great, and very convenient the room was large for New York, the bed extremely comfortable, and there was an iron and a safe box in the room. HOWEVER, (and for me THE WORST) there was no coffee machine in the room--standard equipment these days, and a hardship here, since the breakfast room (only place where coffee was available) didn't open till 7am and closed mid-morning. It charged $2 for each cup of coffee, and told me that if I wanted a croissant with it, I'd have to pay $17 for the full breakfast (about 3 warmed dishes, and 3 kinds of bread, overpriced even for NY). So one has to get showered and dressed and head out to the nearest coffee shop, morning, noon and any time one wants coffee, tea or cocoa, and if one has a really early plane or early meeting, well tough. The bathroom was modern, clean and comfortable, with ample towels and great moisturizing lotion-- except for the antiquated shower head, which gave one the choice of spraying the whole bathroom or using 6 dribbles of water going almost straight down. It would be a small thing to change. Ditto the above. Oh, they've just put up scaffolding all up the front of the building. You might want to find out if it's still there....If it is, there are blinds on the widows which keep out all light. Re the next question: I really want to say Maybe or having explained all of the above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top