$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel US
Friends
Princeton no
Mar 24, 2014

Ordinary hotel in New York City

I chose this hotel primarily for the location as it is close to the Places in NYC that we planned to visit. This hotel did not have the amenities that are ordinari Ly provided by an average three star chain hotel ( no refrigerator, no coffee maker etc.) This hotel provided a breakfast ($17) per person . A breakfast of this average quality is provided free at a comparable chain hotel. This is not a problem though as there are great places to eat nearby. The room was comfortable, but not exactly clean. The window seals were dusty and there was a lot of dust under the table. The heating control did not work well, we had to turn the heat on and off as the room would get very warm very quickly. The good thing was that we were able to open the windows. TV channels were very limited as well which compares poorly to a typical three-start chain hotel, but this is not important. For people who are points or miles conscious: this hotel does not provide points or miles. Overall, I do not look forward to returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5piesfamily
Couples
Indianapolis
Mar 19, 2014

Nice quiet area.

It seems no NYC hotel offered coffee in thier lobby. Typical city surroundings. Next to Central Park. 30 minute walk to the MET. 2 miles to theatre district and within ai ute to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The place that does not take reservations sometimes is the best place to eat. Eat where the locals eat. It's NY.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redi
Family
Boston
Apr 10, 2012

OK

Faces the Museum of Natural History (though our room faced a brick wall). Lots of dark wood in lobby and elevator. Room was dated. Floors creaked loudly. Mattresses were soggy. No hot water first morning. Three-legged table with glasses on it toppled over when brushed - whose great idea was that? But room was clean, quiet and spacious (2 full beds), bathroom was brightly tiled, towels were plush and new. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art fanatic
Single
Nashville, TN
Oct 21, 2012

Nice quiet location

It was convenient location to go many museums due to near bus stop & subway. And, It was close to many restaurant & food market. It was quiet near Central Park & Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus & subway

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine Miss
Couples
Kennebunkport Maine
Nov 22, 2013

Great location

Great location. Cheap with the amenities such as having to pay extra for morning coffee, ridiculous price for WiFi. Front desk staff surly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of delicious eateries within walking distance. Great breakfast value alternatives.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Upstate NY and Hawaii
Jun 15, 2009

Great location for the price.

We spent most of our time at the Museum of Natural History which is why we picked this hotel. But it was also easy to travel by subway to other locations. The neighborhood had lots of great features for easy and budget meals on Columbus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the park and to Starbucks and to other uppper West side attractions.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 14, 2011

a good choice

upper west side location is a bit out of the way for the business traveler but the neighbothood is nice. room was clean and the continental breakfast is nice. staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Carpinteria
Jul 19, 2011

Mom's on the loose

This was my first trip to NYC. I knew I wanted something centrally located in the heart of NYC and this was definitely it. The American Museum of History and a nice park was located right across the street and Central Park was a hop and a skip away. The subway was easy to get to and the Excelsior Hotel allowed us to check in 3 hours early which was awesome. The room was a bit small but we spent minimal time in it. It was clean and in the heart of NYC. We had two twins and would have needed more space with little ones. We did as much as we could in 4 days and were amazed by the amazing nightlife, culture, food, drinks,entertainment and of course shops that the city has to offer. We truly were able to take a trip to China Town/ Little Italy, Chelsea, see a broadway show, visit museums, Empire State Building, eat at all hours of the day/night, take a ferry boat and not drive once. My favorite thing was a free Shakespeare Production in Central Park which was amazing. This takes place every year for two months (June/July) at Central Park. All you need to do is wait in line and make sure you are there early with a great book and snacks. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Jan 11, 2010

Great location!

We were in NYC to take in several museum exhibits. All we had to do to get to the MET was walk across Central Park. The AMNH was a block away. The 81st street subway stop was one block away. For our objectives, this was a great location. The restaurant in the hotel is very good (excellent service and food -- a bit pricey , however) , but, within a few blocks on both Columbus and Amsterdam Avenues there are plenty of other good places. We breakfasted at Sarabeth's. We dined at Kefi. Good spots. Our room, obviously in keeping with our bargain price was small but fine. It was clean, the bed excellent. The bathroom was attractive (nice tiles) and clean. The one aspect of the room that might concern some is the heat control. The room was warm and when we cooled it , the heat pump would eventually recycle to warm again. Now, one wouldn't want the room to cool too much since only one thin blanket was provided. For us the room was warm enough that no extra blankets were needed, and not so warm that we were uncomfortable. We loved the view of the NYC skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We joined friends in the East Village for dinner at a Brazilian restaurant, Esperanto. We loved the food. From the Excelsior all we had to do was walk one block to the 81st St subway station, take the A line to 14th street, the L to 1st Ave. and walk about 5 blocks. It was worth it!

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Columbia Travelers
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 27, 2011

great location

rooms small but well kept. Desk staff definitely not warm and fuzzy - rather cold and aloof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good boutique cafes nearby.

Back to menu Return to top