$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5piesfamily
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 19, 2014

Nice quiet area.

It seems no NYC hotel offered coffee in thier lobby. Typical city surroundings. Next to Central Park. 30 minute walk to the MET. 2 miles to theatre district and within ai ute to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The place that does not take reservations sometimes is the best place to eat. Eat where the locals eat. It's NY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Nov 2, 2009

Great location

Really would have liked down pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel breakfast too expensive for a mere Continental Breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 5, 2010

nice room, bad service

I went there with my mom. The room was nice and the location was great. They have some snobby staff that made me and mom very upset. They weren't really helpful. The price doesn't match with their service but only for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redi
Business
Boston
Apr 10, 2012

OK

Faces the Museum of Natural History (though our room faced a brick wall). Lots of dark wood in lobby and elevator. Room was dated. Floors creaked loudly. Mattresses were soggy. No hot water first morning. Three-legged table with glasses on it toppled over when brushed - whose great idea was that? But room was clean, quiet and spacious (2 full beds), bathroom was brightly tiled, towels were plush and new. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art fanatic
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 21, 2012

Nice quiet location

It was convenient location to go many museums due to near bus stop & subway. And, It was close to many restaurant & food market. It was quiet near Central Park & Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus & subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seattleite
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 21, 2013

Explored the city

We enjoyed the hotel. It had great restaurants we walked to, subway line and Central park at end of block. It was in a quieter neighborhood away from the crazy continual sounds of the city. It could have been better if there was a small refrigerator & coffee in the room. I would definiately, stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarabeth Restaurant had yummy breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine Miss
Business
Kennebunkport Maine
Nov 22, 2013

Great location

Great location. Cheap with the amenities such as having to pay extra for morning coffee, ridiculous price for WiFi. Front desk staff surly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of delicious eateries within walking distance. Great breakfast value alternatives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY and Hawaii
Jun 15, 2009

Great location for the price.

We spent most of our time at the Museum of Natural History which is why we picked this hotel. But it was also easy to travel by subway to other locations. The neighborhood had lots of great features for easy and budget meals on Columbus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the park and to Starbucks and to other uppper West side attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 14, 2011

a good choice

upper west side location is a bit out of the way for the business traveler but the neighbothood is nice. room was clean and the continental breakfast is nice. staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carpinteria
Jul 19, 2011

Mom's on the loose

This was my first trip to NYC. I knew I wanted something centrally located in the heart of NYC and this was definitely it. The American Museum of History and a nice park was located right across the street and Central Park was a hop and a skip away. The subway was easy to get to and the Excelsior Hotel allowed us to check in 3 hours early which was awesome. The room was a bit small but we spent minimal time in it. It was clean and in the heart of NYC. We had two twins and would have needed more space with little ones. We did as much as we could in 4 days and were amazed by the amazing nightlife, culture, food, drinks,entertainment and of course shops that the city has to offer. We truly were able to take a trip to China Town/ Little Italy, Chelsea, see a broadway show, visit museums, Empire State Building, eat at all hours of the day/night, take a ferry boat and not drive once. My favorite thing was a free Shakespeare Production in Central Park which was amazing. This takes place every year for two months (June/July) at Central Park. All you need to do is wait in line and make sure you are there early with a great book and snacks. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top