$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
265 reviews
Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were... See full review

  • Linda Sasha Mom
  • Sep 15, 2014
Amazing Hotel in Great Location

The hotel was great and in the perfect location, central to everything I was doing in NYC. Very... See full review

  • JJ83
  • Aug 22, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2007

great value and comfort

The Excelsior was very comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the location was terrific. The room and the bathroom were huge! We were staying for the US Open and the proximity to the Metro was perfect. Lots of area boutiques and shopping as well as good restaurants. Neighborhood was a quiet, family friendly area with a museum across the street. I would pick this neighborhood over Times Square or other populated areas in a heartbeat...less noise for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Jul 17, 2010

Very relaxing and convenient

I went to NYC a year ago and stayed somewhere in lower Manhattan, that location is super-convenient but you can hear plenty of noises at night, I never had a good night's sleep during that trip, and this made me fear trips to NYC. So this time I read the reviews and chose Excelsior Hotel. I'm really happy about the decision. We stayed on the 15th floor (they have 16), and the windows face the small park across the street. You can still hear some faint distant noises at night (like a bus driving by), but definitely not loud enough to be disturbing. I had wonderful nights of sleep this time and really enjoyed my NYC trip, I'd definitely come back just for this reason. The location is convenient as well, the subway is just around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wis visitor
wisconsin
May 13, 2013

nice place to stay

good location-reasonable size rooms-quiet-near central park and the B/C subway lines. very good value for NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resi
Wilton, CT
Mar 3, 2009

Great family hotel

This hotel is gorgeous. The rooms were very nice, clean. The staff was very nice. The location is awesome. The breakfast was delicious our kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural history is right across the street :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, FL
Jun 10, 2009

Unbeatable NYC hotel

We paid for a room with 2 double beds are were kindly upgraded to a suite. We were also permitted an early check in. The room was lovely and spotless. The beds were pillow-top. Adjustable A/C worked fine. We found the breakfast most enjoyable and worth the price. We walked across the street to the Museum of Natural History, walked a few blocks to the Manhattan Diner at 78th and Bway for excellent dinner and walked across the street into the park for a pedicab tour of Central Park. Great location and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a pedicab tour of Central Park instead of a horse carriage. Pedicabs take you directly to each site of interest, allow you to walk around each for 5 mins. and will take your group pictures. Compare prices, negotiate and seek the cyclist who will truly act as a tour guide. We loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Quakertown,Pa
Apr 22, 2009

great service and location!

We were there for a reunion with my oldest daughter that has been overseas for 1 yr. I chose this hotel because it was near her and the location was great! I will definitly stay there again. The staff was very accomodating and even upgraded us to a suite for the same price and it was very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street fron the natural museum of history and across central park (short walk) to the Met. museum of art and easy access to subway and buses to go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Feb 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay

I grew up in this neighborhood and have never understood what it was to stay in a hotel in my neighborhood. I felt as if I was at home again. very clean room great feel and the staff were great. Will always look for this stay the rate was fantastic also. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 12, 2007

Quiet & Classy

The Excelsior is very well-maintained and the staff is excellent -- very friendly and helpful. It's a terrific location. The room I stayed in was rather small, but certainly not cramped. The fitness center is very small. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone above me or next door (except the one evening when teenage girls ran up and down the hall shrieking because Johnny Depp was staying somewhere on our floor.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, the upper west side. Across the street from the Natural History Museum (Dinosaurs!), and around the corner from the Modern Art Museum. One block from Central Park, and plenty of shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants 1-3 blocks east.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb03
Lake Monticello, VA
Feb 9, 2010

Might be the best value in Manhattan

It would be hard to find a more charming hotel at the price of the Excelsior. The staff is helpful and courteous. Our room was larger than we'd had elsewhere in the city at this price, well appointed and spotless. A great location -- near Central Park, so it's a short walk to the East Side. For meals, the hotel serves continental breakfast in a lovely setting, the elegant Cafe 81 is next door, and there different types of restaurants within easy reach. Nearby bus and subway lines get you around the city with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can walk to the Metropolitan Musuem of Art, Guggenheim and Museum of Natural History. It's a short bus ride down Columbus Ave. to Lincoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy25
atlanta,ga
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us. The room was lovely, amenities were what we anticiapted and the room was clean. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Natural history museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search