$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Dec 12, 2007

My review of Excelsior Hotel

The hotel is old & tired. Requires a major renovation program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2007

Very unfriendly attitude from the staff

We have stayed at many hotels in New York City where we felt like we were valued guests in someone's home. At the Excelsior, we felt like intruders. We found the registration people unfriendly, surly, and not at all helpful. We were disappointed that for the money, there was no continental breakfast included. It is much easier to have some basic foods available for a quick bite to eat before dashing off to work. The bell man and door man were exceptionally helpful but we found other employees not at all friendly or courteous. We would NEVER choose to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History Museum was a short walk and an excellent venue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Mar 21, 2011

Nice Hotel Mean Service

The hotel was nice well decorated and decent sized, considering it is a NYC hotel. The price was right for what you get, but the service was terrible. I did not think hospitality would be of importance to me, but every single person was rude! No one was willing to help even when we asked for help it would not get done. ***Please Note: Do not leave chocolate in your room, housekeepers will eat it!!!! Bad Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo
May 8, 2009

Your Auntie invites you to stay

The rooms are clean, but everything is really basic. It's a place to stay in a great location. And be sure to eat at the restaurant in the lobby of the hotel called "81", it's amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel ("81") is amazingly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jan 2, 2010

Good location, only acceptable otherwise

The Pros? This hotel is in a great location, and that is the best thing that can be said about it. It's close to a subway stop, right across the street from the American Museum of Natural History, and less than a block from Central Park. The Cons? When we arrived, it was apparent that someone had taken a smoke break in our bathroom. Housekeeping did immediately change the stinky towels, but the smell never completely went away. The windows were so flimsy we could see the mini-blinds moving when the wind blew! The bathroom was tiny. The breakfast was $12, even if all you ate was a bowl of cereal. Still $12. The temperature was hard to regulate - it was either too hot or too cold. You had to pay extra for your internet connection. There are better choices in the neighborhood- The Beacon or the Lucerne, if you can get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't care for crowds or horribly congested traffic, don't go the last week in December for New Years! Too many people!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, On
Mar 19, 2010

Hotel needs new staff!

I had booked a room with double beds, but was given a single queen. When I went back down to the front desk, they reluctantly gave me a 2 double bed room. They were unfriendly and rude. The front desk staff needs to be trained for customer service. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The only complaint is that its noisy, we could hear the guy above us and the children beside us! Also the toilet kept on running. Despite the noise, it was the customer service that was a turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlft
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 3, 2014

Staff was not friendly

Overall, the hotel was fine for a night trip. The staff at the front desk were not friendly in person and if you called from your room.. just a warning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stephen l.
Business
Costa Mesa
Dec 23, 2014

last minute trip

I had to stay an extra night in nyc and the hotel I was staying, ink48, which I love was booked out. So I went online and grabbed a random hotel room. and I would never stay at this hotel again. not my style, rooms were small. not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park is close to the hotel, just a few blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Nov 2, 2009

Great location

Really would have liked down pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel breakfast too expensive for a mere Continental Breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Nov 5, 2010

nice room, bad service

I went there with my mom. The room was nice and the location was great. They have some snobby staff that made me and mom very upset. They weren't really helpful. The price doesn't match with their service but only for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top