$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
313 reviews
Perfect Gem

The hotel was a gem, good value, excellent location with ample transportation options. Our room was... See full review

  • Maureen S.
  • Aug 29, 2015
Great overnight stay!!

This place was great and the location is awesome!!! See full review

  • joyce M.
  • Aug 25, 2015

The Excelsior Hotel is a luxurious four-star hotel in Midtown Manhattan that provides guests with exquisite accommodations and first-class amenities in one of the most popular neighborhoods in New York City.

The hotel boasts classic New York City architecture with rich woods and gleaming granite floors that present guests with a regal atmosphere from the minute they step into the grand lobby.

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Property features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Highlights

Located on West 81st Street, The Excelsior is only minutes away from Central Park West and is also within walking distance of world-famous museums and public gardens. From Midtown, it is easy for visitors to catch a taxi or one of the metro lines and reach stops such as Fifth Avenue, the Empire State Building and Times Square in under 30 minutes.

The Excelsior's spacious suites are furnished in a signature New York contemporary and fashionable design, with modern comforts such as bathrobes, umbrellas, a 32-inch LCD television with Lodge Net On-Demand Movies, an iPod docking station with radio and wireless high-speed Internet access.

Guests of the Excelsior are also treated to unlimited access to a fully equipped fitness center, a concierge service, a business center, a boardroom for business professionals and express check-out. The Excelsior Hotel in New York also houses Calle Ocho, a renowned Latin fusion restaurant known for its bold dishes, unique cocktails and bright, thematic decor.

Nearby attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Policies

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$160
4.3 / 5 207 reviews
★★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 286 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 250 reviews
★★★
$188
3.9 / 5 277 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 121 reviews
★★
$103
2.9 / 5 136 reviews
★★
$129
2.8 / 5 42 reviews
★★
$141
2.9 / 5 174 reviews
★★★★★
$495
4.5 / 5 2 reviews

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Solomon Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 313
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed from Philadelphia
Family
Evanston
Aug 23, 2015

Mediocre hotel in a good location

Great location, across from the Museum of Natural History, and the staff was mostly friendly. But we were otherwise we expected more, especially given the price. The two double beds in the suite were probably about 1.5x a twin. So one of our group slept on the small couch in the suite's living room. In our room, the bathtub drain backed up, the toilet ran consistently after being flushed (staff fixed this upon request), a bulb in an overhead light flickered on and off, the windows had no screens so several large moths flew into our room, the sink tap water smelled awful (could be a NY problem rather than a hotel problem?). A few other things were minor annoyances like the bar closing early and the price of using the internet and printing services in the business room. Maybe we were unlucky, but we will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Assan M.
Family
N/A
Aug 18, 2015

great location

loved the location, short walking distance to some great attractions, eatery's, will stay there again next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeoM
Family
MEXICO CITY
Aug 4, 2015

Great Trip with Brother-in-law and Cousin!

We had a lot of fun walking NYC and visiting pubs. Hotel was very good for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erin C.
Family
N/A
Aug 4, 2015

Perfect Location

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Excelsior. The location can't be beat- just a short walk from the subway station, right by Central Park and best of all, just a few blocks to Zabar's. The hotel is nice but has plenty of character, which is very important to us. It doesn't feel at all like some cookie cutter airport hotel. We intend to stay here on our next visit to NYC. The only thing we will change is that we'll bring our own pillows. The pillows in our room were filled with foam fluff and we like something a little more firm. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mohammad A.
Family
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Parking

You told us our parking or breakfast is free and we choose parking but that was not free so we are very upset about that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mason h.
Family
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Great upper west side location

Week vacation with fam. Very accommodating. Very clean rooms. An older hotel but the rooms have been recently updated. No refrigerators and no free wifi in the rooms were the biggest complaints. There was free wifi downstairs, though. Great neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaye W.
Family
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Great Hotel!!!!

So impressed with this property. Great neighborhood, close to museums and central park. Close to subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jen D.
Family
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Not good trip

The hotel did not meet my expectations. The room was still a mess after maids serviced it. The bathroom had drainage problems. There was dirt and mold in bathroom tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michelle O.
Family
N/A
Jul 20, 2015

Few days in NYC

There was some problems with my orginial booking (glich), but the lady on the phone helped me out. She spent 45 mins making sure the kids and I got a room. The man at the front desk was not really pleasant and no one at the front desk was much help. In fact, if it wasn't for customer service I would have had to pay not $80 more but $250 more for my two night stay. The hotel was nice and all the staff after our checkin were nice. Great location (across street from Natural History Museum and Central Park), nice two bedroom suite, workout room and even a restaurant (we didn't try it though). We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thebaileys
Family
Spring Hill
Jul 18, 2015

Plan to go again

We loved the Excelsior. Nice area, near good restaurants too. Very quiet and in NYC that is appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top