$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
304 reviews
Wonderful NYC Weekend

The Excelsior Hotel exceeded our expectations! This grande dame has the charm of yesteryear,... See full review

  • The Best Gram
  • May 5, 2015
Great NYC location!!!

We stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend 2014. The Macy's balloons were right outside our hotel... See full review

  • Maruli
  • May 4, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 304
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnadonna
Business
Braintree
May 23, 2015

Family Trip to the Big City

Great Hotel, nice location, clean. Went with another adult and 2 teens and we had plenty of room. Big rooms for NY.Small Bathroom. Front desk staff were not too friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maruli
Business
N/A
May 4, 2015

Great NYC location!!!

We stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend 2014. The Macy's balloons were right outside our hotel window. Great restaurant in the hotel. Calle Ocho did not disappoint. Great location for families with natural history museum across the street and Central Park 1/2 a block away. Subway 1/2 block away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kcornell
Business
Wells
Apr 30, 2015

Great NYC trip

Service was great from the moment we entered. Room was perfect, location couldn't have been better and cheap parking across the street was an added bonus. Only shortfall was the per device charge for wi fi. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeCo72
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Great location with room for improvement

Given that we were in New York with our kids to see the American Museum of Natural History, this hotel's location cannot be beat. The room was small but I'm sure that's the norm in NYC. The lobby area was lovely as was their in house bar/restaurant. Unfortunately, the heating system was very loud early each morning and woke me up before 6 AM. When I mentioned it to the evening concierge, he really didn't seem to care much and said it was an old heating system. The second morning, I thought turning off the heat would do the trick. Unfortunately, it didn't so I came down to the front desk at the crack of dawn. The morning concierge was fantastic and told me that mine was a common complaint. He gave me a voucher for their free breakfast buffet. My kids loved serving themselves & though the food was just okay, I appreciated the gesture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corey F.
Business
Chicago
Apr 6, 2015

Location

Good location and value for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Katie
Business
BEL AIR
Mar 24, 2015

Wedding Weekend

After reading reviews I was quite worried about the condition of the hotel. It was very nice and large. I would have given it a 5 but we did have 2 issues. The heat made lots of noise and my daughter had a hard time sleeping. There were literally 2 outlets that worked so we had a hard time charging phones and using hair dryers. Otherwise it was great. Mark was very helpful with our luggage and our parking. It was in a great area with great restaurants too. We had a great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fat gaby
Business
Miami
Jan 6, 2015

Family trip

Excelsior Hotel is one of the best hotel in New York City. We arrived at 12:30pm and we were suppose to check in at 4pm the staff was nice and gave us the room earlier. Rooms are nice cleaned, staff are extremely nice, room comfort is amazing and most importantly location is amazing. Excelsior hotel is right next to central park and close to resturants, mini markets and as well mini bars to hang around with friends. Amazing hotel would recommend for a family stay or a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maruli
Business
Florida Keys
Nov 30, 2014

Thanksgiving in NYC

Stayed over Thanksgiving week we had a suite and a queen room. The suite was perfect for my son wife and two small children. The queen room facing the museum offered great city views and perfect to look down and the the Macy's balloons getting ready for the thanksgiving parade! I will definitively stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Library Master
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2014

Stayed for Thanksgiving

If you want to see the Thanksgiving parade, this hotel is at a great location. O-- cancelled our reservation, which I found out when checking in. But, they accommodated our stay somehow. I am not sure if it is because of that or all the other rooms look similar, but the room was OK (not very clean, not very fancy...). A coffee shop is near the hotel, so no coffee at all at the hotel did not bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara Traveler
Business
Buffalo, New York
Oct 22, 2014

old school charming and friendly

Love this place. I travel to NYC frequently as my daughter attends college there. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I do not think I will stay anywhere else. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Steps from Central Park, Museum of Natural History and numerous restaurants and shops while being in a residential area free from the chaos in many parts of Manhattan yet a few minute subway or taxi ride from Times Square. I hope this hotel maintains its charming old school feel and never undergoes a modern sterile remodel like so many hotels that I used to like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

look for free street parking but make sure you check the signs twice

Back to menu Return to top