$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
269 reviews
Great hotel in Manhattan

It is an older hotel but has been well taken care of. Some of the living room furniture looked well... See full review

  • A happy vactioner
  • Oct 15, 2014
Central Park West - Excelsior Hotel

This hotel is in a great location. Not all the noise connected to the Times Square area. We were... See full review

  • Linda Sasha Mom
  • Sep 15, 2014
Modern take on Old New York charm at trendy Upper West Side hotel

Dressed in classic New York City architecture and fully renovated, the Excelsior Hotel places guests at the best of the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood in Manhattan. The hotel is less than a block away from the remarkable American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and the subway station. The Art Deco design of Excelsior adds charm and style to a stay, with guest rooms graced in shades of cream and some featuring French doors. In-room Wi-Fi, a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station ensure total comfort. 

Highlights

  • Unwind in the Entertainment Room, with a library, working fireplace, fitness center and surround-sound TV
  • Enjoy Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History right at the doorstep of the hotel
  • Kick back in-room with Wi-Fi (fees apply), a 32-inch LCD TV and an iPod docking station

Location

Excelsior brings the hip Upper West Side of Manhattan to life, with a location just a few steps from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The subway is right around the corner.

Rooms

Old Manhattan chic and modern luxury meet at the totally renovated Excelsior, with standard to deluxe guest rooms tailored in dark woods and cream shades. Each includes a host of amenities, including Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a phone with voice mail, a 32-inch LCD TV with LodgeNet On-Demand movies, an iPod docking station with radio, Natura bath products, a hair-dryer and a safe. 

Features

Kick off an adventurous day with breakfast buffet dining (fees apply) at the Excelsior Hotel. Other services include a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, concierge services and express checkout.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.9 mi/28.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Times Square (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business


  • Two rooms for small or mid-sized events, plus an event coordinator (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

  • Additional guest: All rates are based on double occupancy unless specified. A $20 USD charge is imposed for all guests 12 years and over.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to register. Anyone younger than 21 years must be accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9737
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
LaGuardia International, Kennedy International, Newark International
Area description
Nearby Airports * New York LaGuardia International - 9 miles * New York Kennedy International - 17 miles * Newark (NJ) International - 19 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Excelsior Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Traditional Queen room is comfortable and decorated with modern elegance; perfect for the business traveler. Accommodations include 1 Queen bed, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V., in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathrooom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 230 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees
Double Double
Beautifully decorated with a modern flair. This spacious guest accommodation includes two double beds, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM and MP3 Alarm docking stations, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. Approximately 270 square feet of living space. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, rooms based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.
Excelsior Superior
Our interpretation of elegance, beautifully decorated with class. Superior guest accommodations include either 1 Queen bed or 2 Double beds, French Doors and a seating parlor, complimentary USA Today newspaper, flat screen T.V. in room movies, AM/FM & MP3 Alarm docking station, in room safe, wireless internet access, iron and Natura bathroom amenities including hair dryer. This impressive room is spaciously designed with approximately 370 square feet of living space. Has a courtyard view.
Excelsior Deluxe
This elegant room has 1 queen bed or 2 double beds or 1 king with pillow top mattresses. The room offers 470 square feet of living space. The bathroom includes a hair dryer, telephone, and complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and a flat-screen TV with premium cable channels with pay movies and on demand video is offered Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.for your entertainment. You can relax in a separate seating parlor. A clock radio with an MP3 docking station and a laptop-compatible in-room safe are among the included amenities. Bed size depends upon availability. Rooms with view are not guaranteed, based upon availability and subject to upgrade fees.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beresford: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.2 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.7 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.8 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.9 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1.1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast room
Breakfast is available from 7 AM to 11:30 AM for an additional fee.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adoramiranda
Business
Toronto, ON
Feb 14, 2014

The best "3 star" hotel you'll ever find

The staff were great. The room was CLEAN. And pretty spacious compared to what I've heard about others. The heating and cooling systems worked fine, contrary to what I've read in other reviews. The only negative for me would be the $17 a person breakfast 'buffet'. The selection is pretty limited and is not quite worth the $17. You're much better off taking a walk around the neighborhood and trying breakfast at one of the many spots around. By the way, if you're a Seinfeld fan, or a fan of the movie, 'A Night at the Museum', this is the hotel you want to stay at. It's on the same street that Jerry lived on(and Jerry Seinfeld, himself, still lives just down the street), and the American Museum of Natural History is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway around NYC. It's fast and close. Taxis will add up and the subway system is pretty easy to navigate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmandaMong
Business
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2014

Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The beds were comfortable and the room was big especially for New York! There were absolutly no interruptions the overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buffalo bill
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Location Location Location!

Hotel is located across the street from Central Park about a block west from the enetrance. Directly across from the front door is the Roosevelt Park and teh Museum of Natural History. The subway stop is a half block away. The area is quaint, clean and most of all quiet. It was a welcome respite from the hustle & bustle of midtown. Easy walking to many good restaurants and pubs. The hotel room was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom was spacious & clean. Our interaction with the staff was fine, no problems. The entire facility was very well kept and clean. Rooms were solid & quiet. We look forward to staying ther again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peace Food Cafe is 2 blocks west of the hotel. If you like vegetarin food or want to try it, this is the place to go. The food was very tastey and plenty of menu items to choose from served in a cute little bistro. Can't wait to go back. Also, reccomend Amsterdam Diner which is one block west of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and portions a decent size & served up fast in a cool retro diner motif.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingHatter
Business
Orlando, FL
Dec 18, 2011

Upper West Side Charm

The Excelsior Hotel is located on W. 81st Street; directly across the street from the Hayden Planetrium (which is a part of the American Museum of National History) and is one-half block from Central Park. Both bus and subway transportation are conveniently located from mere steps to a few short blocks away and provide access to near everywhere in Manhattan. The area is filled with shops, boutiques, and wonderful restaurants of nearly every type of cuisine imaginable. Two of the most enjoyable restaurants are the Ocean Grill for seafood and Bellini for Italian fare. The Magnolia Bakery is within walking distance should one desire specialty cupcakes; and even closer to the hotel is Lalo's which offers an immense selection of desserts. Lalo's was featured in the movie "You've Got Mail." There are two coffee shops within a half block (Starbuck's, and World Coffee which I highly recommend as World is less expensive than Starbuck's and has sandwiches, salads, breakfast items, and pastries on the menu; not to mention the delicious coffee. Andy's deli is a half block away and is handy for freshly made sandwiches, and for purchasing snacks, soda's, and other food items to have on hand in the hotel room. The hotel was recently refurbished, so the decor looks fresh and new. The rooms are tastefully appointed and include comfortable pillow top beds and fluffy pillows. Bath towels and toiletries are plentiful and hot water flowed instantly from the shower and sink. The room has good thermostatic controls and there was always such a blast of hot air that I turned the heat off many times as the room was comfortable even in the middle of December. The staff could not have been more helpful. All of my requests were responded to immediately including sending maintainence to unstop a clogged toilet. A member of my family decided to stay with me at the hotel, so I inquired about upgrading my twin room to accommodate an additional person. They offered me a suite at no extra charge. The suite was wonderful and included spa robes. I was never charged for the few pages that I printed from the guest computer either. Check out was a breeze and my bill was correct. This was my second stay at the Excelsior and I would not stay anywhere else. For those looking for ambiance and charm and a quieter setting than Mid-town Manhattan, this is the place to stay. The only drawbacks of the hotel is that the ice machines are located on the 1st, 3rd and 11th floors only, and the vending machines are only on the 1st floor next to the ice machine. The businness center for guests to access the computer is one computer in the area the size of a closet but the internet was fast. The hotel has a restaurant which offers Spanish cusine that is supposed to be quite good but in the mornings, a continental breakfast is offered for the price of $17.00. However, it is not an issue with the other eateries so close to the hotel. There are no mini refrigerators in the rooms (not even in the suite) but guests can request one for a cost of $10.00 per day or there-a-bouts. However, the wonderful staff and service, the comfortable and newly decorated rooms, and the convenient location are well worth over-looking a few minor details. The Excelsior is a rare find in Manhattan and I look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephenscott22
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Perfect Location!

This hotel is in the perfect area. What I loved is that it was outside all of the tourist stuff. The hotel is on a block with only apartment buildings (nice ones). The area was very much a neighborhood with lots of people walking dogs, which I love. I ended up eating a lot of my meals in the area at really great local restaurants (some really great vegetarian places are very close by). There's also a subway stop on the block and the C train basically gets you almost anywhere you want to go with little to no train changes. It was pretty much a 20 minutes ride to almost anywhere I wanted to go. I went all over the city and had quite a few events to attend and I loved where I stayed. It was also super quiet. Room was nice and clean. Staff was average. They did their job. Not super friendly, but hey it's New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are vegetarian check out Mana and Cafe Blossom. Fred's was also fantastic for brunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
island view
Business
connecticut
Apr 23, 2012

very friendly and polite hotel employees//wonderful hotel

Rooms very comfortable...nice sitting room with French doors...comfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Roast Restaurant excellent food....good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AstroKen
Business
Marshall, NC
May 24, 2012

Location was exemplary for my work trip.

The staff was very helpful since my flight arrived late at night and not all the train lines and subway lines were running. So, I had a very late check in. I was working at the American Museum of Natural History the following day and the location was perfect...out the door and across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food choices just west of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BuckDA
Business
Wadsworth, Ohio
Jul 23, 2012

Excelsior Hotel Great!!

This is the second time I have stayed at the Excelsior, and it is always the best. On this visit, I have two rooms, same floor. The location is fantastic, away from all of the noise of downtown, and close to many inexpensive delis and fine places to dine. Also, the subway is right on the corner. Service is also great, as they kindly printed off my boarding passes for the flight home, and gave us numerous directions to various things. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisCarlos
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Jun 22, 2012

25th anniversary couldn't have been nicer

We had one night in the Excelsior for a fun overnight in NYC to celebrate our anniversary and it couldn't have been cleaner and nicer. We were upgraded to a king suite from a classic queen and it made our stay very special. The only thing I would have preferred was a free breakfast or at least a discounted one. The breakfast listed for $17/person not including coffee. If it were $10-$12 including coffee, it would have made the morning perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GwennSue
Business
Wadsworth, OH
Sep 9, 2012

Very nice hotel

Location was great for sightseeing and restuarants all over the place. Nice area to walk around. Service was excellent and very helpful in helping to plan what to see and do in the short time we were in the city. Room was a nice size for a New York hotel and bathroom very nice. Hotel itself is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bellini which is right around the corner from the Hotel. Nice small italian restuarant with great pizza's, wine and salad. Other comments we saw said the desserts were really good to but we didn't have room for any.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top