$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hjhujlkoskrjtnt
Business
New Haven, CT
Jan 24, 2014

Very Nice Place

for the price you get a huge well appointed room. There is a sitting room with a TV and a couch that pulled open to a bed (which I didn't need, but nice). The second room is a large sleeping room with a TV and a large bathroom. The staff was very friendly! Lots of restaruants around in walking distance and just down the block from the Museum of Natural History and a short subway ride to the theatre!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Bistro Citron,which is just around the corner, for light French cuisine

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycauthor
Business
NYC
Jan 21, 2014

Excellent last minute stay

Lovely old hotel overlooking the Museum of Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kara's mom
Business
Fairfax, va
Jan 21, 2014

Great location, spacious and clean

Good for families, near museums and the park, rooms are remodeled and spacious, especially for NY, good gym

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Cafe Lalo across from the Children's museum.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigApple Fan
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 15, 2014

Prime Location

Charming hotel right off Central Park in a great neighborhood - steps from the musuems & Metro stop. The hotel was attractive, clean & very comfortable. I'll definitely stay there next time I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycauthor
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Lovely getaway

Great hotel. Only drawbacks: no room service, no morning coffee, very long wait for elevators at checkout time. Still a good buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowbird travelers
Business
Kasota, MN
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas bonus

The rate we received was very good for NYC. However, when we booked the room it indicated that a free breakfast was to be included but none was. The staff we asked about the free breakfast didn't have any idea that one was to be included and we did not get one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nycauthor
Business
NYC
Dec 24, 2013

Excellent stay

Beautiful location. Very comfortable accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine Miss
Business
Kennebunkport Maine
Nov 22, 2013

Great location

Great location. Cheap with the amenities such as having to pay extra for morning coffee, ridiculous price for WiFi. Front desk staff surly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of delicious eateries within walking distance. Great breakfast value alternatives.

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annasan
Business
London UK
Oct 31, 2013

Trip of a Lifetime

Lovely, comfortable hotel with excellent, helpful staff. The maid service was particularly good & room staff friendly. While the breakfast at $17 dollars may seem expensive, because of what is available it is excellent value for money when compared with other eating places in the area. The location is perfect with the subway a few minutes walk away and 5/7 minutes walk to Central park. The one downside, in my opinion is the lack of free wifi, in rooms. I really think that the management should look at changing this asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kahea
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 8, 2013

Best Upper Westside Hotel for the $$

I love the Excelsior Hotel! I have stayed here before and plan to again. The location is central and perfect for my business on the Upper Westside. Hotel is clean and staff very helpful. I even got a room upgrade. Bathroom a little small but rest of room spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top