$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky Pamela
Business
Grand Rapids, Michigan
May 26, 2014

Good location, etc.

The location to subway stops, restaurants, museums, and Central Park is great. The room was spacious for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff were a little indifferent personally, but did their jobs. Probably not so great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Dave58
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 17, 2014

Just Okay.

I am not one of those who needs alot but paying $250 a night with no free Wi-Fi, ice machine 15 floors away,no free coffee ect. Location and neighbor hood was nice, good subway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snomaker
Business
Potsdam, NY
May 9, 2014

Upper West Side is Peaceful

This was our first visit to Manhattan and I wanted my family to be safe and comfortable. We chose the Excelsior because of its location right next to the American Museum of Natural History. It was the right choice. The room was not large but it was charming and comfortable. The staff were exceptional. The doorman went out of his way to help me find street parking and saved me over $100 in parking fees. We did not try their restaurant but it was clearly very popular! The location was ideal with access to museums, restaurants, coffee shops, weekend farmer's market, Central Park, subway and much more. I would gladly stay there anytime. With an online discount we received the price was very affordable for Manhattan. My family loved it and want to return there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a farmer's market outside the American Museum of Natural History on Sunday's. Exceptional quality natural foods at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Anniversary visitor
Business
NJ
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location for Museum visit

Great deal with parking validation too! perfect walkable location to Museum of Natural History.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

have parking pass validated at front desk if visiting museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chop suey
Business
birmingham, england
Apr 22, 2014

family holiday

Excellent, well positioned hotel near to central park and other historic places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmandaMong
Business
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2014

Perfect for overnight stay

This hotel was a perfect! Not only did we get an upgraded room we had an amazing view as well.. The beds were comfortable and the room was big especially for New York! There were absolutly no interruptions the overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy M 87
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 27, 2014

Weekend Trip

Friendly staff and located in a good location. The bell boy provide great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rexpert
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect central location

We were treated so nicely by the staff when we arrived early. We rested at the second floor lobby which is like a family room with adult furnishings and a Lego table with chairs that our grandson really enjoyed. Our rooms while small were clean and comfortable . Bathrooms are decoratively tiled and immaculate . We had a great NYC visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel US
Business
Princeton no
Mar 24, 2014

Ordinary hotel in New York City

I chose this hotel primarily for the location as it is close to the Places in NYC that we planned to visit. This hotel did not have the amenities that are ordinari Ly provided by an average three star chain hotel ( no refrigerator, no coffee maker etc.) This hotel provided a breakfast ($17) per person . A breakfast of this average quality is provided free at a comparable chain hotel. This is not a problem though as there are great places to eat nearby. The room was comfortable, but not exactly clean. The window seals were dusty and there was a lot of dust under the table. The heating control did not work well, we had to turn the heat on and off as the room would get very warm very quickly. The good thing was that we were able to open the windows. TV channels were very limited as well which compares poorly to a typical three-start chain hotel, but this is not important. For people who are points or miles conscious: this hotel does not provide points or miles. Overall, I do not look forward to returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5piesfamily
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 19, 2014

Nice quiet area.

It seems no NYC hotel offered coffee in thier lobby. Typical city surroundings. Next to Central Park. 30 minute walk to the MET. 2 miles to theatre district and within ai ute to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The place that does not take reservations sometimes is the best place to eat. Eat where the locals eat. It's NY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top