$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Excelsior Hotel

3 stars
View map of 45 West 81st St., New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaye W.
Family
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Great Hotel!!!!

So impressed with this property. Great neighborhood, close to museums and central park. Close to subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jen D.
Family
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Not good trip

The hotel did not meet my expectations. The room was still a mess after maids serviced it. The bathroom had drainage problems. There was dirt and mold in bathroom tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glenn P.
Business
Scarborough
Jul 23, 2015

NOT A GREAT STAY AT ALL

The room was filthy and there was constant renovations happening. We found a sock in the room and peanut wrapper. Along with a smokey room with constant construction in the background.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jessica j.
Couples
N/A
Jul 22, 2015

Great area, ok hotel

Overall the hotel was really nice. The staff wasn't as generous as I felt they could have been. The room was clean but small. I had the 1 queen room. The hotel was in a really good location. The subway connection was nearby and easy access to taxi and buses

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michelle O.
Family
N/A
Jul 20, 2015

Few days in NYC

There was some problems with my orginial booking (glich), but the lady on the phone helped me out. She spent 45 mins making sure the kids and I got a room. The man at the front desk was not really pleasant and no one at the front desk was much help. In fact, if it wasn't for customer service I would have had to pay not $80 more but $250 more for my two night stay. The hotel was nice and all the staff after our checkin were nice. Great location (across street from Natural History Museum and Central Park), nice two bedroom suite, workout room and even a restaurant (we didn't try it though). We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeC
Couples
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Birtday Celebration

Lovely, clean hotel.in a great location. Helpful, friendly staff. Close to museums, Central Park, subway with many restaurants near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thebaileys
Family
Spring Hill
Jul 18, 2015

Plan to go again

We loved the Excelsior. Nice area, near good restaurants too. Very quiet and in NYC that is appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eve B.
Single
N/A
Jul 17, 2015

Small Improvements needed

This is a unique and lovely hotel, with a great view of the Natural History Museum Park (and of dogs gamboling in its doggy park). But the staff were consistently rude and unhelpful--except for the chamber maid, who thought I should use the public toilet on the 2nd floor instead of the one in my room (which I happened to return to for that purpose while she was cleaning) because I might not be able to contain myself while the elevator came and delivered me to the 8th floor. I think she meant well. The front desk treats guests like a nuisance, flick off inquiries impatiently, and grudgingly do only the parts of the job they can't escape (check in/check out). There is quite a good restaurant and bar immediately accessible from the lobby, which is nice but it doesn't connect to the hotel except physically, so one can't put bills incurred there on one's room tab and there is no room service. The location is great, and very convenient the room was large for New York, the bed extremely comfortable, and there was an iron and a safe box in the room. HOWEVER, (and for me THE WORST) there was no coffee machine in the room--standard equipment these days, and a hardship here, since the breakfast room (only place where coffee was available) didn't open till 7am and closed mid-morning. It charged $2 for each cup of coffee, and told me that if I wanted a croissant with it, I'd have to pay $17 for the full breakfast (about 3 warmed dishes, and 3 kinds of bread, overpriced even for NY). So one has to get showered and dressed and head out to the nearest coffee shop, morning, noon and any time one wants coffee, tea or cocoa, and if one has a really early plane or early meeting, well tough. The bathroom was modern, clean and comfortable, with ample towels and great moisturizing lotion-- except for the antiquated shower head, which gave one the choice of spraying the whole bathroom or using 6 dribbles of water going almost straight down. It would be a small thing to change. Ditto the above. Oh, they've just put up scaffolding all up the front of the building. You might want to find out if it's still there....If it is, there are blinds on the widows which keep out all light. Re the next question: I really want to say Maybe or having explained all of the above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evie Girl
Family
Granada Hills
Jul 16, 2015

Family trip

Hotel location is great--across the street from the Museum of Natural History. Subway stops 2 blocks away and many restaurants/shops within walking distance from the hotel. Very family friendly neighborhood. Rooms are small, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excelsior Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha M.
Friends
Brooklyn
Jul 14, 2015

Great time with friends

We found the hotel wonderful. The only thing missing for us was a refrigerator. I always have leftovers and a small fridge would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top