$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Element New York Times Square West

3 stars
View map of 311 West 39th Street, 311 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Proposal trip

Great hotel ! Exelent location staff was very helpful and very close to all major attractions! See full review

  • Ladydh
  • Jan 26, 2015
Columbus Day Family Trip

The hotel was perfect! The room was clean, breakfast top notch and service was better than any... See full review

  • Chandler's mom
  • Dec 30, 2014
Welcome to Element New York Times Square West, 3 blocks from the lights of Broadway and 8 miles to LaGuardia Airport. Were a short walk to Macys and Radio City Music Hall, and steps to the subway for easy access to the citys must-see sites. Maintain your balance. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and healthy food options help you be at your best. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding. Energize in a smarter space. Our open-flow guest rooms are designed to meet all your needs, with fully-equipped kitchens, the signature Heavenly® Bed, and more, all thoughtfully arranged to rejuvenate you for work or play.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Element New York Times Square West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Element New York Times Square West Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Rise: Breakfast Bar
Wake up to our signature healthful breakfast, featuring hot breakfast sandwiches, refreshing smoothies, fresh fruit, gourmet coffee, and more. Always complimentary.
Restore: Gourmet Pantry
A one-stop-shop for healthy options and indulgent treats, our Restore gourmet grab & go pantry caters to every taste. Stock up 24/7 on a wide selection of snacks, beverages, and effortless ready-to-go meals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Element New York Times Square West

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Man and his wife
Business
New York
Nov 30, 2014

Parade weekend

Walking distance to everything you want to see. Had to pay $40 a day to park our car though. The hotel website didn't mention the parking situation at all.. silly me thought parking would be at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to find cheap parking...

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demente la torre
Business
NYC
Sep 10, 2014

Fantastic reunion

Wonderful view wonderful area complimentary champagne nyc love

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times squares

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dzerb
Business
Lancaster, NY
Aug 12, 2014

Nice stay

This is the second time we stayed at the Element, and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff is fantastic and friendly. Close enough to walk to Times Square, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We did see Phantom of the Opera which really wasn't "our thing" but it has been the longest running Broadway show we took a chance, not for us ! We also did the dinner cruise through Spirit cruises, which left from Pier 61, which you are able to walk there....this is something you don't want to miss, beautiful cruise ship, dinner, DJ, dance floor , well worth the money...better then Phantom ! We also went to a NYC comedy club, there are people selling tickets in Times Square, you are also able to talk them down on the price, we saw 8 stand-up comics for $20. All in all, stay at the Element, it is one of the few hotels that provides a free breakfast and appetizers M-Thurs with free wine and beer. You will read reviews of the slow elevators, it really is not big a deal as some people make it out to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spirit Dinner Cruise

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alley
Business
Scotland
Dec 8, 2013

Couples getaway

Very good really enjoyed it very much and very clean. Staff very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kragtpot
Business
Michigan
Jul 6, 2013

oasis

Not in prime location. But hey! It is New York City. I found the element to be our private oasis. Literally! Walk in off the street to nice staff, hot coffee and tea at all hours and a very clean room. Small but hey, its the city! I would definitely stay here again. Free breakfast great bonus. Just two blocks from subway. Good choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Times in NYC
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 13, 2013

Birthday/Mothers Day Getaway

The staff are superb, very accomodating and friendly. Room was clean. Within short distance to Times Square area. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simday
Business
scotland
Mar 7, 2013

very pleasant trip wifes 40th!!

Can't fault the hotel. Great service, clean, fresh surroundings and an underlying air of quality.bed was particularly comfortable - especially after the non stop buzz of the city. Thanks element!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's not too be missed

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie p
Business
New York
Oct 4, 2012

great hotel

Great clean hotel. Staff were very helpfull. Fantastic view from hotel room. Breakfast was good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GETTIN' AROUND
Business
ANNAPOLIS, MD
Sep 19, 2012

A Short Stay But Perfect

The room was great we were upgraded to a studio because of our Starwood Points. Staff was friendly and professional. One thing about the room is all wood floors I felt like it could have used an area rug to add a little warmth. The kitchenette was fully stocked with all the kitchen ware one would need and a real big fridge freezer was nice. It was smart design and had a little place for everything. Bathroom was spacious and nice and had a real door...if you travel to NYC you know a common trend is frosted glass sliders which don't seem as private. Beds were very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rose City
Business
Portland, Or.
Aug 17, 2012

Our new home-away-from home!

We loved the Element. It has a clean, crisp, modern decor, with soft earth tone colors. The lobby, while small, welcomes you with comfy couches, lemon-water and fresh fruit. Staff is very friendly and immediately responsive to anything you ask. Concierge was very helpful in getting us to the right subway for the Yankee game. Our room felt like a little studio apt, great view of the city, cute modern kitchenette, large desk with shelving underneath, and truly heavenly bed and pillows! There isn't a dresser, but a tall wardrobe instead, and wood laminate floors instead of carpeting. As an Eco-friendly hotel, we appreciate the thought that went into each item used in the room. The bathroom continued with clean, simple lines, no tub, but a big roomy shower with soap and shampoo in dispensers. We loved the option of having breakfast provided, we enjoyed breakfast sandwiches, cereal, pastries, and fresh fruit, plenty of coffee, tea, juice and what looked like a smoothie option also. The manager's reception in the evening we could only attend once, included hot wings and a potato dish, chips, dip, beer and wine. Perfect for a snack before hitting the evening scene. We ended up doing late night laundry once, and were very happy to have the workout room next door to it, it had everything we needed to get a great workout. The rooftop terrace was small but very nice with a good view as well. Our room was quiet and it was easy to get a great night's rest- the hotel felt like an oasis in the middle of the bustle of the city. The hotel maintains a strong staff presence in the lobby which helps it feel extra safe. Thanks, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone's favorite coffee place 1 block away, great convenience item drug store 2 blocks- great to stock your fridge with snacks!

Back to menu Return to top