$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Element New York Times Square West

3 stars
View map of 311 West 39th Street, 311 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Proposal trip

Great hotel ! Exelent location staff was very helpful and very close to all major attractions! See full review

  • Ladydh
  • Jan 26, 2015
Columbus Day Family Trip

The hotel was perfect! The room was clean, breakfast top notch and service was better than any... See full review

  • Chandler's mom
  • Dec 30, 2014
Welcome to Element New York Times Square West, 3 blocks from the lights of Broadway and 8 miles to LaGuardia Airport. Were a short walk to Macys and Radio City Music Hall, and steps to the subway for easy access to the citys must-see sites. Maintain your balance. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and healthy food options help you be at your best. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding. Energize in a smarter space. Our open-flow guest rooms are designed to meet all your needs, with fully-equipped kitchens, the signature Heavenly® Bed, and more, all thoughtfully arranged to rejuvenate you for work or play.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Element New York Times Square West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Element New York Times Square West Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Rise: Breakfast Bar
Wake up to our signature healthful breakfast, featuring hot breakfast sandwiches, refreshing smoothies, fresh fruit, gourmet coffee, and more. Always complimentary.
Restore: Gourmet Pantry
A one-stop-shop for healthy options and indulgent treats, our Restore gourmet grab & go pantry caters to every taste. Stock up 24/7 on a wide selection of snacks, beverages, and effortless ready-to-go meals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Element New York Times Square West

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 3, 2014

Buyer Beware - Hidden Charges

I had a family emergency and at 8am had to leave the hotel. I spoke with the front desk and they said they would have to charge me $150 early departure fee. I asked for them to waive it - she would not then I asked to speak to the manager and not only did he smirk and laugh at me for asking (mind you I am a platinum member) he threatened to charge me the whole night if I did not leave. This property has the worst customer service and I have reported it to corporate and the company that I work for. Avoid at all costs the staff are not accommodating to the customer's needs at all. They will laugh at you. As an update, neither corporate or the hotel will help. The hotel charged the additional $150 plus taxes. I was there less than 24 hours and paid $476 plus taxes. NEVER stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fady
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Good location but..

Excellent location if it is the theater district you have in mind! Very close to Broadway and everything else around there. Staff is very helpful. But the street itself is a bit unattractive especially at night. The lobby is very busy and noisy so we could not fiind a spot to even sit and relax in the lobby! And the breakfast served in the lobby itself can be quite a feeding frenzy in the morning when all guests descend on the lounge area at the same time. Elevators also take forever. Overall a decent proposition for a night on the town but I would look for better options next time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ry Dro
Business
New Hampshire
Feb 10, 2012

Great Location, Needs More Room Detailing

I booked this hotel because the price was right and it was right near times square. Didn't go wrong there! The only downside was that the bathroom was clearly not cleaned when I got there, the toilet especially. The bedspread was also dirty. I put the "change my sheets" card on the bed, and they didn't. The staff is exceptionally nice, but they just need to work on the room cleaning aspect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks up 8th ave you'll find Shake Shack... AMAZING!!

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Boat Show
Business
Sag Harbor, New York
Jan 7, 2013

Great location

The location was perfect to the Javitz Center. Central to a lot of other attractions. It was a little busy at the complimentary breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful more so than other hotels I have stayed at so it was a welcome surprise. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Man and his wife
Business
New York
Nov 30, 2014

Parade weekend

Walking distance to everything you want to see. Had to pay $40 a day to park our car though. The hotel website didn't mention the parking situation at all.. silly me thought parking would be at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to find cheap parking...

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorshy
Business
Baltimore
Oct 3, 2011

Birthday weekend

The hotel and it's staff were great. Great bed! Nice atmospher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin4reading
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great location

the Element isn't fancy but it has great amenities and it's in a very convenient location. We stayed in a unit that had a small kitchen which was awesome. Slept great on comfy bed. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KC Winter
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 17, 2012

a welcomed bit of home for a tired business traveler

After 3 weeks bouncing around the country on business travel, I cannot tell you what a relief it was to see a fridge and a microwave in my own room. And a little tiny stovetop too! The next time I'm in new york I'll be sure to try to get this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlba
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Fabulous value for theatre district location!

This was a one night stay, after a night of dinner/theatre. The room was very clean, the staff attentive, and breakfast is included in the cost. Full size refrigerator/freezer, cooktop, dishwasher, and dishes/pots. The bed was very comfortable. My room was directly across from the elevator but it was not noisy at all. There is a security guard present and a helpful doorman who hails a cab faster than I've ever seen. Great value for the money! Only 1 block from Port Authority bus terminal and A/C/E subway lines. Also, check-in is 3PM, but they had my room ready for me at 11 AM. So nice to spend the day in the city, without suitcases!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pbandcheese
Business
nyc
Feb 13, 2012

the perfect element to any weekend getaway.

The element hotel is by far the nicest and friendly hotel I've bin to in a good long while. Our room on the 34th floor had an amazing view of the empire state building and surrounding area. The room was spotless, bed was perfect and the bathroom has a great shower. The morning elevator rush for breakfast can be a bit comical when it stops at every floor on the way down. All And all a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top