$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Element New York Times Square West

3 stars
311 West 39th Street, 311 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Fantastic reunion

Wonderful view wonderful area complimentary champagne nyc love See full review

  • Demente la torre
  • Sep 10, 2014
Nice stay

This is the second time we stayed at the Element, and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean,... See full review

  • Dzerb
  • Aug 12, 2014
Welcome to Element New York Times Square West, 3 blocks from the lights of Broadway and 8 miles to LaGuardia Airport. Were a short walk to Macys and Radio City Music Hall, and steps to the subway for easy access to the citys must-see sites. Maintain your balance. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and healthy food options help you be at your best. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding. Energize in a smarter space. Our open-flow guest rooms are designed to meet all your needs, with fully-equipped kitchens, the signature Heavenly Bed®, and more, all thoughtfully arranged to rejuvenate you for work or play.

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.992
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 27.36, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Element New York Times Square West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Element New York Times Square West Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restore: Gourmet Pantry
A one-stop-shop for healthy options and indulgent treats, our Restore gourmet grab & go pantry caters to every taste. Stock up 24/7 on a wide selection of snacks, beverages, and effortless ready-to-go meals.
Rise: Breakfast Bar
Wake up to our signature healthful breakfast, featuring hot breakfast sandwiches, refreshing smoothies, fresh fruit, gourmet coffee, and more. Always complimentary.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Element New York Times Square West

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beatty
Business
Canada
Oct 31, 2011

newyork vaction

the room was nice and clean,and the breakfast was delicious i forgot my credit card wich made it a little difficult and i did not have a phone line in my room to call my family in canada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kozak
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 5, 2011

Amazing!

Had a great time staying at the Element in New York. Hotel rooms were very clean and beds were super comfortable. Rooms have everything you need, full sized fridge, stove, sink, dishwasher, heater and a/c, clean bathrooms and much more. Staff very friendly and answered any questions without a problem. Location can't get much better for the quality and price. Few blocks away from Times Square, Empire States Building, many restaurants and the harbor. Highly recommended to anyone planning a trip to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it's your first time coming to New York. Highly recommend to buy the New York City Pass. You can save a lot of money if your planning on seeing all the big attractions such as Empire States Building, Museums and Cruises. You also get to skip all the lineups which is a huge advantage as they can get very long. If you purchased your city pass online make sure you claim it at one of the locations at a time that its not very busy otherwise be prepared to get stuck in one of the lineups. Made that mistake and had to wait in the ticket lineup for the Empire States Building which took about 45min.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd.H
Business
Perth, Australia
Nov 11, 2011

New York at its Best.

Arriving at the hotel we were pleasently surprised to see a beautiful lobby, and it did not dissapoint. Easy check-in and then we were in our room which included its own fully furbished kitchen. This included a sink, plates, cutlery, dishwasher, coffee machine, kettle and large fridge. Add to that the beautiful bathroom, lounge chair and queen bed, it made for a great stay. We were able to have our complimentary breakfast, check-out and walk straight into 'Times Square' and use the close subway system, while the staff held our bags for us until we had to leave New York. A fantastic place to stay and I will definately be using it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Feb 11, 2012

Wonderful stay!

We were thrilled with this experience from the staff, to the decor, to the comfortable rooms, to the delicious breakfast. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebecca B.
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 4, 2012

Fun Spring Break with Daughter

We were extremely pleased with our choice of hotel for our stay by Times Square. Everything was within walking distance that we needed. The hotel staff were SO pleasant, SO helpful and SO efficient. The free breakfast had a variety of food choices and they also have a free "happy hour" in the late afternoon for their guests. My daughter described the room as a mini-loft. It was small but very nice and the kitchenette was convenient if we didn't want to eat out.. We would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andy 54321
Business
baltimore
Jul 9, 2012

very nice

I love this hotel. full kitchen, could stay here for a week or more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kozak
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 30, 2012

Best Hotel in New York!

The Element is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in New York. For the price, it goes above and beyond the value. The location is top notch! 10 Minutes away from Times Square, 15 Minutes from the Empire States Building, 10 Minutes from the Harbour and a lot more! The rooms are very modern with hardwood flooring and a full sized kitchen/fridge. Has a pleasant sleep with no noise at all. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay amazing and every time I walked through the hotel, I felt very welcomed. This was my second stay in New York and I know whenever I go back, I wont be going anywhere else. Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a high quality hotel in New York for an amazing price! You won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If your going to New York for the first time, purchase the New York City Pass. Very cheap and lets you skip all the long lineups. (Empire States Building, Rockefeller Centre, City Line Boat Cruise, many museums and much more!). The Grayline Bus Tours are also a great deal! Can be used as free transportation for 48hours covering Upper and Lower Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rose City
Business
Portland, Or.
Aug 17, 2012

Our new home-away-from home!

We loved the Element. It has a clean, crisp, modern decor, with soft earth tone colors. The lobby, while small, welcomes you with comfy couches, lemon-water and fresh fruit. Staff is very friendly and immediately responsive to anything you ask. Concierge was very helpful in getting us to the right subway for the Yankee game. Our room felt like a little studio apt, great view of the city, cute modern kitchenette, large desk with shelving underneath, and truly heavenly bed and pillows! There isn't a dresser, but a tall wardrobe instead, and wood laminate floors instead of carpeting. As an Eco-friendly hotel, we appreciate the thought that went into each item used in the room. The bathroom continued with clean, simple lines, no tub, but a big roomy shower with soap and shampoo in dispensers. We loved the option of having breakfast provided, we enjoyed breakfast sandwiches, cereal, pastries, and fresh fruit, plenty of coffee, tea, juice and what looked like a smoothie option also. The manager's reception in the evening we could only attend once, included hot wings and a potato dish, chips, dip, beer and wine. Perfect for a snack before hitting the evening scene. We ended up doing late night laundry once, and were very happy to have the workout room next door to it, it had everything we needed to get a great workout. The rooftop terrace was small but very nice with a good view as well. Our room was quiet and it was easy to get a great night's rest- the hotel felt like an oasis in the middle of the bustle of the city. The hotel maintains a strong staff presence in the lobby which helps it feel extra safe. Thanks, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone's favorite coffee place 1 block away, great convenience item drug store 2 blocks- great to stock your fridge with snacks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie p
Business
New York
Oct 4, 2012

great hotel

Great clean hotel. Staff were very helpfull. Fantastic view from hotel room. Breakfast was good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Oct 17, 2012

Pleasant Surprise near the Port Authority...

Aside from the amazing, comfy bed, good television, and spotless bathroom..my room had sink, huge fridge, dishwasher, stovetop, dishes, glassware, etc... There was a "Relax" time..which is a happy hour in the evening during the week with free wings, cheese, wine and beer and soda.. Plus continental breakfast in the a.m....all included in room price. Definitely recommend it to anyone who needs to be in midtown for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dean and Deluca right on 8th ave at 40th street...great coffees, sandwiches, salads, and sushi from a michelin star restaurant. Pretty awesome for right in front of the Port Authority

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top