$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Element New York Times Square West

3 stars
311 West 39th Street, 311 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Fantastic reunion

Wonderful view wonderful area complimentary champagne nyc love See full review

  • Demente la torre
  • Sep 10, 2014
Nice stay

This is the second time we stayed at the Element, and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean,... See full review

  • Dzerb
  • Aug 12, 2014
Welcome to Element New York Times Square West, 3 blocks from the lights of Broadway and 8 miles to LaGuardia Airport. Were a short walk to Macys and Radio City Music Hall, and steps to the subway for easy access to the citys must-see sites. Maintain your balance. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and healthy food options help you be at your best. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding. Energize in a smarter space. Our open-flow guest rooms are designed to meet all your needs, with fully-equipped kitchens, the signature Heavenly Bed®, and more, all thoughtfully arranged to rejuvenate you for work or play.

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.992
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 27.36, KM;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Element New York Times Square West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Element New York Times Square West Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restore: Gourmet Pantry
A one-stop-shop for healthy options and indulgent treats, our Restore gourmet grab & go pantry caters to every taste. Stock up 24/7 on a wide selection of snacks, beverages, and effortless ready-to-go meals.
Rise: Breakfast Bar
Wake up to our signature healthful breakfast, featuring hot breakfast sandwiches, refreshing smoothies, fresh fruit, gourmet coffee, and more. Always complimentary.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Element New York Times Square West

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kozak
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 5, 2011

Amazing!

Had a great time staying at the Element in New York. Hotel rooms were very clean and beds were super comfortable. Rooms have everything you need, full sized fridge, stove, sink, dishwasher, heater and a/c, clean bathrooms and much more. Staff very friendly and answered any questions without a problem. Location can't get much better for the quality and price. Few blocks away from Times Square, Empire States Building, many restaurants and the harbor. Highly recommended to anyone planning a trip to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it's your first time coming to New York. Highly recommend to buy the New York City Pass. You can save a lot of money if your planning on seeing all the big attractions such as Empire States Building, Museums and Cruises. You also get to skip all the lineups which is a huge advantage as they can get very long. If you purchased your city pass online make sure you claim it at one of the locations at a time that its not very busy otherwise be prepared to get stuck in one of the lineups. Made that mistake and had to wait in the ticket lineup for the Empire States Building which took about 45min.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dzerb
Lancaster, NY
Aug 12, 2014

Nice stay

This is the second time we stayed at the Element, and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff is fantastic and friendly. Close enough to walk to Times Square, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We did see Phantom of the Opera which really wasn't "our thing" but it has been the longest running Broadway show we took a chance, not for us ! We also did the dinner cruise through Spirit cruises, which left from Pier 61, which you are able to walk there....this is something you don't want to miss, beautiful cruise ship, dinner, DJ, dance floor , well worth the money...better then Phantom ! We also went to a NYC comedy club, there are people selling tickets in Times Square, you are also able to talk them down on the price, we saw 8 stand-up comics for $20. All in all, stay at the Element, it is one of the few hotels that provides a free breakfast and appetizers M-Thurs with free wine and beer. You will read reviews of the slow elevators, it really is not big a deal as some people make it out to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spirit Dinner Cruise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SJCB
Leeds, England
Aug 14, 2013

Great base for sight seeing

Room was amazing, very clean and pretty spacious with a great view of the Empire State Building. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kozak
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 30, 2012

Best Hotel in New York!

The Element is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in New York. For the price, it goes above and beyond the value. The location is top notch! 10 Minutes away from Times Square, 15 Minutes from the Empire States Building, 10 Minutes from the Harbour and a lot more! The rooms are very modern with hardwood flooring and a full sized kitchen/fridge. Has a pleasant sleep with no noise at all. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay amazing and every time I walked through the hotel, I felt very welcomed. This was my second stay in New York and I know whenever I go back, I wont be going anywhere else. Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a high quality hotel in New York for an amazing price! You won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If your going to New York for the first time, purchase the New York City Pass. Very cheap and lets you skip all the long lineups. (Empire States Building, Rockefeller Centre, City Line Boat Cruise, many museums and much more!). The Grayline Bus Tours are also a great deal! Can be used as free transportation for 48hours covering Upper and Lower Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andy 54321
baltimore
Jul 9, 2012

very nice

I love this hotel. full kitchen, could stay here for a week or more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caleb
New London, CT, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Weekend New York Trip

I had a great experience with this hotel. I arrived early in the morning to drop off some luggage while I explored the city, but they gave me an available room instead and invited me to a free breakfast since they were still serving. The staff was very helpful, and the room was very nice. The room had a full fridge, microwave, large desk, couch, king size bed, and flat screen tv. The bathroom was equally great with a very large shower. They had a large selection for breakfast, including cereal, bagels, toast, pastries, pancakes, and breakfast sandwiches. Milk, juices, and coffee was also served. My only complaint was that I would prefer stand-alone eggs and bacon/sausage instead of only having the option of breakfast sandwiches. Nonetheless, all the food was tasty. The location was pretty good; it was very easy to walk around midtown Manhattan or walk to a subway station. It is located right next to a male strip club, so that may be undesirable to some people. However, the only way I noticed it was due to the long line coming out of it on Saturday (it wasn't loud, so don't worry about any noise issues). In summary, staying at Element was a great experience due to the great accommodations, convenient location, helpful staff, and delicious breakfast. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demente la torre
NYC
Sep 10, 2014

Fantastic reunion

Wonderful view wonderful area complimentary champagne nyc love

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times squares

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC10014
New York, NY
Oct 17, 2012

Pleasant Surprise near the Port Authority...

Aside from the amazing, comfy bed, good television, and spotless bathroom..my room had sink, huge fridge, dishwasher, stovetop, dishes, glassware, etc... There was a "Relax" time..which is a happy hour in the evening during the week with free wings, cheese, wine and beer and soda.. Plus continental breakfast in the a.m....all included in room price. Definitely recommend it to anyone who needs to be in midtown for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dean and Deluca right on 8th ave at 40th street...great coffees, sandwiches, salads, and sushi from a michelin star restaurant. Pretty awesome for right in front of the Port Authority

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gradyn
Business
Savannah, Ga
Jun 22, 2014

Clean and comfortable

Work in manhattan every month. Never tried it. Forums the room clean and adequate. Decent size room and bathroom along with a kitchenette with furnishings and a dishwasher. Complementary breakfast was better stocked than any of the other 3star hotels I have stayed. Will be booking again next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown,pa
Aug 8, 2011

Amazing Hotel In the City

The place is amazing. Our room had a kitchen area that you could use to make food or reheat left overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search