$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Element New York Times Square West

3 stars
311 West 39th Street, 311 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Clean and comfortable

Work in manhattan every month. Never tried it. Forums the room clean and adequate. Decent size room... See full review

  • Gradyn
  • Jun 22, 2014
Great base for sight seeing

Room was amazing, very clean and pretty spacious with a great view of the Empire State Building.... See full review

  • SJCB
  • Aug 14, 2013
Welcome to Element New York Times Square West, 3 blocks from the lights of Broadway and 8 miles to LaGuardia Airport. Were a short walk to Macys and Radio City Music Hall, and steps to the subway for easy access to the citys must-see sites. Maintain your balance. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and healthy food options help you be at your best. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding. Energize in a smarter space. Our open-flow guest rooms are designed to meet all your needs, with fully-equipped kitchens, the signature Heavenly Bed®, and more, all thoughtfully arranged to rejuvenate you for work or play.

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.992
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 27.36, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Element New York Times Square West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Element New York Times Square West Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restore: Gourmet Pantry
A one-stop-shop for healthy options and indulgent treats, our Restore gourmet grab & go pantry caters to every taste. Stock up 24/7 on a wide selection of snacks, beverages, and effortless ready-to-go meals.
Rise: Breakfast Bar
Wake up to our signature healthful breakfast, featuring hot breakfast sandwiches, refreshing smoothies, fresh fruit, gourmet coffee, and more. Always complimentary.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Element New York Times Square West

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie p
New York
Oct 4, 2012

great hotel

Great clean hotel. Staff were very helpfull. Fantastic view from hotel room. Breakfast was good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lakehorse
atlanta,ga
Apr 4, 2013

great location

would definitely go back to this hotel again. kitchenette, wonderful shower pressure, comfortable bed and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to times square, the subway and a great sushi restaurant close to hotel

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simday
scotland
Mar 7, 2013

very pleasant trip wifes 40th!!

Can't fault the hotel. Great service, clean, fresh surroundings and an underlying air of quality.bed was particularly comfortable - especially after the non stop buzz of the city. Thanks element!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's not too be missed

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Boat Show
Business
Sag Harbor, New York
Jan 7, 2013

Great location

The location was perfect to the Javitz Center. Central to a lot of other attractions. It was a little busy at the complimentary breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful more so than other hotels I have stayed at so it was a welcome surprise. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Last minute stay
Franklin, MA
Dec 26, 2012

Nice surprise!

Element staff are very helpful- easy check-in. Very nice room - modern sleek and simple. most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Nice breakfast. I'd stay again and recommend it for the busy tourist in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant row has some great dining options pix fixe if you go early- before theatre - convenient and good price for the meal.

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC10014
New York, NY
Oct 17, 2012

Pleasant Surprise near the Port Authority...

Aside from the amazing, comfy bed, good television, and spotless bathroom..my room had sink, huge fridge, dishwasher, stovetop, dishes, glassware, etc... There was a "Relax" time..which is a happy hour in the evening during the week with free wings, cheese, wine and beer and soda.. Plus continental breakfast in the a.m....all included in room price. Definitely recommend it to anyone who needs to be in midtown for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dean and Deluca right on 8th ave at 40th street...great coffees, sandwiches, salads, and sushi from a michelin star restaurant. Pretty awesome for right in front of the Port Authority

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie p
New York
Oct 4, 2012

great hotel

Great clean hotel. Staff were very helpfull. Fantastic view from hotel room. Breakfast was good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GETTIN' AROUND
ANNAPOLIS, MD
Sep 19, 2012

A Short Stay But Perfect

The room was great we were upgraded to a studio because of our Starwood Points. Staff was friendly and professional. One thing about the room is all wood floors I felt like it could have used an area rug to add a little warmth. The kitchenette was fully stocked with all the kitchen ware one would need and a real big fridge freezer was nice. It was smart design and had a little place for everything. Bathroom was spacious and nice and had a real door...if you travel to NYC you know a common trend is frosted glass sliders which don't seem as private. Beds were very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rose City
Portland, Or.
Aug 17, 2012

Our new home-away-from home!

We loved the Element. It has a clean, crisp, modern decor, with soft earth tone colors. The lobby, while small, welcomes you with comfy couches, lemon-water and fresh fruit. Staff is very friendly and immediately responsive to anything you ask. Concierge was very helpful in getting us to the right subway for the Yankee game. Our room felt like a little studio apt, great view of the city, cute modern kitchenette, large desk with shelving underneath, and truly heavenly bed and pillows! There isn't a dresser, but a tall wardrobe instead, and wood laminate floors instead of carpeting. As an Eco-friendly hotel, we appreciate the thought that went into each item used in the room. The bathroom continued with clean, simple lines, no tub, but a big roomy shower with soap and shampoo in dispensers. We loved the option of having breakfast provided, we enjoyed breakfast sandwiches, cereal, pastries, and fresh fruit, plenty of coffee, tea, juice and what looked like a smoothie option also. The manager's reception in the evening we could only attend once, included hot wings and a potato dish, chips, dip, beer and wine. Perfect for a snack before hitting the evening scene. We ended up doing late night laundry once, and were very happy to have the workout room next door to it, it had everything we needed to get a great workout. The rooftop terrace was small but very nice with a good view as well. Our room was quiet and it was easy to get a great night's rest- the hotel felt like an oasis in the middle of the bustle of the city. The hotel maintains a strong staff presence in the lobby which helps it feel extra safe. Thanks, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone's favorite coffee place 1 block away, great convenience item drug store 2 blocks- great to stock your fridge with snacks!

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kozak
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 30, 2012

Best Hotel in New York!

The Element is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in New York. For the price, it goes above and beyond the value. The location is top notch! 10 Minutes away from Times Square, 15 Minutes from the Empire States Building, 10 Minutes from the Harbour and a lot more! The rooms are very modern with hardwood flooring and a full sized kitchen/fridge. Has a pleasant sleep with no noise at all. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay amazing and every time I walked through the hotel, I felt very welcomed. This was my second stay in New York and I know whenever I go back, I wont be going anywhere else. Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a high quality hotel in New York for an amazing price! You won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If your going to New York for the first time, purchase the New York City Pass. Very cheap and lets you skip all the long lineups. (Empire States Building, Rockefeller Centre, City Line Boat Cruise, many museums and much more!). The Grayline Bus Tours are also a great deal! Can be used as free transportation for 48hours covering Upper and Lower Manhattan.

Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andy 54321
baltimore
Jul 9, 2012

very nice

I love this hotel. full kitchen, could stay here for a week or more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top