$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Element New York Times Square West

3 stars
311 West 39th Street, 311 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Fantastic reunion

Wonderful view wonderful area complimentary champagne nyc love See full review

  • Demente la torre
  • Sep 10, 2014
Nice stay

This is the second time we stayed at the Element, and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean,... See full review

  • Dzerb
  • Aug 12, 2014
Welcome to Element New York Times Square West, 3 blocks from the lights of Broadway and 8 miles to LaGuardia Airport. Were a short walk to Macys and Radio City Music Hall, and steps to the subway for easy access to the citys must-see sites. Maintain your balance. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and healthy food options help you be at your best. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding. Energize in a smarter space. Our open-flow guest rooms are designed to meet all your needs, with fully-equipped kitchens, the signature Heavenly Bed®, and more, all thoughtfully arranged to rejuvenate you for work or play.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Element New York Times Square West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Element New York Times Square West Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Rise: Breakfast Bar
Wake up to our signature healthful breakfast, featuring hot breakfast sandwiches, refreshing smoothies, fresh fruit, gourmet coffee, and more. Always complimentary.
Restore: Gourmet Pantry
A one-stop-shop for healthy options and indulgent treats, our Restore gourmet grab & go pantry caters to every taste. Stock up 24/7 on a wide selection of snacks, beverages, and effortless ready-to-go meals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Element New York Times Square West

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demente la torre
Business
NYC
Sep 10, 2014

Fantastic reunion

Wonderful view wonderful area complimentary champagne nyc love

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times squares

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dzerb
Business
Lancaster, NY
Aug 12, 2014

Nice stay

This is the second time we stayed at the Element, and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff is fantastic and friendly. Close enough to walk to Times Square, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We did see Phantom of the Opera which really wasn't "our thing" but it has been the longest running Broadway show we took a chance, not for us ! We also did the dinner cruise through Spirit cruises, which left from Pier 61, which you are able to walk there....this is something you don't want to miss, beautiful cruise ship, dinner, DJ, dance floor , well worth the money...better then Phantom ! We also went to a NYC comedy club, there are people selling tickets in Times Square, you are also able to talk them down on the price, we saw 8 stand-up comics for $20. All in all, stay at the Element, it is one of the few hotels that provides a free breakfast and appetizers M-Thurs with free wine and beer. You will read reviews of the slow elevators, it really is not big a deal as some people make it out to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spirit Dinner Cruise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gradyn
Business
Savannah, Ga
Jun 22, 2014

Clean and comfortable

Work in manhattan every month. Never tried it. Forums the room clean and adequate. Decent size room and bathroom along with a kitchenette with furnishings and a dishwasher. Complementary breakfast was better stocked than any of the other 3star hotels I have stayed. Will be booking again next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 3, 2014

Buyer Beware - Hidden Charges

I had a family emergency and at 8am had to leave the hotel. I spoke with the front desk and they said they would have to charge me $150 early departure fee. I asked for them to waive it - she would not then I asked to speak to the manager and not only did he smirk and laugh at me for asking (mind you I am a platinum member) he threatened to charge me the whole night if I did not leave. This property has the worst customer service and I have reported it to corporate and the company that I work for. Avoid at all costs the staff are not accommodating to the customer's needs at all. They will laugh at you. As an update, neither corporate or the hotel will help. The hotel charged the additional $150 plus taxes. I was there less than 24 hours and paid $476 plus taxes. NEVER stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alley
Business
Scotland
Dec 8, 2013

Couples getaway

Very good really enjoyed it very much and very clean. Staff very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoxanneH
Business
San Francisco
Nov 9, 2013

Excellent hotel

Our room on 37th floor had a great view. Beds were plush and comfortable. Bathroom had the latest shower equipments. Breakfast is decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLP2013
Business
South Carolina
Aug 27, 2013

Element a Great Place to stay

The Element was a very comfortable and clean hotel. The breakfast was ample and good. The rooms were by New York standards--large. We had a small kitchenette that was great and we were able to have leftovers from a meal that we heated in the microwave. The only complaint was the elevators! We were on the 35th floor and each morning it was a 15-20 minute wait to try and get an elevator to stop on our floor. We WALKED DOWN 35 flights of stairs MORE than THREE times--just to get to breakfast each morning. So, stay at the Element--it was great, but don't stay on a higher floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SJCB
Business
Leeds, England
Aug 14, 2013

Great base for sight seeing

Room was amazing, very clean and pretty spacious with a great view of the Empire State Building. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kragtpot
Business
Michigan
Jul 6, 2013

oasis

Not in prime location. But hey! It is New York City. I found the element to be our private oasis. Literally! Walk in off the street to nice staff, hot coffee and tea at all hours and a very clean room. Small but hey, its the city! I would definitely stay here again. Free breakfast great bonus. Just two blocks from subway. Good choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent traveller from m
Business
maryland
Jun 27, 2013

Nice Hotel but Pricey

I liked the view from my room on the 34th floor. The kitchenette was great and bathroom very nice. I ended up paying way too much though with the total room price over 400 dollars. They were also stingy with the late check out. Had to leave by 1 pm even though I didn't arrive until 1100 pm. Would be good choice if you can get a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top