$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
99 reviews
Exellent locations, clean room

Excellent location, room was clean, and the staff was friendly. See full review

  • fernandinho
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 99
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.6

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield County, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Rate based on price

The location could not be better, right at Grand Central but on a quiet block, across from the Library Walk which is well worth seeing. The staff were friendly and the amenities were decent. I liked the black out window shades and the iHome. The bathroom toiletries were good, the free in room coffee was even good. I arrived at 1:30 and I was able to check in immediately. But the things I didn't like determine my rating. As a background, I only stay in nice hotels, but I do my research to get the best rate. I expect a spotless room for 200 bucks! The bathroom was NOT spotless, but the worst was the bedskirt--it had a water stain around the edge! Gross! I was reminded via a note under the door that the time was changing and Id lose an hour. The staff were not optimistic about a late check out, but even if I could have secured the late check out? There was no point because the housekeepers were VERY LOUDLY knocking on each room before 10 (which felt like 9 because of the time change). Sure, they left my door alone, but since I forgot to place the 'do not disturb' on my door, I suspect that I had no neighbours, they just wanted to make sure everyone was up and checked out. Terrible! So, for 200 bucks I expect a peaceful morning and bedding that isn't stained. Call me picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield County, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Rate based on price

The location could not be better, right at Grand Central but on a quiet block, across from the Library Walk which is well worth seeing. The staff were friendly and the amenities were decent. I liked the black out window shades and the iHome. The bathroom toiletries were good, the free in room coffee was even good. I arrived at 1:30 and I was able to check in immediately. But the things I didn't like determine my rating. As a background, I only stay in nice hotels, but I do my research to get the best rate. I expect a spotless room for 200 bucks! The bathroom was NOT spotless, but the worst was the bedskirt--it had a water stain around the edge! Gross! I was reminded via a note under the door that the time was changing and Id lose an hour. The staff were not optimistic about a late check out, but even if I could have secured the late check out? There was no point because the housekeepers were VERY LOUDLY knocking on each room before 10 (which felt like 9 because of the time change). Sure, they left my door alone, but since I forgot to place the 'do not disturb' on my door, I suspect that I had no neighbours, they just wanted to make sure everyone was up and checked out. Terrible! So, for 200 bucks I expect a peaceful morning and bedding that isn't stained. Call me picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madison new york city
Ny
May 28, 2013

Know your facts on rates, prices, what is/is not included

The room itself+location is what makes this hotel. Staff was amazing until it came to honoring lowest price of same day. They duped me for a higher price after listing their hotel for lower price on Website then they gave me the same old "it's the company policy nothing can be done speech" Left a bad taste in my mouth when up till that moment I was on the verge of creating long term relationship,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lavel Loves Traveling
Atlanta Ga
Apr 14, 2014

Convenient Stay

The hotel was convenient to Time Square, and other areas. Clean and comfortable. The concierge at the hotel desk was very, very nice and helpful. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 30, 2011

good for one night

We came in for a show at Radio City, so our expectations weren't that high. That said, the Dylan was umm...fine. Decent sized room for NY standards, but pretty spare. Like "2 pillows and 2 towels spare" for 2 people. Felt very European. Marble floors are great, but not in an unheated bathroom in January. And don't charge me for minibar water when we were there barely 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 30, 2011

good for one night

We came in for a show at Radio City, so our expectations weren't that high. That said, the Dylan was umm...fine. Decent sized room for NY standards, but pretty spare. Like "2 pillows and 2 towels spare" for 2 people. Felt very European. Marble floors are great, but not in an unheated bathroom in January. And don't charge me for minibar water when we were there barely 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buttman
New York
Jul 31, 2013

good bang, for the buck

the room was great nice angles, decor and adequate space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

get your groove on

Back to menu Return to top