$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Exellent locations, clean room

Excellent location, room was clean, and the staff was friendly. See full review

  • fernandinho
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC family traveler
Texas
Oct 21, 2009

Great location for the price

The rooms are small but adequate. The service was good. My TV had issues but they corrected them. Heating was quiet. European style accessories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

NY Library near by...buses to museums very accessible.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ricky316
Eureka, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Great location!

The location is fantastic. Most places we went were of walking distance. The room was spacious and I liked the blue-theme decoration. The restroom felt very modern and neat. There is no bath tub and frige however. We had some problem with the air conditioning. The first two nights were extrememly hot and the following nights, omg, freezing! Overall, a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Aug 17, 2007

It was ok

I felt the Dylan was not that great for the money. It is a good location and that was part of my selection criteria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blaeloch
Seattle, WA
May 4, 2011

I really like this place

I liked the Dylan very much--nice staff, nice decor--my room was also very comfortable and nicely designed. This is a superb location, in my view--I have stayed further north in midtown and decided then that a little closer to Grand Central would be better. There are good affordable food options (in addition to many at GC), and I really liked being close to the wonderful library

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have an iPhone, get the NY Subway app, it really keeps you oriented and you learn the subway fast. Buy an unlimited-use Metro card (mine was 7 days for $27.00)

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimVy
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2007

Cool Hotel Near Queens

This hotel worked out well because I had a wedding to attend in Queens. Only 15 minutes away by car but in a great location of Manhattan. I was near all the shopping of 5th Avenue, 3rd Avenue, Madison and Lexington. Times Square was a quick walk and there was a Starbucks right by the hotel. Valet parking was $45 but there are parking garages next door for cheaper. However, we check-in on a Saturday night, so after the wedding, we found street parking and it was free the next day. The staff was nice and courteous, check-out was quick and easy! Beautiful hotel with great amentities and just the right price. The best part is the location because you are in the heart of Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the heart of shopping on 5th, 3rd, Madison, Lexington, and Park. Starbucks and Aerosoles around the corner.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duffman84
Ireland
Sep 12, 2011

Nice Hotel with an Excellent Location!

The staff where very friendly, the hotel room was very clean complete with everything that we needed and the location was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison & Vine across the road from the Dylan Hotel is well worth a visit - it was excellent food with excellent service.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 27, 2008

Wouldn't pay full price but worth bargain price

We were lucky to find a great bargain price for this hotel. For what we paid, it was fine, but I probably would not pay full price. The room was nice enough, and spacious by New York standards, but some of the furniture looked a little worn. The room was also a bit warm and we could not get it cooler. A small incident regarding a problem in the room was hard to resolve because the person sent up to check did not speak english. The location near Grand Central is convenient since there is a direct shuttle there to Times Square, but there isn't alot right around the hotel itself. All in all, it was worth the bargain price we paid, but not worth the rack rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Sailor 22
Connecticut
Mar 16, 2014

Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and wanted a clean, safe hotel near GCT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Benjamin's Steakhouse is one of the finest in the city. Stop in for a NY Strip.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MooboyNYC
PA
Aug 16, 2009

Spacious room, nice staff, but...

Friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms with high ceilings, and complementary Internet access made this a pleasant stay for us. The hotel has an interesting history a nice motif, and lots of good ideas, but falls short on the details, though most of the details didn't affect us much. The bathroom was large, but the marble bathroom floor was dangerously slippery, both when dry and wet. The phones didn't work (had cell), the smoke alarm was chirping (they removed it), the iron didn't work, knobs on furniture were loose, only one bar of soap (we could deal), only two pillows (they provided more on request), one towel hanger missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJTravel
Bridgewater, NJ
Oct 30, 2009

Great Midtown Location

Love the location- Lots of noise though with construction outside all night long. Rooms are adequately sized but not glamorous- may just be their "style".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway instead of a cab.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search