$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
99 reviews
Exellent locations, clean room

Excellent location, room was clean, and the staff was friendly. See full review

  • fernandinho
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn D.
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2009

Great Experience, Great Location

After Orbitz booking, I checked at other sites & was a little worried about this hotel. I had read bad reviews about the AC not working in the summer. Turns out it was only in the lobby. I shouldn't have worried! Each room had individual controls. Service people were great & helpful. Location was superb! From Grand Central Station, you have many, many options of different trains, so transportation was great. Also, the stop for buses going directly to JFK & LaGuardia are only 1/2 blk away. We had a fabulous time & found the hotel to be lovely. Not too fancy, but who wants to stay in the hotel if you go to NYC? We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2007

My review of Dylan Hotel

This hotel was recently remodeled so it was clean. The fixtures in the room are plastic...but it is nice and trendy any way. Room is decent in size compared to other rooms in the city. The room was clean and that is really important to us. We walked to Grand Central it was very close and rode the subway up town to the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2007

My review of Dylan Hotel

This hotel was recently remodeled so it was clean. The fixtures in the room are plastic...but it is nice and trendy any way. Room is decent in size compared to other rooms in the city. The room was clean and that is really important to us. We walked to Grand Central it was very close and rode the subway up town to the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 30, 2011

good for one night

We came in for a show at Radio City, so our expectations weren't that high. That said, the Dylan was umm...fine. Decent sized room for NY standards, but pretty spare. Like "2 pillows and 2 towels spare" for 2 people. Felt very European. Marble floors are great, but not in an unheated bathroom in January. And don't charge me for minibar water when we were there barely 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westerly,RI
Aug 29, 2010

Me

Very Central The neighborhood felt safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Dec 7, 2008

Good Location

My stay at the Dylan Hotel in NYC was relatively comfortable. I was only in my hotel room for a couple of hours over one night but the accommodations were more than adequate. The room was somewhat small but it was clean and quiet. The hotel is also very conveniently located 2 blocks from Grand Central where you can get the subway or easily catch a cab. I did not have much interaction with the staff other than at check-in and check-out but they all seemed friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square is only a short walk to the west, or shopping along Madison/5th Avenues only a moderate walk to the north.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blaeloch
Seattle, WA
May 4, 2011

I really like this place

I liked the Dylan very much--nice staff, nice decor--my room was also very comfortable and nicely designed. This is a superb location, in my view--I have stayed further north in midtown and decided then that a little closer to Grand Central would be better. There are good affordable food options (in addition to many at GC), and I really liked being close to the wonderful library

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have an iPhone, get the NY Subway app, it really keeps you oriented and you learn the subway fast. Buy an unlimited-use Metro card (mine was 7 days for $27.00)

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made it back
US
Jan 18, 2012

The former Chemists Club, just one block from Grand Central

Nice historical building just one block from Grand Central. Room must have been one of the laboratories or the library (the building used to be the Chemists Club), ceiling was triple-high, very nice. Room in good condition, staff helpful (when I asked them to lock away my 17-inch laptop since it wouldn't fit into the safe in the room they were at first a bit confused on how to do that but didn't give up until they found a solution; there was no ice maker on the floor but they brought ice up to the room within 5 minutes; etc. pp.), and all for a very decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ricky316
Eureka, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Great location!

The location is fantastic. Most places we went were of walking distance. The room was spacious and I liked the blue-theme decoration. The restroom felt very modern and neat. There is no bath tub and frige however. We had some problem with the air conditioning. The first two nights were extrememly hot and the following nights, omg, freezing! Overall, a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 1, 2008

Great location, decent amenities

The Dylan hotel is just a block or so from Grand Central Station, and two blocks from The New York Public Library. You can't do much better than that. Rooms are large for Manhattan hotels; there was a large shower but no tub. The bathroom sink was poorly configured and splashed regularly. Closets and bureau were about average. The restaurant is a steakhouse, Benjamin, and is very expensive for dinner. Lunch and breakfast are high average for such a well-located hotel. It's disappointing that the room-service dinner menu has so few reasonably-priced options, meaning the entrees are all quite expensive. Do yourself a favor and patronize the excellent food options on the lower level in Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top