$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
70 reviews
Will be back again

Friendly stuff clean and nice decor will recommend to everyone I stay here about 3 night a week... See full review

  • merave44
  • Oct 1, 2014
Right next to Grand Central Station

This hotel was undergoing renovations when we visited so I think it is likely even more worth a... See full review

  • Cindy Villalba
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apple on Visit
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Short Stay to NYC

Good hotel, but there was some major mix up with the staff on check in and it caused a massive hold on the CC. They claimed it was a computer glitch, but I think is was human error. It took way to long to check in. When I asked about the hold issue, they threw up their hands as if there was nothing to do. I'm sure they could have made it happen. So, a sour taste to start. And do not have breakfast at the Benjamin next door - very expensive and okay quality. But overall a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants around the area and Bryant Park is not far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Q.
Business
eastern Ct.
Sep 5, 2012

Trade show stay

I was there for business so I was not in the room except in the evenings. The front desk staff and other emplyees were very helpful and polite. The rooms were a little sparse but comfy, especially the bed. Floor to ceiling window and 14 foot ceilings reminded me I was in a turn of the century building. Had all the amenities except ice machines, had to call the desk for that. Also, not a great shower - went super hot and cold and drain wasn't draining. Room service very expensive but lots of eateries near by. Two blocks from Grand Central! Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of good shopping on 5th Ave and not too far to Madison and Park in the 40s and 50's. Lots of restuarants, all kinds, all price ranges. Very close to Grand Central

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Serge and mary
Business
Miami, Fl.
Jan 24, 2013

great business type and close to everything, the only thing I missed was a coffe shop inside the hot

We were a little bit discouraged with the room they gave us. When the nice men who took care of us, prepare us with the phrase... "if there is something wrong with the room, please let us know tomorrow , as we are already booked"... first thing we saw at the the room it was a double bed, instead of the... Luxury queen bed room that we asked for. We did not ask for room change, to avoid the moving once we opened our luggage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

good meat restaurant at the hotel... Benjamin steak house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madison new york city
Business
Ny
May 28, 2013

Know your facts on rates, prices, what is/is not included

The room itself+location is what makes this hotel. Staff was amazing until it came to honoring lowest price of same day. They duped me for a higher price after listing their hotel for lower price on Website then they gave me the same old "it's the company policy nothing can be done speech" Left a bad taste in my mouth when up till that moment I was on the verge of creating long term relationship,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrick P.
Business
Morristown, NJ
Dec 24, 2013

Room 307 is like a 747 in your ear

Was assigned a room right in front of a exhaust or intake vent or some form of air system. Sounded like when you are riding along in a car with your windows only midway down.. Thumping of air. Disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lavel Loves Traveling
Business
Atlanta Ga
Apr 14, 2014

Convenient Stay

The hotel was convenient to Time Square, and other areas. Clean and comfortable. The concierge at the hotel desk was very, very nice and helpful. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KevinSt
Business
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2014

Great location and staff

Nice hotel and great staff. Rooms could use a little TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vol'demar
Business
Russia, Shcholkovo
Jan 16, 2011

Excellent location, worth the price

We took a rest, slept while we were in the hotel. Washbowl drainage was found to be clogged that made a bad impression. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. Bathrobes were missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From/to airport bus stop,one of the subway station and Grand Central are just a couple of steps away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beldar
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Excellent GCT location, Weak lobby

Location was perfect for me, right at Grand Central Terminal. Lobby needs new carpets, and could be much better. Room was small, clean, quiet. Zero view. Perfect for one person going to meetings in Midtown. They have wi-fi in the room, but for some reason don't tell you how to login. It took three conversations, but was simple once I got the answer. Dumb problem, and should not have happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeganRamsey
Business
New York, ny
Aug 18, 2014

It was ok

There was nothing extraordinary about this hotel. It served its purpose. A place to sleep. The elevators rattle something fierce. We had a problem with the air conditioning which was dealt with very promptly. But we could see the filter was totally clogged. Really gross. No follow up call to make sure everything was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mulligans pub was awesome. Great food great company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top