$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
68 reviews
Will be back again

Friendly stuff clean and nice decor will recommend to everyone I stay here about 3 night a week... See full review

  • merave44
  • Oct 1, 2014
Right next to Grand Central Station

This hotel was undergoing renovations when we visited so I think it is likely even more worth a... See full review

  • Cindy Villalba
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 68
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Sailor 22
Business
Connecticut
Mar 16, 2014

Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and wanted a clean, safe hotel near GCT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Benjamin's Steakhouse is one of the finest in the city. Stop in for a NY Strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DougAhn
Business
San Jose
Aug 28, 2013

Good for the money

Good location. Clean room. Friendly staff. Excellent for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
notapplicable
Business
UK
Feb 28, 2013

Not great

I found some members of staff to be a little rude. The room was unclean... I have no idea what some of the substances were on some of the furniture and didn't want to know. The bathroom wasn't in great condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikehassan
Business
ny
Feb 2, 2013

good hotel

it was a last minute booking and I was happy!! great location and very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made it back
Business
US
Jan 18, 2012

The former Chemists Club, just one block from Grand Central

Nice historical building just one block from Grand Central. Room must have been one of the laboratories or the library (the building used to be the Chemists Club), ceiling was triple-high, very nice. Room in good condition, staff helpful (when I asked them to lock away my 17-inch laptop since it wouldn't fit into the safe in the room they were at first a bit confused on how to do that but didn't give up until they found a solution; there was no ice maker on the floor but they brought ice up to the room within 5 minutes; etc. pp.), and all for a very decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blaeloch
Business
Seattle, WA
May 4, 2011

I really like this place

I liked the Dylan very much--nice staff, nice decor--my room was also very comfortable and nicely designed. This is a superb location, in my view--I have stayed further north in midtown and decided then that a little closer to Grand Central would be better. There are good affordable food options (in addition to many at GC), and I really liked being close to the wonderful library

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have an iPhone, get the NY Subway app, it really keeps you oriented and you learn the subway fast. Buy an unlimited-use Metro card (mine was 7 days for $27.00)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zippy
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 3, 2011

Perfect location for a Christmas visit

The Dylan was a perfect place for my Christmas in New York. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with especially in dealing with the Blizzard of 2010! Everyone helped to make my holiday a special one. Just might be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is very close to everything. I walked the whole time I was there for shopping, dining, entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2010

"Very nice hotel"

I am a resident of New York City and this was my first visit to the Dylan Hotel. I was highly impressed with the staff and the room. The staff was very pleasant. I resided in a luxury room. The bed size was more than adequate and the room size was perfect. The bathroom was extremely clean and with updated decor.I only wish that the bathroom had a bathtub so I could take a hot soak in the tub, but I still enjoyed the hot shower. It was very quite throughout the night. I was able to visit Grand Central Station, which was right around the corner. I really enjoyed my stay at the Dylan Hotel and I will be returning. I highly recommend this hidden gem in New York City. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC family traveler
Business
Texas
Oct 21, 2009

Great location for the price

The rooms are small but adequate. The service was good. My TV had issues but they corrected them. Heating was quiet. European style accessories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

NY Library near by...buses to museums very accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 7, 2008

Good Location

My stay at the Dylan Hotel in NYC was relatively comfortable. I was only in my hotel room for a couple of hours over one night but the accommodations were more than adequate. The room was somewhat small but it was clean and quiet. The hotel is also very conveniently located 2 blocks from Grand Central where you can get the subway or easily catch a cab. I did not have much interaction with the staff other than at check-in and check-out but they all seemed friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square is only a short walk to the west, or shopping along Madison/5th Avenues only a moderate walk to the north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top