$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
Good for the money

Good location. Clean room. Friendly staff. Excellent for the value. See full review

  • DougAhn
  • Aug 28, 2013
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Business Traveling Jane
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 16, 2013

Never staying here again, nor recommending to friends

Started out with friendly staff then downhill from there. Checked into my room late at night and just wanted a clean comfortable room. The room was damp even though the AC was running. There was no temp control, I was freezing at night especially with the dampness. Bathroom countertop was tiny. Not much space to put your toiletries. The blow dryer in my room didn't work so I called the front desk. Someone was sent at least 10 mins later. First assumed that it was user error and explained I had to reset the power outlet, which I did, many times. After confirming that I was right then they apologized and retrieved another dryer. Tried to use the gym in the morning but my room card didn't work. Had to have front desk reset my card. Little things do add up. Hotel management, please try harder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
BIGSEXY
MIAMI , FL
Oct 1, 2011

Vacation

Well first of I have been in the hotel/condo business for 20 years so I know the industry . The Dylan hotel we arrived at the hotel no footman the frontdesk lady was not that friendly the rooms was small the elevator was dark it kept making noise the resturant was not good I felt my hole trip was a waste I couldn't wait to come back to MIA I GIVE THE HOTEL 1 STAR MAYBE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 4, 2007

4star price 1 star service

On a hot sticky day all I wanted was to get into a room,out of my suit and a glass of ice water. Did not see any of the above until 45 minutes after my arrival. Yes my tie was undone but do not treat me as a slub off the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Texas Joe
Texas
Nov 4, 2009

Dylan was a dissapointment

There was a construction project right outside our window and the noise was horrible right up until one oclock in the morning. The staff should have offered us a room off the street but they only wanted to let us know that the construction was not their fault. This is a terrible lapse of management, the hotel was not full at all and it says that management is not at all attendent to guests. We will never stay at the Dylan again. We have traveled to NYC often over the last 12 years and intend to continue doing so but have learned a hard lesson on relying on the hotel management to be aware of the local conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pershing Square is a nice friendly restaurant.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, Vermont
May 11, 2009

So / So

Great service, nice location. The tv did not work well for the entire stay and they could not fix it. Fitness center was nice to have but it was the smallest room ever. Still worth it but not special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Jun 22, 2008

My review of Dylan Hotel

The air conditioning was not working, and it was difficult sleeping. Otherwise, it would have been acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice park just a few blocks away. The seak dinner at the restaurant was excellent.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
notapplicable
UK
Feb 28, 2013

Not great

I found some members of staff to be a little rude. The room was unclean... I have no idea what some of the substances were on some of the furniture and didn't want to know. The bathroom wasn't in great condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Fairfield County, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Rate based on price

The location could not be better, right at Grand Central but on a quiet block, across from the Library Walk which is well worth seeing. The staff were friendly and the amenities were decent. I liked the black out window shades and the iHome. The bathroom toiletries were good, the free in room coffee was even good. I arrived at 1:30 and I was able to check in immediately. But the things I didn't like determine my rating. As a background, I only stay in nice hotels, but I do my research to get the best rate. I expect a spotless room for 200 bucks! The bathroom was NOT spotless, but the worst was the bedskirt--it had a water stain around the edge! Gross! I was reminded via a note under the door that the time was changing and Id lose an hour. The staff were not optimistic about a late check out, but even if I could have secured the late check out? There was no point because the housekeepers were VERY LOUDLY knocking on each room before 10 (which felt like 9 because of the time change). Sure, they left my door alone, but since I forgot to place the 'do not disturb' on my door, I suspect that I had no neighbours, they just wanted to make sure everyone was up and checked out. Terrible! So, for 200 bucks I expect a peaceful morning and bedding that isn't stained. Call me picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Serge and mary
Business
Miami, Fl.
Jan 24, 2013

great business type and close to everything, the only thing I missed was a coffe shop inside the hot

We were a little bit discouraged with the room they gave us. When the nice men who took care of us, prepare us with the phrase... "if there is something wrong with the room, please let us know tomorrow , as we are already booked"... first thing we saw at the the room it was a double bed, instead of the... Luxury queen bed room that we asked for. We did not ask for room change, to avoid the moving once we opened our luggage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

good meat restaurant at the hotel... Benjamin steak house

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Madison new york city
Ny
May 28, 2013

Know your facts on rates, prices, what is/is not included

The room itself+location is what makes this hotel. Staff was amazing until it came to honoring lowest price of same day. They duped me for a higher price after listing their hotel for lower price on Website then they gave me the same old "it's the company policy nothing can be done speech" Left a bad taste in my mouth when up till that moment I was on the verge of creating long term relationship,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top