$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Exellent locations, clean room

Excellent location, room was clean, and the staff was friendly. See full review

  • fernandinho
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 22, 2007

HIdden treasure

The Dylan Hotel is barely noticeable as you walk by, but that's one of the best thing's about it! Coupled with the Benjamin's Steak House, this W like hotel is housed within the old Chemist's Club, a theme that is used in the room themselves in subtle ways. The Pyrex beakers for glasses in the bathroom make for a unique touch, for example. The rooms, while not what I would call spacious, are comfortable and relaxing, and the staff were only to willing to help with all of the things we asked of them. The location, 41st & Madison, is ideal for the tourist, being close to almost all the major sites. Being an ex-New Yorker, it was also just far away enough from the hustle to enjoy an early morning walk to get breakfast without fear of being trampled to death. Considering how much you would pay for a hotel with all the Dylan offers, this is value for money for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close Times Square, Empire State Building, Macy's, and plenty of stores and restuarants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 1, 2007

Boutique hotel

Nice small hotel with great restaurant and bar located within walking distance of great shopping and dining. Good location for business as well as tourist. Rooms have great beds with nice bathrooms. I would definitely recommend to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Near Grand Central Station

The hotel is one block from the subway stop and Grand Central Station. The room was clean and fairly new. Staff was very helpful. I didn't like that we had to call room service for ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marielle
Burlington, VT
May 27, 2007

Perfect location to visit New York - Very helpful staff

We were given a very nice room on the 16th floor with a splendid view.The staff if very helpful : you want an indian restaurant? Ask them. Your search for a mexican restaurant? Ask themp. Close to the subway, Grand Central Station and Times Square. For sure, on our next trip to New York, we will stay at Dylan Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A full buffet (take out) is available just next door. You can walk to Times Square : it is a pleasant short walk on the 42nd St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill
Jul 6, 2008

Nice hotel, Excellent staff

Good rooms, clean hotel, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amsterdamsel
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Aug 17, 2011

perfect location

The Dylan is minutes away from charming Bryant Park, Times Square, and Grand Central Station, making it a perfect departure point to sights and several handy subway lines. Rooms are clean, elegant, and comfortable, although can be dim due to adjacent skyscrapers blocking sunlight. I would stay there again. I only wish they'd turn down the air conditioning in the lobby; no need to recreate the Arctic circle, folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Relax in Bryant Park and eat breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien on the southern fringe or dinner at the Bryant Park Grill on the eastern fringe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albany, NY
Mar 2, 2008

Great Location

The Dylan Hotel was very well appointed. There were orchids and flower arrangements throughout the hotel. The lighting and decor was very nice. The staff was very pleasant to deal with. We got upgraded to our surprise. The location was wonderful. We enjoy walking to where we were going to shows and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mucca203
Connecticut
Aug 1, 2010

Great Style!

We are former New Yorkers and return to the city often for short, weekend visits. This was our first stay at the Dylan and we will definitely return. We are world travelers who have stayed in a ton of hotels and we highly recommend this hotel. First, the location was very convenient for us. Since you are one block from Grand Central, you can easily hop on the subway. This is a much nicer location than the Marriott, Radisson, Double-Tree, etc that are all in the area of Lex and 49th street. There are fewer tourists milling about and it's a much nicer and quieter block to be on. There is valet parking. The cost was the same as the garage around the corner ($45 + tax for one night) but it was great to have the valet service. Staff was nice. A drink at the Benjamin downstairs was enjoyable. Room was small but very well-designed. Bathroom was lovely. Our window was on an interior side -- meaning there was a building across the way, not a view of the street. While not picturesque, it was very quiet. Right down the street, there's the Library Hotel which has a nice-looking street level bar (didn't go there) and also a fabulous roof-top bar, which we did go to. Only minor problems of the stay -- tap water wasn't cold and our smoke alarm battery started to go in the middle of the night causing it to chirp. They tended to the alarm within minutes. They said they would fix the water problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have never been to Grand Central Station, it's a block away. Check out the food hall on the ground floor, the Transit Museum Gift Shop, and the downstairs food court if you need a quick meal. And, of course, don't forget to look up at the ceiling. The tiny black square in the corner is the last remnant of what it looked like before they cleaned it up years ago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Capt. Jimmy
Bucks Co. PA
Jul 16, 2012

Excellent, modestly-priced mid-town hotel

Small but well laid-out room - well maintained, with an excellent bathroom/shower. For our overnight stay (we were in NY for a wedding), this was a fine stopover. Staff was attentive and always courteous. Avoid breakfast here, though - it is an expensive afterthought on the hotel's part - indifferent, slow service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Ideal in NYC.

Great location, nice and clean, quiet and comforteble. Quant atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the Campbell apartment at Central Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search