$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
72 reviews
Will be back again

Friendly stuff clean and nice decor will recommend to everyone I stay here about 3 night a week... See full review

  • merave44
  • Oct 1, 2014
Right next to Grand Central Station

This hotel was undergoing renovations when we visited so I think it is likely even more worth a... See full review

  • Cindy Villalba
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
May 7, 2007

Upscale Classic

The building where the Dylan is located used be be the Chemists Club of New York. The old charm is preserved in the finish and trim of thecommon areas, with modern furniture. The rooms are quite large, well furnished with amenities and exceptionally quite. The hotel has no more than 6 or 8 rooms per floor and has a very warm feeling. No hustle and bustle of a big hotel. Staff was available and helpful and since its less than a block and a half from Grand Central Terminal, access to subways is fantastic. It will be the only place we stay from now on !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lexington and Times square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marielle
Business
Burlington, VT
May 27, 2007

Perfect location to visit New York - Very helpful staff

We were given a very nice room on the 16th floor with a splendid view.The staff if very helpful : you want an indian restaurant? Ask them. Your search for a mexican restaurant? Ask themp. Close to the subway, Grand Central Station and Times Square. For sure, on our next trip to New York, we will stay at Dylan Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A full buffet (take out) is available just next door. You can walk to Times Square : it is a pleasant short walk on the 42nd St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amsterdamsel
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Aug 17, 2011

perfect location

The Dylan is minutes away from charming Bryant Park, Times Square, and Grand Central Station, making it a perfect departure point to sights and several handy subway lines. Rooms are clean, elegant, and comfortable, although can be dim due to adjacent skyscrapers blocking sunlight. I would stay there again. I only wish they'd turn down the air conditioning in the lobby; no need to recreate the Arctic circle, folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Relax in Bryant Park and eat breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien on the southern fringe or dinner at the Bryant Park Grill on the eastern fringe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Capt. Jimmy
Business
Bucks Co. PA
Jul 16, 2012

Excellent, modestly-priced mid-town hotel

Small but well laid-out room - well maintained, with an excellent bathroom/shower. For our overnight stay (we were in NY for a wedding), this was a fine stopover. Staff was attentive and always courteous. Avoid breakfast here, though - it is an expensive afterthought on the hotel's part - indifferent, slow service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill
Jul 6, 2008

Nice hotel, Excellent staff

Good rooms, clean hotel, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mucca203
Business
Connecticut
Aug 1, 2010

Great Style!

We are former New Yorkers and return to the city often for short, weekend visits. This was our first stay at the Dylan and we will definitely return. We are world travelers who have stayed in a ton of hotels and we highly recommend this hotel. First, the location was very convenient for us. Since you are one block from Grand Central, you can easily hop on the subway. This is a much nicer location than the Marriott, Radisson, Double-Tree, etc that are all in the area of Lex and 49th street. There are fewer tourists milling about and it's a much nicer and quieter block to be on. There is valet parking. The cost was the same as the garage around the corner ($45 + tax for one night) but it was great to have the valet service. Staff was nice. A drink at the Benjamin downstairs was enjoyable. Room was small but very well-designed. Bathroom was lovely. Our window was on an interior side -- meaning there was a building across the way, not a view of the street. While not picturesque, it was very quiet. Right down the street, there's the Library Hotel which has a nice-looking street level bar (didn't go there) and also a fabulous roof-top bar, which we did go to. Only minor problems of the stay -- tap water wasn't cold and our smoke alarm battery started to go in the middle of the night causing it to chirp. They tended to the alarm within minutes. They said they would fix the water problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have never been to Grand Central Station, it's a block away. Check out the food hall on the ground floor, the Transit Museum Gift Shop, and the downstairs food court if you need a quick meal. And, of course, don't forget to look up at the ceiling. The tiny black square in the corner is the last remnant of what it looked like before they cleaned it up years ago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Mar 2, 2008

Great Location

The Dylan Hotel was very well appointed. There were orchids and flower arrangements throughout the hotel. The lighting and decor was very nice. The staff was very pleasant to deal with. We got upgraded to our surprise. The location was wonderful. We enjoy walking to where we were going to shows and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 1, 2007

Boutique hotel

Nice small hotel with great restaurant and bar located within walking distance of great shopping and dining. Good location for business as well as tourist. Rooms have great beds with nice bathrooms. I would definitely recommend to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford
Dec 21, 2008

Great location

The hotel is in a good location and handy for Midtown attractions and Broadway. The staff were very helpful, especially the concierge who handled the valet parking. For central NY, the room size was reasonable and the room was pleasantly quite without any excessive traffic or city noise. Breakfast in the adjacent restaurant was ok, but nothing special. I would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zippy
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 3, 2011

Perfect location for a Christmas visit

The Dylan was a perfect place for my Christmas in New York. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with especially in dealing with the Blizzard of 2010! Everyone helped to make my holiday a special one. Just might be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is very close to everything. I walked the whole time I was there for shopping, dining, entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top