$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
70 reviews
Will be back again

Friendly stuff clean and nice decor will recommend to everyone I stay here about 3 night a week... See full review

  • merave44
  • Oct 1, 2014
Right next to Grand Central Station

This hotel was undergoing renovations when we visited so I think it is likely even more worth a... See full review

  • Cindy Villalba
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dylan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Ideal in NYC.

Great location, nice and clean, quiet and comforteble. Quant atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the Campbell apartment at Central Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 22, 2007

HIdden treasure

The Dylan Hotel is barely noticeable as you walk by, but that's one of the best thing's about it! Coupled with the Benjamin's Steak House, this W like hotel is housed within the old Chemist's Club, a theme that is used in the room themselves in subtle ways. The Pyrex beakers for glasses in the bathroom make for a unique touch, for example. The rooms, while not what I would call spacious, are comfortable and relaxing, and the staff were only to willing to help with all of the things we asked of them. The location, 41st & Madison, is ideal for the tourist, being close to almost all the major sites. Being an ex-New Yorker, it was also just far away enough from the hustle to enjoy an early morning walk to get breakfast without fear of being trampled to death. Considering how much you would pay for a hotel with all the Dylan offers, this is value for money for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close Times Square, Empire State Building, Macy's, and plenty of stores and restuarants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2007

My review of Dylan Hotel

This hotel was recently remodeled so it was clean. The fixtures in the room are plastic...but it is nice and trendy any way. Room is decent in size compared to other rooms in the city. The room was clean and that is really important to us. We walked to Grand Central it was very close and rode the subway up town to the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Aug 17, 2007

It was ok

I felt the Dylan was not that great for the money. It is a good location and that was part of my selection criteria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 4, 2007

4star price 1 star service

On a hot sticky day all I wanted was to get into a room,out of my suit and a glass of ice water. Did not see any of the above until 45 minutes after my arrival. Yes my tie was undone but do not treat me as a slub off the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 1, 2007

Boutique hotel

Nice small hotel with great restaurant and bar located within walking distance of great shopping and dining. Good location for business as well as tourist. Rooms have great beds with nice bathrooms. I would definitely recommend to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimVy
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2007

Cool Hotel Near Queens

This hotel worked out well because I had a wedding to attend in Queens. Only 15 minutes away by car but in a great location of Manhattan. I was near all the shopping of 5th Avenue, 3rd Avenue, Madison and Lexington. Times Square was a quick walk and there was a Starbucks right by the hotel. Valet parking was $45 but there are parking garages next door for cheaper. However, we check-in on a Saturday night, so after the wedding, we found street parking and it was free the next day. The staff was nice and courteous, check-out was quick and easy! Beautiful hotel with great amentities and just the right price. The best part is the location because you are in the heart of Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the heart of shopping on 5th, 3rd, Madison, Lexington, and Park. Starbucks and Aerosoles around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 24, 2007

Very family friendly

The Dylan was quiet and clean. They upgraded us to a suite an no additional cost. We were close enough to walk to Times Square and all the stores we wanted to visit. We walked to the Grayline bus stops.The library and park are a couple of blocks away. Grand Central Station is about 2 blocks away. It was very convienent to eating establishments. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to Macy's and several other stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marielle
Business
Burlington, VT
May 27, 2007

Perfect location to visit New York - Very helpful staff

We were given a very nice room on the 16th floor with a splendid view.The staff if very helpful : you want an indian restaurant? Ask them. Your search for a mexican restaurant? Ask themp. Close to the subway, Grand Central Station and Times Square. For sure, on our next trip to New York, we will stay at Dylan Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A full buffet (take out) is available just next door. You can walk to Times Square : it is a pleasant short walk on the 42nd St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
May 7, 2007

Upscale Classic

The building where the Dylan is located used be be the Chemists Club of New York. The old charm is preserved in the finish and trim of thecommon areas, with modern furniture. The rooms are quite large, well furnished with amenities and exceptionally quite. The hotel has no more than 6 or 8 rooms per floor and has a very warm feeling. No hustle and bustle of a big hotel. Staff was available and helpful and since its less than a block and a half from Grand Central Terminal, access to subways is fantastic. It will be the only place we stay from now on !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lexington and Times square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top