Dylan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill
Jul 6, 2008

Nice hotel, Excellent staff

Good rooms, clean hotel, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

My review of Dylan Hotel

The air conditioning was not working, and it was difficult sleeping. Otherwise, it would have been acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice park just a few blocks away. The seak dinner at the restaurant was excellent.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Mar 2, 2008

Great Location

The Dylan Hotel was very well appointed. There were orchids and flower arrangements throughout the hotel. The lighting and decor was very nice. The staff was very pleasant to deal with. We got upgraded to our surprise. The location was wonderful. We enjoy walking to where we were going to shows and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 1, 2008

Great location, decent amenities

The Dylan hotel is just a block or so from Grand Central Station, and two blocks from The New York Public Library. You can't do much better than that. Rooms are large for Manhattan hotels; there was a large shower but no tub. The bathroom sink was poorly configured and splashed regularly. Closets and bureau were about average. The restaurant is a steakhouse, Benjamin, and is very expensive for dinner. Lunch and breakfast are high average for such a well-located hotel. It's disappointing that the room-service dinner menu has so few reasonably-priced options, meaning the entrees are all quite expensive. Do yourself a favor and patronize the excellent food options on the lower level in Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

Wouldn't pay full price but worth bargain price

We were lucky to find a great bargain price for this hotel. For what we paid, it was fine, but I probably would not pay full price. The room was nice enough, and spacious by New York standards, but some of the furniture looked a little worn. The room was also a bit warm and we could not get it cooler. A small incident regarding a problem in the room was hard to resolve because the person sent up to check did not speak english. The location near Grand Central is convenient since there is a direct shuttle there to Times Square, but there isn't alot right around the hotel itself. All in all, it was worth the bargain price we paid, but not worth the rack rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

Ideal in NYC.

Great location, nice and clean, quiet and comforteble. Quant atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the Campbell apartment at Central Station.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 22, 2007

HIdden treasure

The Dylan Hotel is barely noticeable as you walk by, but that's one of the best thing's about it! Coupled with the Benjamin's Steak House, this W like hotel is housed within the old Chemist's Club, a theme that is used in the room themselves in subtle ways. The Pyrex beakers for glasses in the bathroom make for a unique touch, for example. The rooms, while not what I would call spacious, are comfortable and relaxing, and the staff were only to willing to help with all of the things we asked of them. The location, 41st & Madison, is ideal for the tourist, being close to almost all the major sites. Being an ex-New Yorker, it was also just far away enough from the hustle to enjoy an early morning walk to get breakfast without fear of being trampled to death. Considering how much you would pay for a hotel with all the Dylan offers, this is value for money for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close Times Square, Empire State Building, Macy's, and plenty of stores and restuarants

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2007

My review of Dylan Hotel

This hotel was recently remodeled so it was clean. The fixtures in the room are plastic...but it is nice and trendy any way. Room is decent in size compared to other rooms in the city. The room was clean and that is really important to us. We walked to Grand Central it was very close and rode the subway up town to the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Aug 17, 2007

It was ok

I felt the Dylan was not that great for the money. It is a good location and that was part of my selection criteria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 4, 2007

4star price 1 star service

On a hot sticky day all I wanted was to get into a room,out of my suit and a glass of ice water. Did not see any of the above until 45 minutes after my arrival. Yes my tie was undone but do not treat me as a slub off the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top